Oppo R9s review: Strumming along

5 December 2016
Oppo has always offered great build quality on their smartphones and hey have outdone themselves with their latest R9s. The design is far from original, but the execution trumps most phones on the market - it’s thin and light and the six-string antenna design is the first of its kind.

Sort by:

  • D
  • AnonD-523334
  • 7k7
  • 07 Dec 2016

sam, 07 Dec 2016Dude one plus, oppo, vivo are all child companies of parent... moreYes I know. But they operate differently, with different strategies, different product lines and different products. that's why Oppo and Vivo are overpriced and oneplus is one of the most value for money, isn't it? and I was just saying that OP3 is better than this crap, from where the topic of parent company comes?

    • s
    • sam
    • 2SA
    • 07 Dec 2016

    AnonD-523334, 06 Dec 2016Are you druk? Oppo is famous for overpriced products and th... moreDude one plus, oppo, vivo are all child companies of parent bbk electronics lol

      • D
      • AnonD-448401
      • yMn
      • 07 Dec 2016

      Jony b, 05 Dec 2016And of course lack of security updapes. My Oppo r7 plus sti... moreyou want latest updates all the time?ok then go get a google phone then you will always get the latest and greatest

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • qLm
        • 07 Dec 2016

        Too much of a copycat

          • D
          • AnonD-584214
          • yMb
          • 07 Dec 2016

          Still waiting for Oppo find 7 successor

            • D
            • AnonD-424566
            • Bw@
            • 07 Dec 2016

            Jony b, 05 Dec 2016And of course lack of security updapes. My Oppo r7 plus sti... moreSounds to me you live for updates, enjoy your phone for what it is, no one phone needs that many updates, it's all in the head?

              • D
              • AnonD-523334
              • 7k7
              • 06 Dec 2016

              Is it only me or gsmarena is praising every phone they are reviewing. I am not blaming or being hypocrite but as "The Verge" stated," it is more difficult to make a bad phone than a good one these days "so critics should be more critical while reviewing. What do you guys think? I am in for negative replies also.

                • D
                • AnonD-523334
                • 7k7
                • 06 Dec 2016

                AnonD-505842, 06 Dec 2016eagerly waiting for launch in india.i think it is the most ... moreAre you druk? Oppo is famous for overpriced products and this is no exception. Yes I know built quality is excellent and display is AMOLED, but so is the one plus 3 with almost same price.

                  • a
                  • aeae
                  • Q5i
                  • 06 Dec 2016

                  simply expensive

                    • D
                    • AnonD-505842
                    • gMJ
                    • 06 Dec 2016

                    eagerly waiting for launch in india.i think it is the most cheapest phone with excellent low light capabilities..love it!!!

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • 3xA
                      • 06 Dec 2016

                      I want to know the price of oppo R9s and when i can purchase this in online.

                      Needs reply pls. Soon as possible.

                        • S
                        • Smartphones Fan
                        • 3a0
                        • 06 Dec 2016

                        Jony b, 05 Dec 2016And of course lack of security updapes. My Oppo r7 plus sti... morewhy u need updates ? what, u cannot call ? or text ? or send email ? doesn't work ?
                        u brainwashed by word ''updates''

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • vgN
                          • 06 Dec 2016

                          Anonymous, 06 Dec 2016Oh please. You make it sound like your phone has been hacke... moreBut Oppo R7 must have an Upgrade OS despite its expensive phone!

                            TC for Life, 06 Dec 2016It's not necessary, you got the Samsung J7 (2016) review, s... moreIt's not the same. The J7 prime have a metal body, Fingerprint sensor, 3 GB of RAM, non removable battery, 32 GB storage, 1080p display with no Amoled. The J7 2016 is way different. And I would like to know if the J7 Prime is a better buy.

                            No one can make a better review than GSMArena.

                            So please GSMArena. PLEASE make a review of the Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • mTn
                              • 06 Dec 2016

                              Jony b, 05 Dec 2016And of course lack of security updapes. My Oppo r7 plus sti... moreOh please. You make it sound like your phone has been hacked, cracked, infected and infested every other day.

                              Most people in the world have no "security" problems with their olde kitkat or even older devices. Especially the silent majority of mums, dads and grandma's whom only use their phones to call, text and occasionally see the grandkids on facebook. They don't even know how to install an "app" or don't even know what that word means.

                              And even many of the tech-savvy GA-readers like myself couldn't care less about this. As long as the app you need or want works, you don't need a newer Android (which is one o/t the many reasons to stick with Android in the first place). In fact in my own case I am fully aware (perhaps more so than those restless teenagers whom crave for the latest just to snob around) that Lollipop (the first 64-bit aware Android) is completely useless on my SD801 equipped device. Not to mention that all that white degrades stamina even quicker due to my amoled screen.

                              Be tech-savvy AND smart, use common sense when available.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • mTn
                                • 06 Dec 2016

                                "...Camera protrudes slightly..."

                                You mean camera protrudes too much :-(
                                DJeez, why not make that device one (1) millimetre thicker, make the camera flush and fill in the extra space with a 3300MAh battery instead?

                                So basically we have a phone with similar performance as an old Galaxy S5 (but better build materials and loss of user-replaceable battery). Yeah, that's not very thrilling at all.

                                I hoped that mid-range offerings would be twice as fast as that olde S5 now (Cortex A72/A73 anyone) without loosing the specific S5-features (like IR-blaster).

                                BTW, is it just me but these photo's are horrible. They have that typical canvas-painted smudge and smearing of Sony Experia's. It's like a badly executed facet-filter in photoshop :-( Which means that these photos are only good when you downscale them in post-processing into a lower resolution (for web-usage). I think GSMarena have very low expectations these days or perhaps their reviewers need to have their eyesight checked. Yes, I'm well aware that eyesight deteriorates with age (hence my criticism against QHD screens) and that my eyesight probably needs a check as well. But I do see the difference between a pixel sharp photo and a smeared filtered one. Why do we even need these hi-res sensors if we can't get them to full optimal sharpness?

                                On another note. Is it possible to review also whether these phones have call-recording capabilities? Either build in or working through an optional app?
                                And would it also be possible to be consistent in your performance figures? By using the same devices throughout the full test. And preferably use some well-known popular devices like a Galaxy S5, S6 to compare them against. As it is much easier to decide for or against certain device when compared to a known device instead o/t globally unknown device like e.g."xiaomi redmi pro"?

                                Oh well, why should I care. It'll probably lack the necessary LTE-bands for my country and won't be available anyway so...

                                  • T
                                  • TC for Life
                                  • K3e
                                  • 06 Dec 2016

                                  Onyxia, 06 Dec 2016GSMArena. PLEASE make a review of Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime. ... moreIt's not necessary, you got the Samsung J7 (2016) review, same phone, same specs, same design. -_-

                                    GSMArena. PLEASE make a review of Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime. Many people want this.

                                      • D
                                      • AnonD-609254
                                      • PxV
                                      • 06 Dec 2016

                                      this phone also known as IPHONE from CHINA. lol

                                        • N
                                        • Neb
                                        • 0xG
                                        • 05 Dec 2016

                                        Success story of design flattery and in general.