LG V20 review: Twice as bright

23 September 2016
If the LG V20 was a superhero - and we're not convinced that it's not - its superpower would be to have two of everything (or more!). Two screens, two cameras... twice!, four DACs, two apps on the screen, the list goes on and on.

Sort by:

  • Eh

AnonD-190634, 23 Sep 2016I think I should give uo hi-fi and removable battery and sa... moreHello,How's that pixel working on you?

  • LOL

Savor, 23 Sep 2016After reading the review, I am leaning towards Note7.. ... moreYour note 7 didn't doo so good in the years to come,didn't it?
I guess it's sales didn't come with fireworks into 2017...

  • LOL

AnonD-501550, 24 Sep 2016WTH is with that Battery Endurance Rating?! Even the S7 and... more5.7 inches, 90.3 cm2 > 5.1 inches, 71.5 cm2
IPS LCD capacitive touchscreen > Super AMOLED capacitive
Secondary display, 160 x 1040 pixels, 2.1 inches > 0
UFS 2.1 > UFS 2.0
32-bit/192kHz audio > 24-bit/192kHz audio
Infrared port Yes > No
16 MP, f/1.8, 29mm (standard), 1/2.6", Laser AF, 3-axis OIS AND
8 MP, f/2.4, 12mm (ultrawide), 1/3.2", no AF > 12 MP, f/1.7, 26mm (wide), 1/2.55", 1.4µm, Dual Pixel PDAF, OIS

Now tell me...don't you think that all this altogether doesen't draw aprox 20% more power then your beloved samsung?

  • LOL

AnonD-104234, 25 Sep 2016the audio quality is bad considering all noise they made ab... moreYou obviously never held one in your hand,not to mention your "experience" woth it's quad-dac...
Gett off this plane,kid...

  • LOL

Savor , 25 Sep 2016Consumers do buy phablets because of bigger, better battery... more"In 2-3 years, you will look back at 2016 and say the Note7 or S7 edge was the best smartphone of that year"
I still have my V20 running like a charm...call in your Note7 and S7 users so we can compare our experiences!

  • Nope

Savor , 25 Sep 2016Consumers do buy phablets because of bigger, better battery... moreYou obviously got your "facts" out of the reviews and comments,and you OBVIOUSLY never owned the phone...

There is no "light bleeds".The "screen ghosting" is real,that's the truth,but it is fairly avoidable,just don't leave the screen on while you go take a dump in toilet.
The screen is no "mediocre" by ANY means (except the ghosting) and it is priming above any screen you get today in midrange phones (2020!) In fact...you will not find 1440 x 2560 pixels, 16:9 ratio in ANY midrange device of today's!And I compared its color accuracy with newer samsung and huawei devices (some others too),you want me to tell you the result?It is NOT cartoonish like a samsung and it is not overexposed like huawei!It has the closes colours display to real than any of 2020 midrangers!
And it's not 1080× 2400 (with some weird aspect ratio)!
So go back to your corner and don't comment on the devices you NEVER had in your hands!PLEASE!

  • Maybe

AnonD-571089, 26 Sep 2016this bad LG V20 (headphones attached) +0.04, -0.09 -92.4... moreThe quad-dac wasn't engaged because output was too low with ohms

  • Yes

AnonD-599825, 19 Oct 2016nothing like a good review to bring out the trollsI agree:
Battery - crap
Screen (ghosting) - crap
Not agree:
Everything else: better then 2020 flagships

  • Lol

How for audiophiles?, 14 Nov 2016I have a very big question mark in my mind: -How this phon... moreHint-you don't need an amplifier for it...

  • Nope

AnonD-519091, 22 Nov 2016hardware failure guaranteed 6-12 months from now resultin... moreAnd 4 years later... NO bootloop issues!Still running like a first day out of the store...
What about you?How manny phones did you swapped already?

  • Ahmed korky

It very good mobile

Anonymous, 10 Feb 2017S7 is better than S7 Edge. The most complete phone is th... morewe bought a 8500ah extra battery was inexpensive now we have enough power for a week between charging!

Hoffmann, 19 Apr 2017That camera is a killerI have compared Images taken by the LG V20 to recent flagships Images and the I.Q. is on par with the best! awesome device!

Omid46, 13 Feb 2017Dearest happy V20 owners.With respect to gsmArena review an... moreawesome phone and a steal at 100$

Awesome phone! we are loving my LG V20 if that is even possible to do with a piece of technology- we were scared at first and it will take some time to get re familiar with Android however I believe patience will pay out with great images and connectivity to family friends and platforms that allow free sharing of information with little censorship or control. it is a fine piece of tech so far and we have bought a 8500ah secondary battery that will allow days if not a week of use between charging cycles. GSM Arena your platform and community helped me make the decision to purchase the LG V20- we are happy - Mahalo and aloha

  • Anonymous

Few days ago I bought one unit of v 20 Lg ,after 9 days of using this Lg suddenly the signal of sim card were hide ,I change the sim card but mobile phone were working not properly.and no one can repair it.i am sorry why I purchased this mobile phone!!!!

The second display is just so nice to have, feels like I have an S6 or S7 edge, instead made by LG, so good, only affects about 5% of battery life whilst the phone is sleeping, really cool!

  • Hoffmann

That camera is a killer

  • Lol

Lol like always LG and it's mediocre battery life.

Is the endurance rating with 2nd screen on? If not how much does it affect battery life?