Apple iPad Air review: Sun and heir

9 November 2013
It’s been tempting lately to conclude that Apple doesn’t have it anymore, and tablets in particular is where Cupertino does need to silence the prophets of doom and gloom after an iPad 4 that was more like a 3.1 and a mini that should’ve...

Sort by:

  • Fear

AnonD-204696, 09 Nov 2013I had a question regarding 64 bit processor I read in many for... moreIt is safe say a7chip is the fastest atm.As many may dont know note 3 is the king of benchmark cheating .When note3 and many other android devices detect a famous benchmark program it clocks all cores to its very maximum givinging 20% unfair raise in the preformance just for better score.i wonder if gsmarena renamed the benchmarks for note 3 to show the real results.

  • Mumbai-Indians

1. How come dual core 1.3GHz processor performance better than 2.2GHz Snapdragon 800 chipset?

2. And how come single core Adreno 330 GPU performance is par with PowerVR G6430 quad-core GPU?


  • Anonymous

Tom-Helge, 09 Nov 2013So having a little better contrast is suddenly a game changer? ... moreTouch ID.

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2013Did you read the review.Go yo page 3 of this review in the displ... moreSo having a little better contrast is suddenly a game changer?

Again, what game changes does Apple have the last 3 years?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2013Actually the Tab 3 10.1 Edition has a pixel density of 149 ppi, ... moreWhat do you expect from an illiterate Samsung Fan?He/She doesn't know what he/she is saying.

  • Anonymous

Promhize, 09 Nov 2013What do u mean contrast? Ipad air is only better in benchmarks c... moreiPad Air.

  • Anonymous

Promhize, 09 Nov 2013U just spewing rubbish, what game changer have they introduced c... moreDid you read the review.Go yo page 3 of this review in the display part and see that chart about contrast ratio and see that iPadAir is better.

  • Promhize

U just spewing rubbish, what game changer have they introduced compared to Samsung since their first i devices

  • Unknown

Apple made the greatest tablets ever known to man today. The User-experience is what made it what it is today. If Android companies know how to optimize all that apps and software to their tablets, they could rival the iPad Air. Take a look at the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1. It has 7000ahm but it won't even last as long as the iPad 2. Android is not there yet. It has a long way to make a tablet to rival the iPad.

  • AnonD-1825

[deleted post]"I honestly can't remember when apple introduced any real game changer technology to the tablet market after the first iPad."

Rigghhtt.... IPad 3 with retina screen was real game changer and now this iPad Air is definately real game changer.

But lets not forget that you actually newer owned one... But still you can say that nothing changed after first iPad, lot have changed after first iPad.

  • Promhize

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2013Re you joking?iPad Air is better than Note 10.1 2014 edition in ... moreWhat do u mean contrast? Ipad air is only better in benchmarks cos it has no features unlike the Samsung tab 2014 edition.

The 2014 edition's contrast is better than the Ipad air's

Honestly, tablets and some smartphones are getting dull and boring, nothing new and exciting.
Specially ipads, if I had an iPad first generation and it still worked I couldn't see any reason to upgrade to this 5th gen.
Really, lately I stop reading the review after the first 2 pages as I know there is no reason to keep on reading.
I honestly can't remember when apple introduced any real game changer technology to the tablet market after the first iPad.

  • tevez82

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2013Pixel density is not enough for this generation , galaxy tab 10 ... morepixel density isn't good for this generation ,my friend which generation do you live in (a generation filled with products from a company that tends to blasts its products with specs which look amazing on paper ,that's it.)Stop acting like a bozo,as a friend i'll advice you to visit an apple store , and i am sure you will come out as a better man .

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2013Pixel density is not enough for this generation , galaxy tab 10 ... moreIt's amazing and enough.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2013Pixel density is not enough for this generation , galaxy tab 10 ... moreActually the Tab 3 10.1 Edition has a pixel density of 149 ppi, which is much worse than the 264 ppi for the iPad Air. I can only assume that you made a poor error and meant to say the Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014 Edition) where the pixel density is actually better.

  • AnonD-204734

I really wish people would stop comparing cpu/gpu/browser benchmarks between different operating systems. Run a benchmark on your windows machine then run the same one on a linux partition from the same machine. Different benchmarks! ERMEHGERD!! Comparing android to android or new iphone vs last years make sense but this cross platform blabbery is ridiculous.

  • Omar Mohamed

AnonD-204696, 09 Nov 2013I had a question regarding 64 bit processor I read in many for... moreIf you intend to buy an apple, don't care to the specs.
Writing from my iPad mini.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2013Pixel density is not enough for this generation , galaxy tab 10 ... moreWhat pixels? Do you use your tablet 1 inch from your face?

  • Anonymous

Pixel density is not enough for this generation , galaxy tab 10 .1 is far better than this crap.

  • AnonD-4470

"iPad owners are itching to upgrade to the latest iPad, not an Android tablet or a keyboardless Windows laptop"

Many iPad/iPhone users i know, are starting to itch for something new...