Microsoft Lumia 950 review: Legendary Edition

02 December, 2015
Microsoft Lumia 950 is the firstborn of the new Lumia series, following the company's strategy shift. It's a precisely designed smartphone with clear ideas for its future, sharp hardware choices and groundbreaking software innovations. It's an epic device based on Nokia's legacy and reborn under Microsoft's custody.

Sort by:

  • jamc7826

The 950 is great phone yeah I admut I've bought ut 6mths ago but even still its yp there with recent counterparts its fast does what needed camera brilliant only prob is the ability to enable apps to be loaded u can side load but still only thing I dislike i cracked my screen and instead of getting new I replaced old screen the screen is brilliant u will keep this phone for next 18/1yrs thanks

  • Tommy H

Love how efficient Windows is is. 48hr endurance rating is awful.

  • AnonD-563126

I wanna buy this phone

  • avindye

I love this phone

  • CRoth

I brought my Lumina 950 in crisis my other Lumina died, I had it 4.5 yrs. When I left the AT & T store with the Lumina 950 it took a little time to get use to and work with but overall, was happy with it. However I was also trying to Refinance at the time, I was preoccupied. The phone was both burning my finger pads, and would completely die on me after it had just been fully charged. I missed important calls. I went back to at & t they told me I should go to their other store so a diagnostic test could be done to see what was wrong, I went but missed store hours. Tried again and was told I likely need a new battery, but they do not do diagnostic tests. I should return to the original store again and see if they want to help me out as it now past 14 days. These phones are not cheap, and we relay on them. I don't have time to run all over on wild goose chases. So disappointed in AT &T customer service and Microsoft Quality control. Care enough about your image, products and customer that you do not put your pardons through this. issues is still not resolved.

  • exousus

Living images actually saves the file in a .mp4 format as well. You can see that if you browse on the file manager to the photos directory

  • LessthanL337

Ive had the phone for a week. Its an awesome device. IRIS scan is fast and reliable. It even works when Im wearing sunglasses with a reflective coating.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-167064, 06 Dec 2015I still don't know if it has liquid cooling, but mine never gets... moreVery worst phone I never seen that this type of phone

i love the picture quality of this phone!!!

  • Anonymous

does the the FM Radio work on the 950? Microsoft says the 950 has the hardware but isn't enabled due to missing software to support. GSM Arena specs and review says phone has FM Radio but might require download of FM Radio app from store.

what's truth. Anyone actually use the FM Radio on the 950?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 12 Dec 2015Try metrotubeTry mytube, it's even better.

  • surf 7

MirzaSohail, 11 Dec 2015Need Sincere Advice, I have shortlisted Lumia 950 ,IPhone 6s Pl... moreGo for the 950 you won't be disappointed the 950 has much better layout and is faster than iphone & Samsung ok there's not so many apps but how many apps do you need ? I've always had nokias & find them amazing phones

  • Mike_The_Consumer

Very good article, really appreciate the non-bias review as many other reviewers find this difficult to do.

I must say the under the CONS, now that I have used both the iPhone 6s and the 950, I much prefer the Iris scanner, it seems to be a little more responsive than Apples fingerprint.

I have had the 950 for a week now and am absolutely loving it, Microsoft have really come up with a winner with this phone!

  • Anonymous

AnonD-475446, 12 Dec 2015I bought a 950 a week ago and I've been using it since. I keep p... moreTry metrotube

  • AnonD-475446

MirzaSohail, 11 Dec 2015Need Sincere Advice, I have shortlisted Lumia 950 ,IPhone 6s Pl... moreI bought a 950 a week ago and I've been using it since. I keep personalizing it to my taste every now and then but other than that, it is a great phone. Before the 950, i used iphone 6 plus and Lumia 930 for over a year. Now both SIMs are in the 950.
The 950 meets all my expectations when it comes to display, UI, battery life ... etc. I'm not happy with Youtube and Whatsapp Apps on it but it is not hard to get used to them as they are. the 950 is my business companion ... so far it is just great!

Need Sincere Advice,
I have shortlisted Lumia 950 ,IPhone 6s Plus & Note 5
Currently owing note 3 but Never had used iOS before.
Well two years before I used lumia 720 and found it smooth and clean OS, but apps collection was horrible at that time and most of them were in beta and outdated.
If I go for 950 will it be a wise move or I stick with android.

  • AnonD-472730

MINI, 09 Dec 2015Disappointed by the long waiting of windows 10 mobile release, a... morewhat information do you want specifically? Updates for previous models is supposed to start this month for a few models, depending on carrier support, with the rest coming next year.

  • AnonD-474419

I think that MS did a mistake with the sizes of 950 series. 5.2" is too big and too close to 5.7", there's no much difference between the two. They should have opted for 4.7"/5" display for the smaller one, in order to create some differentiation.
Also I believe that there is a big hype on QHD displays.
A pixel density of 300 ppi is enough for 99% of users. I have 1280x720 5" display and I cannot even see the pixels. For the 950 a 5" display 1280x720 would be enough (at least 1920x1080 pentile), allowing much less power consumption for both graphic processing and display power drainage.
I hope they will deliver soon a 840/850 compact device with the same camera of 950 but with a smaller display, less powerful CPU and thus a much better battery life.

  • grazy

it may be worth doing the battery test again. since the update released last night my phone is lasting a lot longer! From 7pm last night until 14:30 the next day I still have 80% battery! (flight mode admittedly over night) but still much much better!

  • MINI

Disappointed by the long waiting of windows 10 mobile release, and the no comment attitude of Microsoft. any one knows any information???!!!