Samsung Galaxy Note7 review: Thinking Big

16 August 2016
All great speeches start with carefully prepared notes. For yet another year Samsung has taken the role of a modern-day orator, pushing for a return to personal handwriting against the trend of detached digital text.

Sort by:

  • laciboti

Will other phones (e.g. S7/S7 Edge) get these new power saving options? It would be really useful to change the resolution to FHD, since QHD is totally unnecessary.

  • Praleq

Imperator Neubaticus, 24 Aug 2016Software that is powered by the chipset. They used sd 820 v... moreSd or exynos, it's not that big difference. It's the software that it's not optimized

Praleq, 24 Aug 2016Can't you get it? It's a software issue, not a hardware one... moreSoftware that is powered by the chipset. They used sd 820 versions only. It's already proven that the exynos version outputs better performance than the sd version equating to faster processing and more efficient battery management. Perhaps only in gpu prowess is the sd 820 version superior to exynos.

Besides, just because it's slightly slower than competition, it doesn't automatically mean it sucks. People just love to be the harbinger of negativity and nitpick on every little insignificant flaw. Whatever, it's their breath they're wasting.

  • kamil

why samsung not produce note 6?why???

  • Praleq

Imperator Neubaticus, 24 Aug 2016Exynos > snapdragonCan't you get it? It's a software issue, not a hardware one! The components are top notch and still the phone lags. It's like a paradox

Praleq, 23 Aug 2016Guyz, I want to buy a note 7, but after reading this, I cha... moreAlong with soft glass and less battery life than the S7edge variant

Praleq, 23 Aug 2016Guyz, I want to buy a note 7, but after reading this, I cha... moreCorrect

Imperator Neubaticus, 24 Aug 2016Exynos > snapdragonYes

Praleq, 23 Aug 2016Guyz, I want to buy a note 7, but after reading this, I cha... moreExynos > snapdragon

  • Praleq

Guyz, I want to buy a note 7, but after reading this, I changed my mind. Touchwiz is still laggy, phone still has memory management issues and real life performance just sucks. Even in benchmarks, the note is defeated. Xda developers is a credible source, those guys know what they are talking about http://www.xda-developers.com/with-the-note-7-samsung-still-delivers-embarrassing-real-world-performance/

  • AnonD-367917

AnonD-575325, 22 Aug 2016You compared the benchmark performance between the two Note... moreIt should bench better spec sheet numbers, and is likely slightly less musical for 'critical listening'.

Has same offboard circuitry as HTC10, without the European volume limiting that the Exynos version has..

  • AnonD-575325

You compared the benchmark performance between the two Note 7 processor editions, but you only listed one Note 7 version on the audio output tests. Which version did you use for this test? Did you compare both? I want to know how the snapdragon version compares to the Exynos version in audio output.

  • AnonD-551566

AnonD-367917, 22 Aug 2016I get that we are seeing it as a scandal; because the assum... morevery well said ^_^
let's see if GG change the approach anytime soon (hope they do) they still have time :)

  • Exxix

The iris scan will be a blessing in winter or when your fingerprint is dirty or wet. Samsung adverts fail to mention this. Taking gloves off is a bummer in winter.

If they can tie the iris scan to samsung pay for security in debit and credit card transactions, i'll give them my money. Take it and shut up.

I will buy the note7 only when samsung and tmobile fine-tune and release a stable nougat OS.

  • Anonymous

Rafe Firmani, 22 Aug 2016JerryRigsEverything has done it mate... And it stirred up ... moreYes. But I want GSMARENA to do it as well just to be 100% sure that Samsung messed up big time

  • Anonymous

AnonD-505564, 22 Aug 2016if you are wondering about the quality of the phone http... moreEasy to scratch, not thanks.

  • AnonD-505564

if you are wondering about the quality of the phone

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIJ-F3taI38

  • AnonD-367917

Rafe Firmani, 22 Aug 2016JerryRigsEverything has done it mate... And it stirred up ... moreI get that we are seeing it as a scandal; because the assumption is the new product would have all metrics equal to or betten than the 'old product'.

Obviously a lot of things do not work this way, and assuming is just silly.
Corning have taken the wrong approach, in my option, to how they could have pressed this.
Dismissing (or attempting to) the reviewers tests as being 'non scientific' is just silly.
They should have been affirmative in their pressing, and explained how much more important stopping a screen shattering is than a scratch.. could have quoted some typical repair costs for a consumer with a shattered screen, vs 'scratches' not stopping a device from being used/ digitiser issues etc.

If they knew how to get consumers thinking through this 'press mess', they could have turned it to a win, and educated customers.
Trying to obsficate the information, and diss a reliable industry spokesman is just silly.
It then turns us customers to question 'their tests'; ever noticed how all testing has the phone surface land totally flat? As this dissipates the force of the impact 'best' for their product to perform well 'at an impressive statistical level' (80% of drops survival rate).

I prefer a non shattered screen, and am happy for a screen protector to cover against scratches, so I see this as a 'non issue'.

Arguably my Gorilla Glass 3 covered Note Edge has the best scratch protection; never stopped me putting a top tier protector on it, and then a case around that.
Similar to what I have done with my Note 7 (using an 'inferior' Samsung genuine screen protector); Ifeel very safe for this phone.. protected from the elements and harsh usage and accidents.

Still pretty svelte considering.
Fit watch for notifications, bluetooth headset for calls. (watch controls media, message review etc)

We all have different usage habits.. true, this new unit will benefit from a screen protector if people just want to throw a $1000 phone into their bag to 'roll around'.
(Good luck with that!)

Anonymous, 20 Aug 2016GSMARENA please do a scratch resistant test on this phone JerryRigsEverything has done it mate...
And it stirred up messy problem for corning and samsung
CG5 scandal!

  • AnonD-439298

Android have official outlook app.It will sync as in apple. I am using that for accesing office mail.