Nokia N91
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N91

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • n
  • n91
  • K6q
  • 04 Apr 2018

V20 and V30 beat N91 8GB with HD600 and Noble K10 IEM. Even the HTC one is on-par with N91. I have owned both N91 and N91 8GB. They are still one of the best, but no longer the king.

    • D
    • Danny
    • mE0
    • 04 Apr 2018

    Anonymous, 02 Apr 2018I compared n91 with N81 n82 n96 5800 3300 Samsung i450 Sony... moreIts king for being loud, but the sound quality to me is not great, distortion etc... You got to admit there is hissing on low volumes. SQ is not that great, the nokia n91 can't even play flac files, the music player is laggy and you are only limited with 4 or 8 gb of music. I have a 32gb memory on my Samsung and its almost full of music. Each to there own i guess. I still like the classic nokia n91 feel and look though, its nice to have in a old school phone collection.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • XMp
      • 02 Apr 2018

      Danny, 02 Apr 2018Also the fiio A5 is an amp not a dac. It has no chipest to ... moreI compared n91 with N81 n82 n96 5800 3300 Samsung i450 Sony w950 HTC m8 sprint...no one sounds better even not close to n91...N81 is good but not loud as n91..
      u may agree or not but n91 is real king of music via 3.5mm...even in 2018 no other phones comes near by n91' audio quality...

        • D
        • Danny
        • 3Jn
        • 02 Apr 2018

        Anonymous, 31 Mar 2018I have fiio A5 but it not good as N91.Also the fiio A5 is an amp not a dac. It has no chipest to improve sound quality, all it does is amplify, basically make the input signal more louder. If you are using a poor input source, i.e low sounding mp3 player having an amp will only make it sound louder, not better. Try getting the Nokia 5800 or the X6 and using your fiio A5 with it. They both have great SQ for phones, better than the N91 and an amp like yours will make a big difference on either of them. Then compare your nokia n91 against an Nokia 5800 or X6 with an amp, you be amazed how poorly sounding the nokia n91 really is. Also there is hissing on the nokia n91 at low volumes, not good for true SQ .

        You got the wrong amp if you want better sound. All amps do without the dac is add volume and more bass.

          • D
          • Danny
          • 3Jn
          • 02 Apr 2018

          N-GAGE, 01 Apr 2018Try with V shape equalizer.I will give it a try. But that way you loose alot of midrange around betwen 200 to 2000 hz. That will give you more bass, but i doubt more clarity.

            • D
            • Danny
            • 3Jn
            • 02 Apr 2018

            Anonymous, 31 Mar 2018I have fiio A5 but it not good as N91.Try the fiio e18 thats much better for sound quality.

              • N
              • N-GAGE
              • XMp
              • 01 Apr 2018

              Danny, 31 Mar 2018I can confirm that my Nokia n91 is 100% original, i paid go... moreTry with V shape equalizer.

                • D
                • Danny
                • 3Jn
                • 31 Mar 2018

                djshanky, 30 Mar 2018lol man, you got a fake one lying across eBay. It drives my... moreI can confirm that my Nokia n91 is 100% original, i paid good money for mine. Yeah its loud, but it crackles and distorts at high volumes. So its not good for sound quality, as soon as you push it more than 70% the sound quality dips. The phone is loud via headphones, but the sound quality is not there for me, its poor, it was made in 2006 though, so i rate it at the time. I also own the NOKIA X6 the new xpressmusic style phone and the sound quality is much more better, also comes with stereo speakers, not so cheap mono speaker like with the nokia n91, however its not that loud, but at least its hi-fi quality and doesn't distort at high volumes when using headphones. If you need volume all you need is a headphone amp. SIMPLE.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • XMp
                  • 31 Mar 2018

                  Steve, 25 Mar 2018I was thinking to get the Nokia N91 all these years just to... moreI have fiio A5 but it not good as N91.

                    • d
                    • djshanky
                    • N7%
                    • 30 Mar 2018

                    Danny, 27 Mar 2018Yeah, i just got one off ebay a few days ago, they nice to ... morelol man, you got a fake one lying across eBay. It drives my Sennheiser HD DJ7 efficiently with beats that will make Samdung's new age notes and galaxies a run for their money. And did I mention the amplifier? That is louder than anything ever I heard on a phone. And yes, I own V20, V30+, Vivo V5+, Lenovo Vibe X3 and yet N91 towers over them all alone.

                      • D
                      • Danny
                      • 3Jn
                      • 27 Mar 2018

                      Steve, 25 Mar 2018I was thinking to get the Nokia N91 all these years just to... moreYeah, i just got one off ebay a few days ago, they nice to play with in your hand, but the sound quality sounds old. Its not clear at all, like you state it distorts easily. The nokia x6 sounds better than this. Nokia n91 too old its 2018 audio has moved on.

                        • S
                        • Steve
                        • 39x
                        • 25 Mar 2018

                        I was thinking to get the Nokia N91 all these years just to test the audio output on the phone. A few weeks ago i finally got my hands on one that is near mint.

                        Straight the point. The sound quality is not that great as its said all over the internet it is overated. At high volumes it is distorted, the equalizer if you adjust the sliders above half in any of the 8 bands of eq it started to distort regardless if its on half or max volume. Not sure if its a fault in the operating system or not. I have to keep the eq flat to prevent distortion. The bass is very muddy and doesn't go deep below 40hz, sounds like a cheap 10 inch subwoofer regardless of what headphones you use.

                        There is also a hissing in the background when you turn down the volume, reminds me of an old cassette player. At the time it was great i guess, but over 10 years + now my samsung s3, with custom audio mod / rooted with the wolfson dac chip sounds much more better.

                        Don't buy the Nokia n91 for sound quality, the audio tech hardware it uses is outdated. For the prices it goes for around £150 for a good one, best get an Fiio DAC.

                          • n
                          • n91thebest
                          • s8W
                          • 05 Feb 2018

                          White screen of death issue. Phone is stuck at startup.

                          Anyone have the same problem? I even replaced the screen same issue. Can't flash the phone because my PC won't detect.

                          If anyone has a solution please let me know.

                            • N
                            • N series addictor
                            • fC{
                            • 14 Nov 2017

                            Still no mobile can given this quality music

                              • D
                              • AnonD-4254
                              • gMC
                              • 20 Sep 2017

                              GOKUL, 29 Jun 2017does it have 3gThe senior model N91-1 had 3G and Wifi... The junior model N91-5 had only 2G & no Wifi.
                              Similarly, the 8GB N91 also had 2 models, one with 3G & Wifi and other without.

                              However, please note that it is 3G and not 3.5G (no HSDPA/ HSUPA), which means its 3G's maximum speed was about 384 kbps... that's it.

                              I also owned one in the best days of my life...
                              I wish HMD-Nokia revives this phone's experience in a modern day setup.

                                • G
                                • GOKUL
                                • KAS
                                • 29 Jun 2017

                                does it have 3g

                                  • D
                                  • AnonD-595573
                                  • 0Us
                                  • 15 Feb 2017

                                  Any difference in terms of sound quality between N91 and N91 8Gb? Some people say that N91 4Gb is better. Thank you.

                                    • S
                                    • Sid
                                    • gN{
                                    • 28 Dec 2016

                                    tonymancs, 29 Nov 2016Just got one, very well preserved. Plugged Sony MDR-XB70AP ... moreEven I got one which is refurbished man. Excellent. We have to study these levels of accuracy and music reproduction quality. I fell for N73ME just for the camera those days. I am enjoying every bit of N91 now. Peace \/

                                      • D
                                      • AnonD-607296
                                      • SvB
                                      • 18 Dec 2016

                                      Anonymous, 11 Dec 2016the best sound 1.Nokia N91 2.Nokia 3250 3.Nokia 5700 4.Nokia 6233great sound nokia phone: 1.nokia 6290;2.nokia n91;3.nokia n95 8gb.

                                        • A
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • thw
                                        • 11 Dec 2016

                                        the best sound 1.Nokia N91 2.Nokia 3250 3.Nokia 5700 4.Nokia 6233