Nokia N91
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N91

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Gewdvibe

I have 4 Nokia N91. I gave the 8Gb to my friend. I have a V20 with usb audio player pro installed. I have to say nokia n91 sounds better. Probably i upgrade the last firmware manually. Its not hard to upgrade just tricky. But it does sound better

  • Mr Patel

Good phone, music is loud but no quality through earphones. It hurts ears, no detail in sound.

  • Chris

The nokia n91 sound quality is utter trash avoid at all costs. Its overhyped and because people said it sounded good i went out and wasted my money on ebay. Mind you them posts on forums are around 2006 to 2008 on Google, so if you read them like me, you will be thinking this is a good music phone.

It was at the time not now. Like danny said the volume is loud and i give it that, but the clarity is good only at low volumes with the eq no more than the middle for each slider the frequency adjusts. If you adjust the slider above more than half, the sound will start crackling. Also there is static in the background when you turn down the volume, no so sound quality now eh? Lots of distortion above 80% of volume. Not to mention the crap mono speaker on the left. Don't believe me, you can waste your money and try it for yourself. Even the first HTC M8 sounds better than this, of course with sound mods being rooted with sound enhacements. Nokia n91 is Not bad for £40 or $60 not £180 or $250, if you are spending that much you should know better to get a stand alone music player.

  • Matt

I don't understand what all the hype is about the nokia n91. I got one from the day it was released and still have it today.

Now the sound quality on the internet is known to be good. The sound is decent, its nothing special, its just ok. The detail is not that great, clarity in vocals is just not there, its ok but not the best. It is loud on earphones, but sounds like crap if you turn the eq higher or go above 70%. Like somebody said on this site, the nokia n91 makes alot of hissing as even more when plugged in charging through the earphones.

The music player is old and slow. No memory card support, what can you do with 4 or 8 gb these days.

I like the phone for the timeless looks, but for having it as a music player probably not, i rather spend it on a standalone device that is made just for music. Dont spend £150 or $300 on this older banger. You will thank me later.

  • Danny

n91, 04 Apr 2018V20 and V30 beat N91 8GB with HD600 and Noble K10 IEM. Even the ... moreI agree on this one. The nokia n91 looks cool but is dated.

  • n91

V20 and V30 beat N91 8GB with HD600 and Noble K10 IEM. Even the HTC one is on-par with N91. I have owned both N91 and N91 8GB. They are still one of the best, but no longer the king.

  • Danny

Anonymous, 02 Apr 2018I compared n91 with N81 n82 n96 5800 3300 Samsung i450 Sony w950... moreIts king for being loud, but the sound quality to me is not great, distortion etc... You got to admit there is hissing on low volumes. SQ is not that great, the nokia n91 can't even play flac files, the music player is laggy and you are only limited with 4 or 8 gb of music. I have a 32gb memory on my Samsung and its almost full of music. Each to there own i guess. I still like the classic nokia n91 feel and look though, its nice to have in a old school phone collection.

  • Anonymous

Danny, 02 Apr 2018Also the fiio A5 is an amp not a dac. It has no chipest to impro... moreI compared n91 with N81 n82 n96 5800 3300 Samsung i450 Sony w950 HTC m8 sprint...no one sounds better even not close to n91...N81 is good but not loud as n91..
u may agree or not but n91 is real king of music via 3.5mm...even in 2018 no other phones comes near by n91' audio quality...

  • Danny

Anonymous, 31 Mar 2018I have fiio A5 but it not good as N91.Also the fiio A5 is an amp not a dac. It has no chipest to improve sound quality, all it does is amplify, basically make the input signal more louder. If you are using a poor input source, i.e low sounding mp3 player having an amp will only make it sound louder, not better. Try getting the Nokia 5800 or the X6 and using your fiio A5 with it. They both have great SQ for phones, better than the N91 and an amp like yours will make a big difference on either of them. Then compare your nokia n91 against an Nokia 5800 or X6 with an amp, you be amazed how poorly sounding the nokia n91 really is. Also there is hissing on the nokia n91 at low volumes, not good for true SQ .

You got the wrong amp if you want better sound. All amps do without the dac is add volume and more bass.

  • Danny

N-GAGE, 01 Apr 2018Try with V shape equalizer.I will give it a try. But that way you loose alot of midrange around betwen 200 to 2000 hz. That will give you more bass, but i doubt more clarity.

  • Danny

Anonymous, 31 Mar 2018I have fiio A5 but it not good as N91.Try the fiio e18 thats much better for sound quality.

  • N-GAGE

Danny, 31 Mar 2018I can confirm that my Nokia n91 is 100% original, i paid good mo... moreTry with V shape equalizer.

  • Danny

djshanky, 30 Mar 2018lol man, you got a fake one lying across eBay. It drives my Senn... moreI can confirm that my Nokia n91 is 100% original, i paid good money for mine. Yeah its loud, but it crackles and distorts at high volumes. So its not good for sound quality, as soon as you push it more than 70% the sound quality dips. The phone is loud via headphones, but the sound quality is not there for me, its poor, it was made in 2006 though, so i rate it at the time. I also own the NOKIA X6 the new xpressmusic style phone and the sound quality is much more better, also comes with stereo speakers, not so cheap mono speaker like with the nokia n91, however its not that loud, but at least its hi-fi quality and doesn't distort at high volumes when using headphones. If you need volume all you need is a headphone amp. SIMPLE.

  • Anonymous

Steve, 25 Mar 2018I was thinking to get the Nokia N91 all these years just to test... moreI have fiio A5 but it not good as N91.

  • djshanky

Danny, 27 Mar 2018Yeah, i just got one off ebay a few days ago, they nice to play ... morelol man, you got a fake one lying across eBay. It drives my Sennheiser HD DJ7 efficiently with beats that will make Samdung's new age notes and galaxies a run for their money. And did I mention the amplifier? That is louder than anything ever I heard on a phone. And yes, I own V20, V30+, Vivo V5+, Lenovo Vibe X3 and yet N91 towers over them all alone.

  • Danny

Steve, 25 Mar 2018I was thinking to get the Nokia N91 all these years just to test... moreYeah, i just got one off ebay a few days ago, they nice to play with in your hand, but the sound quality sounds old. Its not clear at all, like you state it distorts easily. The nokia x6 sounds better than this. Nokia n91 too old its 2018 audio has moved on.

  • Steve

I was thinking to get the Nokia N91 all these years just to test the audio output on the phone. A few weeks ago i finally got my hands on one that is near mint.

Straight the point. The sound quality is not that great as its said all over the internet it is overated. At high volumes it is distorted, the equalizer if you adjust the sliders above half in any of the 8 bands of eq it started to distort regardless if its on half or max volume. Not sure if its a fault in the operating system or not. I have to keep the eq flat to prevent distortion. The bass is very muddy and doesn't go deep below 40hz, sounds like a cheap 10 inch subwoofer regardless of what headphones you use.

There is also a hissing in the background when you turn down the volume, reminds me of an old cassette player. At the time it was great i guess, but over 10 years + now my samsung s3, with custom audio mod / rooted with the wolfson dac chip sounds much more better.

Don't buy the Nokia n91 for sound quality, the audio tech hardware it uses is outdated. For the prices it goes for around £150 for a good one, best get an Fiio DAC.

  • n91thebest

White screen of death issue. Phone is stuck at startup.

Anyone have the same problem? I even replaced the screen same issue. Can't flash the phone because my PC won't detect.

If anyone has a solution please let me know.

  • N series addictor

Still no mobile can given this quality music

  • AnonD-4254

GOKUL, 29 Jun 2017does it have 3gThe senior model N91-1 had 3G and Wifi... The junior model N91-5 had only 2G & no Wifi.
Similarly, the 8GB N91 also had 2 models, one with 3G & Wifi and other without.

However, please note that it is 3G and not 3.5G (no HSDPA/ HSUPA), which means its 3G's maximum speed was about 384 kbps... that's it.

I also owned one in the best days of my life...
I wish HMD-Nokia revives this phone's experience in a modern day setup.