Nokia Lumia 1520 review: Finnish fable

20 December 2013
The Nokia Lumia 1520 is just like the rest of the premium Lumia smartphones we've seen, but bigger and faster. The advanced imaging and the custom app selection by Nokia will make the difference against Android phablets...

Sort by:

  • N
  • Neldon
  • IJE
  • 17 Mar 2022

The Nokia 1520 is the best phone ever made.
*
Privacy is hard to find.
*
The Nokia 1520 is ‘app less’
*
This is wonderful !

    Anonymous, 30 Aug 2020I wish Nokia would reissue the Nokia Lumia 1520 with a 5000... moreWhy are you replying to me. I don't care if you want this outdated phone with a new battery.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • rRT
      • 30 Aug 2020

      joe nodden, 03 Jun 2020Obviously I'm going to be negative when this guy is saying ... moreI wish Nokia would reissue the Nokia Lumia 1520 with a 5000 mha battery. The same hardware and software for the Camera and run it on Android 20. With that same black bar style. Greatest phone I've ever had. Even with the Windows system and it's barren landscape for apps. I absolutely love that phone. Light years ahead of it's time. I still charge it up, insert my sim when I want to be sure to get some great captured. Less is more.

        Aadrian, 31 May 2020Thumbs up man, even negative about an ancient Nokia smartph... moreAnd if you think I dislike this phone or have some bias against Nokia phones, look at the comment I posted on the spec sheet for this phone almost 2 months ago.

        The reason I said hell no to that guy is because I have common sense, unlike you biased fanboys. I know an ancient phone has no place in the present day.

          Aadrian, 31 May 2020Thumbs up man, even negative about an ancient Nokia smartph... moreObviously I'm going to be negative when this guy is saying the phone you called ancient yourself is designed for even beyond 2020. Have you no sense?

            joe nodden, 13 May 2020Hell no.Thumbs up man, even negative about an ancient Nokia smartphone. Really envy you.

              Mahyar, 08 Feb 2018In my opinion 1520 has been designed for beyond 2020 and ev... moreHell no.

                • p
                • patra
                • Nu7
                • 30 Mar 2020

                Mahyar, 08 Feb 2018In my opinion 1520 has been designed for beyond 2020 and ev... moreHow do I update my phone to widows 10.(using 8.1) and all my apps no longer supports Windows.

                  Ezra Martin, 22 Sep 2018how can I get that phone? I'm here at Tanzania Hi, I just bought one on ebay.com

                    • E
                    • Ezra Martin
                    • NwI
                    • 22 Sep 2018

                    Amlan jyoti pegu, 24 May 2016I really like this smartphonehow can I get that phone? I'm here at Tanzania

                      • M
                      • Mahyar
                      • pT7
                      • 08 Feb 2018

                      In my opinion 1520 has been designed for beyond 2020 and even then it will be one of the best phablet spesially with such a nice win10 operating system.having it with yourself you have always your business laptop with you including a powerful camera and a lot of other facilities you may need.thank microsoft

                        • h
                        • hajer
                        • Ngy
                        • 18 Sep 2016

                        Why there is no snapchat And a lot of other apps in windows store?

                          • A
                          • Amlan jyoti pegu
                          • U{t
                          • 24 May 2016

                          I really like this smartphone

                            • D
                            • AnonD-540459
                            • v3B
                            • 23 May 2016

                            has been own this phone for more then a years,switch from android pretty good.
                            but now facing a mic problem i search its common problem i willing to keep on using it but to bad Microsoft has stop production the parts and i think i will looking for an android soon.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • 2SW
                              • 26 Apr 2016

                              MNI, 06 Aug 2015I would address the same, too In practical usage Nokia l... more Nokia Lumia best phones but service is too worst. No spare part available for 1520 crren.Customer policy also too bad.

                                • M
                                • MNI
                                • 3xy
                                • 06 Aug 2015

                                Anonymous, 07 Feb 2014check this link out: http://wmpoweruser.com/nokia-lumia-... moreI checked,

                                strongly agree :-)

                                  • M
                                  • MNI
                                  • 3xy
                                  • 06 Aug 2015

                                  AnonD-80200, 11 Oct 2014Is the sunlight legibility test done with assertive display... moreI would address the same, too

                                  In practical usage Nokia lumia 1520 SCREEN is actually very legible in direct (summer) sunlight at noon!!!!.

                                  I was surprised that GSMarena sunlight readability of the screen of this phone was "average", as said .

                                    • M
                                    • MNI
                                    • 3xy
                                    • 06 Aug 2015

                                    AnonD-23827, 12 Oct 2014Best phablet hands down. Mine is running 8.1.1 developer pr... moreI have a similar experience, I had note 8 N5100, I was exited and happy with S-pen at first, then I seldom used it. in the mean time, I had galaxy S3 and was using it as my primary phone. in short I gave note8 to my in-low as a graduation gift (seldom used, kept clean in original packaging) and then gave my S3 to a cousin as he lost his phone. honestly I can tell that with the above Samsung S3 and note8, there were too many attractive options that I rarely used and find it non productive in real life. then I got my I phone which is very good, reliable and productive. I used it for more than 6 month. then now I am using nokia lumia 1520, it is amazing phone, attracts attention, people always asking, in short....eye catching. hard ware is excellent, photos are very good, many options, good quality, better than other in low light, sunlight legibility is very good (in this review it is mention average, for me it is far above average!!!). only thing is that windows phone eco system needs some refinements which hopefully I will find in windows 10 mobile upgrade!!!

                                      • J
                                      • Jm
                                      • wHr
                                      • 25 Jul 2015

                                      Do Nokia Lumia 1520 support USB OTG connection?

                                        • s
                                        • sai
                                        • Y}5
                                        • 03 Jul 2015

                                        NO