vivo V5 review: The Oddball

24 February 2017
Vivo V5 is all about the selfies, and you can tell it right away by a quick inspection on its specs sheet. The V5 surely looks good, but it has a lower-res screen, mediocre chipset, uninspiring main camera, and it didn't even deserve the latest Funtouch launcher. If it wasn't for the high-res selfie snapper, it would have been the definition of mediocrity.

Sort by:

  • chocomintae

Been using it since April 2017 and its still doing good for me. I like the mini design which makes it look like iphone lol, still superior to most bulky phones nowadays. Best to watch dramas online. When my mom's first bought it at retail price of around RM1.3k people were questioning why it was that pricey, said that you can get iphone with that price. But now I never regretted it. At least it was better than my Poco M3. The only thing that made me changed to a new phone was because of the storage space (and I use dual sim so I cannot add a microSD). However, this is my lifesaver as my Poco M3 keeps getting blackscreened after rebooting or update and requires me to send to the service store. Even when I left this Vivo V5 uncharged with drained battery for months. So just wanna drop by and say that I love this phone and is forever indebted to it

  • Anonymous

I'm using Vivo v5 and it's easy to get lowbat especially when I'm doing a video call..just got charged but gets lowbat already

  • Suhaib

Ibiyeomie, 25 Aug 2020I am using v5 and they is no system update, no fingerprint ... moreIs there potrait available in camera

  • Ibiyeomie

I am using v5 and they is no system update, no fingerprint sensor, no fingerprint app talk less of sensor.

  • Anonymous

where can I order for this phone to get it delivered in Nigeria ,?,is it also Google enabled ? like is play store accessible on it

  • Anonymous

salleh, 28 Sep 2017I have problem on the camera came out error focus and expos... moreM having same problem... How did u get this solved...?

  • Anonymous

I used this smartphone vivo5 almost ten months now,,still no issue a very good phone battery not heating..luv this phone.

  • paddy yede

NikiDroid, 10 May 2017The Vivo V5 Plus is too expensive in my view of opinion. I ... moreI am really happy with this product

  • salleh

I have problem on the camera came out error focus and exposure locked any body can help on this

  • AnonD-699167

It's really good phone with body and weight. Battery is poor. But selfie is good taken.. All time.. . There 13 mega pixel rear camera is very poor.. . 4 gb Ram is good. But issue is hybrid sim slat.. . Huh.. . Low charging.. .

  • Peekey

Overall it's not good at this price range. 1.poor battery 2.single sim 4g slot 3. Moonlight flash insufficient clearity

AnonD-596148, 25 Feb 2017Vivo targeting Indian youths school going boys and girls'. ... moreIn Indonesia region is also targeted for selfie lover. That's why I think Vivo brings many ambassadors to make the brand wellknown and make sure the smartphones are for selfies.

RishiGuru, 25 Feb 2017Nobody is interested in this low quality and subpar phone. ... moreI bought Vivo V5 February yesterday, so far it is good, yes I know it might be high price.

For design, I don't care it is copy from iPhone or not, design is OK. Features are good, double tap to wake and to sleep, unlock screen by fingerprint that works fast. The charging time by using cable and charger default is quite long. Every less than 30% when it is charged, it can take almost 3 hours to fully charged.

GoPi, 26 Feb 2017Plz Funtouch 3.0 and nouget 7.1 update from Vivo v5 mobile ... moreFunTouch is 3.0 is available now with software version 3.2.3, but still based on Android Marshmallow.

Shubham, 05 Apr 2017Very bad mobile heating issueSo far I use Vivo V5 no complaint, no heating.

RishiGuru, 25 Feb 2017Nobody is interested in this low quality and subpar phone. ... moreThe Vivo V5 Plus is too expensive in my view of opinion. I use Vivo V5, so far is good. The price is cheaper than Motorola Moto M. I am still OK with the V5 price.

Shubham, 05 Apr 2017Very bad mobile heating issueI used Vivo V5 since February 2017, so far no heat, the phone is warm only and I am OK with that.

GoPi, 26 Feb 2017Plz Funtouch 3.0 and nouget 7.1 update from Vivo v5 mobile ... moreFunTouch v3.0 had been accepted by my Vivo V5. Several days ago I checked for update and got new update software v3.1.7. After I update, my Vivo V5 came with serenity theme that appear like icon apps iPhone, the software version is v.3.1.7 and it's FunTouch v3.0 but Android version is still Android Marshmallow.

  • Shubham

Very bad mobile heating issue