Samsung Galaxy J2 (2016) preview: First look

11 July 2016
The 2016 Galaxy J2 is Samsung's latest budget Android device. It is the successor to last year's Galaxy J2 and improves upon it in several areas, most predictably in the specification department. However, Samsung has also added some new features, such as the Smart Glow, a unique ring of LED notification light around the rear camera that lights up in various colors, and also S Bike mode, and something Samsung calls Turbo Boost Technology. Will all this be enough for the phone to survive in the fiercely competitive budget Android phone market? We took a quick look at the device to find out.

Sort by:

  • Muthu

AnonD-541756, 12 Jul 2016Was planning to go for this device....but sadly have dropped the... moreYou can get either Samsung Galaxy On5 pro or moto g3. They both are good and within your budget.

  • AnonD-237381

AnonD-322352, 12 Jul 2016Your point is anecdotal at best. I've watched people on Youtube ... morePlastic does not bend, it breaks.

  • AnonD-322352

AnonD-237381, 12 Jul 2016You talk like the build quality on the Redmi Note 3 is great, we... moreYour point is anecdotal at best. I've watched people on Youtube trying to bend the phone to no avail. And actually, plastics do bend as well, as evidenced by the Nextbit Robin.

  • AnonD-237381

AnonD-322352, 12 Jul 2016That's supposed to be an excuse for the below average build? Whe... moreYou talk like the build quality on the Redmi Note 3 is great, well, I have Note 3 Pro, it looks good but it's built with a thin and very fragile metal, it bends easily if you put force on it, I rather have a plastic body rather than cheap aluminum, at least plastic don't bend.

  • AnonD-322352

mir, 12 Jul 2016It's a budget smartphone... (Facepalm)That's supposed to be an excuse for the below average build? When the metal RN3 costs a little bit over this thing, you just have to wonder why Samsung even dared to out this phone.

  • gourelly

Frnd Samsung fooling Indian customers releasing cheap phones android m with 2gb free internal memory ? Is this acceptable go for moto g4
Samsung never provide finger print under 13500..

  • AnonD-404798

mir, 12 Jul 2016It's a budget smartphone... (Facepalm)budget or not it still has very bad design , compare this to budget phone like xperia E5 and the later one looks like flagship next to this ....

This phones is a pathetic joke on the users that purchase it. Never expected such thing from Samsung. I am a Samsung fan but this? Really pathetic, at any price range.

  • AnonD-501208

plz post zte axon 7 review

  • Anonymous

Smart glow.. more like dumb glow.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-496754, 12 Jul 2016No it is not midranger device..it is a power ranger device..Lol. Hilarious but its true

  • Rouxenator

The UI still feels like Samsung messed around with it. They should just leave it alone.

  • someone

Hellboy., 11 Jul 2016This can be the Ringing Bells Freedom 251 $4 smartphone.Ha, ha... LOL! Spot on! You made my day buddy.

  • AnonD-496754

AnonD-551566, 11 Jul 2016i DID read the preview... it isn't a premium device... it's a mi... moreNo it is not midranger device..it is a power ranger device..

  • goron

omg 2 point touch screen? for a 188 dollars phone? this is why your customers are running away to xiaomi, lenovo, asus and huawei. today customer are pretty smart because of internet and gsmarena it will not work anymore samsung, cutting cost its oke and fine but giving your phone half assets is like shooting your own foot. there are 200 dollars phone out there with metal case and fingerprint reader so there is no reason to pick this up then those from the other brands

  • Ng

8GB only 1.4GB free? Install few social apps storage will nearly full.
And apps drawer only sort A to Z, very bad for some user that need catogorize in page or folder.

AnonD-322352, 11 Jul 2016The back LED is really, really tacky. The phone just doesn't scr... moreIt's a budget smartphone... (Facepalm)

  • AnonD-541756

Was planning to go for this device....but sadly have dropped the idea now....I really have no idea of which Processor is good or bad for a mid range phone...:( I am using Galaxy S Duos 2 since Dec.2013 and wanted to change my phone for a new OS...My phone has Jelly bean and never got Kitkat update....now even Lollipop is out of date...I really don't have the guts to try these Chinese variants ( owing to after sales issues )....so have to wait for a few more months when Samsung will release its next mid ranger...its a pity that Samsung never cares for its lower segment...( People who buy phones under Rs.10000 or at Rs.10000 )

  • jim

bad and expensive. as expected of Samsung.

  • Anonymous

Dual heatpipes, 11 Jul 2016The back cover is so weird, the smart glow notification LED ligh... moreyea, seems corious