Samsung Galaxy J5 preview: First look

14 September, 2015
The Samsung Galaxy J5 is one of Samsung’s two new budget offerings, the other being the J7. The two phones undercut the previous launched E-series devices with more aggressive pricing while offering nearly identical specifications...

Sort by:

  • j
  • jake
  • UD%
  • 15 Sep 2015

is the apps and games from internal memory is transferable to external microsd of this phone?

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • t7X
    • 15 Sep 2015

    Nice phone for the price have it for a month now, not experiencing hang or lags, i surf web a lot and use apps, but games not much. Camera is average not that sharp but its ok, os is smooth, i always have around 500 mb free ram thanks to 1.5gb of ram. The screen is excellent, thanks to superamoled. But its quiet large, since i came from a 4'inch phone hope will get use to it sometime. Battery i got around 12 hrs of heavy use.

      The fact that it has just Google Play Music instead of Google Play Music and Samsung's Music app is a good thing. Less bloatware!

        • v
        • vidocq
        • m5H
        • 15 Sep 2015

        No Gorilla Glass? it is not necessary! whatch this video "Samsung Galaxy J5 - Knife Scratch Test!"
        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaK1_4e4mOM

          • h
          • hikam
          • tA$
          • 14 Sep 2015

          From spec looks like upgraded grand prime.
          But this one looks more bulky. I prefer the slimmer grand prime.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • tue
            • 14 Sep 2015

            Big Daddy, 14 Sep 2015Moto G is certainly A better choice.. No doubt..but i believe Samsung have better camera quality

              Moto G is certainly A better choice..

                • n
                • nbv
                • S75
                • 14 Sep 2015

                Is there a dual SIM version in Europe? All I see in Germany is single SIM version or sellers don't know what they sell.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • RIE
                  • 14 Sep 2015

                  O, 14 Sep 2015They should put the camera in top left corner.That camera position scientifically do not affect your photo taking skills. Though it have been proven that top left corner for camera position is only good for landscape mode due to hands position but fails greatly in portrait mode due to the tilting angle.

                    • T
                    • TechGeeky
                    • fxH
                    • 14 Sep 2015

                    Will there be a full review? Please do post a full review GSMArena.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • RIE
                      • 14 Sep 2015

                      This is written exactly 13 hours ago judging from the screenshot taken here.

                        • A
                        • Adi
                        • pm7
                        • 14 Sep 2015

                        This is a preview, will there be a review as well?

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • tDD
                          • 14 Sep 2015

                          omid46, 14 Sep 2015Dearest friends.According to the specifications written her... moreJ5 is already available in some Asian countries for US$200-215 (SIM free/unlocked version)

                            • O
                            • O
                            • LaT
                            • 14 Sep 2015

                            They should put the camera in top left corner.

                              Well I have in home Galaxy Prime that Orange give me for free when I get new contract... and to be honest When I see pricing of both phones I have no idea how someone would buy this one... for 0.5 more RAM and higher screen res(that actually because of quality sometimes you cant see the difference)?

                              Grand Prime even after latest LP update work good, its typical Facebook phone for teens so I thing they always gonna choose phone that cost less... unless operators gonna give them for free like I get it...

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • tue
                                • 14 Sep 2015

                                No gorilla glass...is the biggest let down..1 drop and don't even bother changing the screen it more expensive because it's a super AMOLED screen

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • tRQ
                                  • 14 Sep 2015

                                  1.5 GB is a biggest let down from this phone. Samsung have a tradition of bad ram management, this phone can barely multitasking.

                                    • o
                                    • omid46
                                    • 6w@
                                    • 14 Sep 2015

                                    Dearest friends.According to the specifications written here in gsmArena,J5 is a good midrange classes of Samsung products,but not in upper midrange categories,with ORG!!As usual SSamsung is ascending in A series incredibly with very higher prices!!J5 price hasn't mentioned but it must be affordable due to its specifications!!!Also we must wait for highly expertly scientific writing review of gsmArena to have better understanding scientifically!!!Thanks all of you,GSM,Google plus and Samsung to make better products!!Please test any devices before purchasing!Good luck.

                                      • D
                                      • AnonD-292864
                                      • Mw%
                                      • 14 Sep 2015

                                      Where is the endurance rating ?

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • IV$
                                        • 14 Sep 2015

                                        how long this phone can survive ?