Oppo A94
MORE PICTURES

Oppo A94

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Joffrey, 21 Sep 2021maybe you are always using your cellphone til afternoonNo idea what you are talking about. Could you elaborate?

  • Joffrey

Anonymous, 20 Sep 2021Try to turn on battery saver. Oppo's app-killing and b... moremaybe you are always using your cellphone til afternoon

  • Anonymous

Joan, 20 Sep 2021How do you manage the battery usage? I charge my phone at 1... moreTry to turn on battery saver. Oppo's app-killing and battery-conservation is not as aggressive or effective as that of Huawei or Samsung. The battery saver will generally reduce the battery spent and cut all non-essential services such as instant back-ups to Heytap Cloud.

Also, try not to charge your phone to the maximum (that is, 100%) as it will severely stress the Li-ion battery of your phone. This is especially important with phones that have fast charging (like this one, 30W) as fast charging degrades battery lifespan considerably. If not in a rush, try to use a slower charger. Use VOOC only when absolutely necessary.

Also, try to limit background processes. As I said, Oppo is not very good at killing unnecessary apps. These apps and their background processes may be draining your battery. To solve this, head over to battery manager and turn on auto-optimise for power-heavy apps like Call of Duty Mobile. If this does not work, head over to developer options and limit background processes to a bare minimum (I would recommend not more than 3, but not less than 2).

You may want to seek expert advice in how to manage your phone battery lifespan. They will help you calculate how many full discharge cycles you have, and the various factors of your battery draining fast. Hope this helps! :)

  • Joan

Milo Bolton, 15 Jul 2021OPPO phones are great, I've been using Oppo for the pa... moreHow do you manage the battery usage? I charge my phone at 11am at it full change on 12pm then battery drained and 20% left at 7:30pm. What should I do to fix it?

  • Anonymous

Jack, 08 Sep 2021How to import contact from SIM card. ThanksContact icon then click more you can find import sim

  • Jack

How to import contact from SIM card. Thanks

  • Jack

How to import contact from SIM card. Thanks

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 25 Aug 2021Been using this phone for the past 5 months. No problem at ... moreGreat sharing from you mate, I had a good UX with the A94 too and it's definitely worth the money (in my case) although its specs sheet might not be as impressive as other alternatives out there. Here's some of my UX:

1. Camera
The main camera produces decent images and video with sufficient light sources but the ultrawide is nearly unusable even when you turn on night mode at night. Since I'm not a fan of taking macro shots, no comment on it. As for the monochrome sensor, it's just a supportive lens for certain features. Nothing to share about the selfie cam too since I don't even take any selfies.

2. Performance
I wouldn't say the P95 is powerful or one of the latest SoC in the market, but it still can provide enough power for light to medium usage without lagging or overheating. However, don't try something that is performance-intensive such as playing Genshin Impact as it's more like a lower-midrange SoC so don't expect too much. LPDDR4X and UFS 2.1 is still a standard midrange pair, no complaints.

3. Battery
Although it comes with only a 4310mah battery, the battery life is outstanding with one of my best records being 10 hours of SOT (light usage such as watching videos and social media) with 50% left. The VOOC Flash Charge 4.0 is fast enough thanks to the different methods of charging (low voltage high current) which improve charging efficiency and keep the temperature lower, at least not as much heat as other high voltage low current fast charging that have similar output. It can reach up to 93% within 30 minutes when I charged it from 33%.

4. Display & Speaker
The AMOLED display is decent enough, although it lacks the HRR. The same goes for the speaker as well as it comes with a single bottom-firing speaker. The in-display fingerprint scanner is a plus for me, though the speed is not blazing fast like a flagship, it's still doing its job pretty well. If HRR or stereo speakers matter to you, then A94 is not the choice.

5. Software
ColorOS 11 is a huge yes for me, it's light and smooth with a bunch of customizations. It also provides a low brightness flicker-free mode, so if you have eye strain caused by screen flickering, it's a good news for you. Don't worry about ads with ColorOS as it's literally ads free, but there are a few annoying push notifications from App Market and Theme Stores sometimes, be sure to turn it off.

Overall, A94 is a decent lower tier mid-ranger that can provide you with a good UX if you don't want a hole in your pocket. However, I wouldn't recommend it for heavy usage since P95's performance is only similar to Snapdragon 710. Hope my UX helps any of you who are interested in A94.

  • Anonymous

Been using this phone for the past 5 months. No problem at all with it. Here's what I think about the phone:

1. Software Updates:
Don't be counting on speed for this one. If you want frequent and fast updates for your Android/Android ROM, get Google Pixel or Xiaomi devices. Oppo's updates are usually slower. (A June 2021 Android update only came for me near July/August)

2. The ROM, the UI and the UX:
Honestly, I am impressed with ColorOS 11.1. Oppo was originally classified the "Apple Copycat", but I see that they have put in much effort to brush up their OS. ColorOS 11 is no letdown. It is, in fact, one of the best custom ROMs that I have seen. The features are neat, the UI is smooth and Oppo has really done a great job. The improved settings and built-in apps is something to praise.

That being said, the Oppo A94 Always-On Display is a HUGE letdown. The options to customize it are completely non-existant. Also, due to my personal taste, I quickly changed my home app/launcher to Smart Launcher/Nova Launcher Prime/Action Launcher: Pixel Edition.

3. The Bloatware:
Compared to Samsung/Huawei/Xiaomi, Oppo has relatively little bloatware. A simple setup will take you to the already laid out home page. Apart from the built-in and simply undeleteable Music, Video and others, everything seems to be pretty lightweight. I did seem to have an issue with Netflix being built-in. That definitely wasn't expected, and in my case, unwelcome. A quick search on Oppo's and Oneplus's community pages found that many people had the same issue. If you have Netflix though, and want it pre-installed, then this is the right phone.

The Features:
The camera quality is excellent. No issues. The video quality is superb. Another full marks. I also liked the fact that they built in Soloop to compliment the camera. With Soloop, editing videos are a breeze from your phone. The fingerprint scanner is decent, though by no means as excellent as that from Samsung. The face recognition simply does not work with your masked face. The VOOC 4.0 charging is a godsend, and just five minutes is enough to offer you over 10% of charge. The speaker quality is decent, and bluetooth pairing is smooth.

5. The Transition
Transitioning from my Huawei Nova 3i to this phone was a breeze with Google. (Yes, my Nova 3i kept its EMUI with Google.) Oppo's clone phone may not work as well as intended, though. My father's transition from his old Redmi Note to a Realme 7 (Oppo sub-brand) was disastrous with the Clone Phone feature, and the two devices simply disconnected after pairing.

All in all, Oppo A94 is a powerful lower-middle range contender. Buy it if you:
1. Aren't picky about QUICK updates
2. Want a smooth Operating system with little to no bugs (Except for Call of Duty Bug)
3. Want a clean, refreshing and lightweight phone with little to no bloatware
4. Are a Picture and Video Quality-phile
5. Do A LOT of power-consuming stuff on your phone (e.g. watch movies/play fps games with HD quality/download large packets of data). VOOC has your back.
6. Are perfectly fine with some Google services preinstalled and un-uninstallable

  • Anonymous

Yan, 17 Aug 2021When someone is calling, when i swipe up to answer it, it ... moreI just got my hand on it, so far I haven't seen any problem except the second one. Mine occurred when I checked my phone's charging status and it disappeared when I turn off and on the screen. I think this is a small bug for the charging animation.

  • Yan

When someone is calling, when i swipe up to answer it, it doesn't answer rather it goes back to the screen when someone is calling. It keeps repeating until the call ends. I don't get to answer the phone.
Another, there's vertical lines showing up, although my phone has never been dropped. It just goes away when I lock the screen and unlock it again.

Anyone who has same experience with oppoa94?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 02 Jul 2021Considering the poor software updates from Oppo and the spe... moreSmartphones are not about specs and software updates only mate, it's the experience it provides. My Mi 11 Lite looks promising on the specs but you know what, the display quality is bad. Black crush issue, blue-tinted issue and slow pixel responding. If that's what Xiaomi does to keep the price low and make it seems like worth our money, nah, I'll rather choose other brands which don't compromise the quality just to make the price looks competitive.

  • Anonymous

Mayang, 14 Apr 2021Got it a week ago. Too much filter on the camera even if yo... moreThis is so true, I keep on comparing selfie photos with my older F11. I looked washed out here. I keep on checking the setting to make sure nothing fancy is set up

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 16 Jul 2021A94 not what I expected as I have been using an older oppo ... moreSame, I just upgraded from Oppo F11. I was happy with it but I liked the dual camera feature of this. But why is the brightness of this too low compared to my older phone. And the selfie camera is washed out in Oppo A94? Is it the same for others or is it just with this particular unit?

  • jamie

My Oppo94 has no landscape mode while texting. Any troubleshoot?

  • jamie

My Oppo94 has no landscape mode while texting. Any troubleshoot?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 21 Jul 2021It sometimes automatically turns wifi on even if I turned o... moreNavigate to " Settings > Wi-Fi > Turn on Wi-Fi > Advanced Settings > Turn off ' Scanning always available' "

Hope it fixed your problem.😁

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 21 Jul 2021It sometimes automatically turns wifi on even if I turned o... moreThere probably is a setting that automatically turns on the wifi when your near it. Check the wifi settings if there is.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 13 Jun 2021Exactly the same problems am facingSame. My family can connect smoothly without lag to their games but when it comes to my phone the wifi signal seems hard to reach my phone.

  • Anonymous

It sometimes automatically turns wifi on even if I turned off auto connect. Does anyone experience this with oppo a94? How do you fix this?