LG V20 review: Twice as bright

23 September 2016
If the LG V20 was a superhero - and we're not convinced that it's not - its superpower would be to have two of everything (or more!). Two screens, two cameras... twice!, four DACs, two apps on the screen, the list goes on and on.

Sort by:

Is the endurance rating with 2nd screen on? If not how much does it affect battery life?

  • Omid46

Dearest happy V20 owners.With respect to gsmArena review and disclaimer,this smart-device of $800 has all specifications of a flagship in high ends class , of course forgetting to mention USB V3.1+otg or maybe Bluetooth 5+its auxiliaries!!!I also don't think that except the fewest few are eager to take this $800+ ultra beautiful smart-device to a swimming pool!!!Result:One of the best in the market(64ROM) before fabulous LG G6 coming!!I wrote to prove that beautiful is beautiful and,...regardless of makers and brands!Justice Rights.Omid12Omidvar.just follows fact-writing so as gsmArena!

  • Anonymous

AnonD-599881, 06 Jan 2017I own both S7 EDGE and V20. Well here goes the conclusion: ... moreS7 is better than S7 Edge.

The most complete phone is the LG G5 and V20. They have removable battery, FM Radio and IR blaster. Important things that are missing from Samsung.

  • AnonD-599881

I own both S7 EDGE and V20. Well here goes the conclusion: both phones are absolute delight.Few features i like better on S7E and few definitely on V20.But if you are a technically sound person. Crazy about professional camera shoot and Complete audiophile, which also includes you completely understand the physics behind, V20 is the phone for you. Else you can have S7E. One of the most complete phone ever ( ir blaster please neglect).


Yes for example, S7E in front Camera is doing very well. When in V20 front camera detailing is better than S7E ( a minor bit) but background gets more overexposed ,where S7E does perfect justice. Love it!

Well,Both are awesome phones.Choice is yours.Or else , you can have both the phones like me.:)

  • Vishal

V20 is a giant smartphone i ever seen.ultimate cameta and display.

  • john1102

any sign of a uk release?

  • AnonD-612122

AnonD-560664, 27 Dec 2016"My iphone's battery is very efficient despite its stellar ... moreim a battery drainer user. i use my phone a lot. like a lot! im always connected to wifi at home and use data when im out. i actually used android back then but i could only get 4-5 SOT at max but on my ip6s+ i could get 10-11 SOT! huge advantage with the same lifestyle excuse me

  • AnonD-618376

AnonD-612122, 28 Nov 2016It is not luck. its just that LG is worse than any smartpho... morehhmmm ... looks like every person has his own taste.. please don't hate,, I love LG... even if a can afford the new Iphone 7s plus, I would prefer the V20. you may not like it... not my fault u have shitty taste, you probably a Samsung fan ....

  • AnonD-560664

AnonD-612122, 03 Dec 2016The plus models of apple are so recommended as they have lo... moreLOL! How does Apple do that, when most of the software on your iPhone is written by 3rd parties? Magic?

The things iPhone users tell themselves!

  • AnonD-560664

AnonD-612122, 07 Dec 2016My iphone's battery is very efficient despite its stellar p... more"My iphone's battery is very efficient despite its stellar performance."

LOL, did Tim tell you that? Be honest, if your iPhone went flat after an hour you'd say the same thing, and claim it was an "advanced feature."

So please tell us, how many mAh exactly do you use each day? Don't know? So how much do you use the different functions each day? Oh, don't know that either. Probably becuase no-one does. And becuase no-one does the same thing each day.

That's what makes the the idea that a sealed battery can ever be better than a replaceable one utterly ridiculous - becuase you have no idea how much power you're going to use on any given day.

With regards to the camera -

Lumia 920 review:
"White balance tends towards yellow and colors are way oversaturated and unrealistic"

LG V20 review:
"Colors are on the punchy side - that is to say nicely saturated and consumer-friendly straight out of the camera"

lmfao.. the above photos look like a cereal box

  • AnonD-612122

Anonymous, 02 Dec 2016We will see, I at least will not suffer from planned obsole... moreMy iphone's battery is very efficient despite its stellar performance. Even if you can swap batteries if its really so "little" as to real-life performance, then i would still go to a sealed battery-phone that could last me day,,, any day.

  • AnonD-612122

Anonymous, 02 Dec 2016We will see, I at least will not suffer from planned obsole... moreThe plus models of apple are so recommended as they have long battery life, though carrying lower capacity of battery compared to android. I dont need swappable batteries if the software itself is sync with the hardware, thus, optimizing battery life.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-612122, 01 Dec 2016I assure you, you will come back here, replying all our com... moreWe will see, I at least will not suffer from planned obsolescence from a sealed battery. (Battery is almost always first to go).

  • AnonD-612122

Anonymous, 01 Dec 2016I do not deny the note 7 not being a good phone...it was, h... moreI assure you, you will come back here, replying all our comments after months of usage of this phone coz it will have hiccups already

  • Anonymous

AnonD-612122, 01 Dec 2016Still, I salute Samsung for their move on that issue. You s... moreI do not deny the note 7 not being a good phone...it was, however the entire issue broke quire a lot of people's trust in Samsung. Their stock also shows this. All this at the worst of times...when the Pixels released, and the V20, giving alternatives.

These facets do not change the quality of this phone, it stands tall among the flagships with features that the others don't have (second display, removable battery, dual mode selfie cam, etc)...just because you and some others have blinders on, does not mean the phone shouldn't get a fair chance. I was am avid Samsung user up until the S6, that phone broke my trust for quality devices form them...they apologized with the S7s which are great, but I found great alternatives...and lost my bias.

  • AnonD-612122

Anonymous, 29 Nov 2016Your comments show your bias. You seem too focused on LG... moreStill, I salute Samsung for their move on that issue. You said that they could cause damage because they explode or something internal heats up and there you go, boom! But why do you think a LOT of NOTE 7 users are still out there, not returning their phone? what do you think their reason why they hold on a phone that might explode anytime? its because they have their loyalty towards Samsung. there is trust present here and they believe that this phone is the ultimate phone that could satisfy their needs. What about LG? after that bootloop issue, sure they addressed in your area, but here, they're the worst. they couldnt offer the repair for free. they had to investigate even the slightest of events well in fact its their own device that went haywire and this is not related to any users. Well, you are entitled to your opinion and so am I but the market says everything. Samsung dominates. Even Huawei beat LG straight in two years. I have also a Huawei P9 and its beter than that crappy G5, at least more on the battery side. LG sucks!

  • Anonymous

AnonD-612122, 28 Nov 2016It is not luck. its just that LG is worse than any smartpho... moreYour comments show your bias.

You seem too focused on LG...they did take care of the G4's issue, they made it warranty replaceable, yes a little late, however the percentage affected wasn't high enough until then.

What about Samsung here...the Note 7 debacle? They started by not acknowledging it...then tried to say it would be fixed with a firmware update that limited the battery to 60%...then, after it started being banned and lawsuits began flying everywhere, finally did a limited warranty replacement...then finally after being called by federal governments...did a full warranty replacement...then the replacements STILL caught fire...to finally discontinuing the phone...then they released the firmware update afterwards, limiting all remaining devices to 60% battery and no continued support. This was an issue that could've killed people...destroyed property...caused injuries...etc...the bootloop simply bricked your phone. Man, talk about stress!

  • AnonD-612122

Anonymous, 28 Nov 2016So you have bad luck?It is not luck. its just that LG is worse than any smartphone manufacturer.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-612122, 27 Nov 2016Im sure of this, after months of usage, it will slow as hel... moreSo you have bad luck?