Alcatel Idol X+ review: 8-ball game

28 April 2014
TCL-owned Alcatel has been slowly, but steadily making a name for itself for selling affordable, well-made phones throughout the entire price range. This year's Idol X+ is their flagship and it's an affordable yet robust product. With an octa-core processor...

Sort by:

  • Lucky rathor

Finally last three days before I ordered for this(alcatel-onetouch-idol-x plus) phone though flippant. Com so dear's tell me something about this I do wrong & right plzzz gide me for this phone octacore is best & quad core is best

  • AnonD-329337

I am using this phone for 6 months. Very Good Phone and an excellent value for money. (my earlier phone was SONY Experia Z1 & I am Happy with that too).
It would be much better if Alcatel can boost accessories ecosystem (especially in North India), as I am struggling to find a good cover like cover of Samsung S4.
Thanks.

  • AnonD-300236

Pls give malaysian user the one touch idol xplus update 4.4 kitkat.

  • Anonymous

It would have been better if they made this phone single-sim and add a MicroSD card slot instead of that extra sim slot or release a new version with single sim slot and a MicroSD card slot.

  • AnonD-237024

AnonD-209094, 29 Apr 2014That was not an opinion but a rant. At the end of the post you e... moreThe following was a opinion. If you cant take other peoples opinions you really shouldn't be on GSMArena.

  • RedZobe

AnonD-209094, 29 Apr 2014That was not an opinion but a rant. At the end of the post you e... moreWOW...I'm REALLY insulted!

I'm currently CRYING!

WAA! WAA!

Seriously dude, your insult had 0 effect on me.

  • satnam singh

Hello friends
I hv used alcalel cellphone
This company has a great experince in manufacturing of cell phones and alcatel phones are very useful for businessmen nd i think this model will be also go on top rank. if there there will be a way to use this phone then i will be in que too.
at last this company is great and i trust its brands
Thanks alcatel

  • Anonymous

AudiFreak, 06 May 2014Yes bad :( I too had big expectations with the audio quality fro... moreI'm not quite sure they turned the thing on, its disabled by default, nor did they say anything about it.

  • AudiFreak

AnonD-251095, 28 Apr 2014It seems audio quality is disappointing despite having those sab... moreYes bad :( I too had big expectations with the audio quality from Sabre DAC & Maxim amp. Seems like a bad implementation of a good chip.

  • Anonymous

Can you do a battery test on this? I'm curious how energy efficient the cpu is.

Android Man, 02 May 2014Well i like the looks and specs of this phone. But the Octocore ... moreExcept that no one promised that MT6592 would outperform Snapdragon 800, it seems you had the wrong expectation.

MT6592 provides good performance at a low cost. Imagine the underpowered expensive junk we would have been stuck with if not for Chinese processors (incl Taiwanese Mediatek) and phones! (For all price points except the $1000 flagship phones).

  • Android Man

Well i like the looks and specs of this phone. But the Octocore has not lived up to its promise. As Snapdragon 800 outperform it big time. shame.

  • AdamBoy64

Trendy, 30 Apr 2014Heey this is ANdroid version of IPHONE. It is a bad copy pehhIs it a copy because it's white?

  • Trendy

Heey this is ANdroid version of IPHONE.
It is a bad copy pehh

  • Anonymous

Can someone tell me is dual core krait better than quad a7 cores?? For example the snapdragon s4 pro at 1.7ghz with adreno 320 or snapdragon 400?? Thanks guys :)

AnonD-209094, 29 Apr 2014Why would we want 8 weak cores when we could have had a few powe... moreThere is no flagship performance about 1.2GHz dualcore Krait.

  • AnonD-237024

AnonD-209094, 29 Apr 2014That was not an opinion but a rant. At the end of the post you e... moreDid I say in my comments I was deciding for anyone? No. If you want a SD Card phone, go ahead, IDGAF.

  • AnonD-209094

AnonD-237024, 29 Apr 20141. I can have a smartphone if I want. 2. I am not grumpy, I'am ... moreThat was not an opinion but a rant. At the end of the post you even invited people to post hateful comments. Is that what people with different needs are, haters?

I have a friend who require a hearing aid, but since i dont need one i guess i just go ahead and call her a hater, that should make me feel so righteous.

Anything else you like to decide for us? Shoe size maybe, one size fits all, right?

  • AnonD-237024

AnonD-209094, 29 Apr 2014Thats your usage, doesnt fit most people. When i bought 16GB Not... more1. I can have a smartphone if I want.
2. I am not grumpy, I'am airing my opinions.

  • AnonD-209094

Why would we want 8 weak cores when we could have had a few powerful ones? Single threaded performance is important and its gonna suffer on this phone.

Anyway i wouldnt know what to do with a phone with so limited storage so i dont need to worry about the octacore, just hope the mainstream manufacturers are smart enough to keep away from banging in as many weak cores as possible in flagships, they already doing it in midrangers and its spreading, soon all midrangers have quad A7, bad trend. They should do like BlackBerry, the new Z3 has 1.2GHz dualcore Krait, combined with BB10 OS we are talking flagship performance for less than $200.