Xiaomi Mi 6 review: Social climber

26 May 2017
Seven years in the making. That’s what Xiaomi says and you can feel the pride of a job well done. Is it arrogance? Maybe. And it may be surprising but not completely unfounded. A five-inch screen in a hot, curved metal-and-glass body. A dual camera with 2x optical zoom. A Snapdragon 835. The Xiaomi Mi 6 has many virtues and well… modesty isn’t one of them.

Sort by:

lmfao.."Big pixels"?? 0.1µm is 0.0001mm (that's the difference between 1.15µm and 1,25µm). In other words, more marketing garbage

  • Anonymous

This could be a very good music-lovers phone for headphones-usage. Amazing audio quality from the audio chip, this is how it should always be on every single phone out there. :)

  • AnonD-442781

AnonD-368020, 27 May 2017Now I want to ask only one question : if one plus 3T and Mi6 are... moreIf you don't care about the metal back the OP3T has, and you're willing to go without a headphone jack, then go with the Mi 6. Better performance, similar battery life, better design. Better software support. Slightly better camera.

The other thing is the ui, Oneplus is simpler and closer to stock. Mi6 has more features/gimmicks. Comes down to preference really.

  • Consumer

Why SAR radiation values are not considered worth to be mentioned in the reviews of the phones?
What ar the Sar values of redmi 6 phone ?

  • AnonD-368020

Surprisingly One plus 5 may get launched in India earlier than Mi 6.

  • AnonD-368020

Now I want to ask only one question : if one plus 3T and Mi6 are at same price which one should I Buy???

  • LLL

AnonD-523334, 27 May 2017Xiaomi won me again. just confused between U11 or Mi6. Weather t... moreMicroSD slot in favor of U11.
And of course the headline squeeze feature.

  • AnonD-523334

Best frequency response ever! Second best sunlight legibility for any LCD panel and third best after S8 and i7. second best battery life of current 2017 flagships after S8

  • AnonD-523334

Only shortcoming author mentioned in the "final words" is 1080p resolution, which is actually a good thing for me,because it not only increases battery life and gaming frame rates, it also decreases the amount of RAM occupied by apps and system.

  • AnonD-523334

Kiki, 27 May 2017Htc u11 is more expensiveThanks buy already mentioned in Mi6 list. just listing pros

  • Anonymous

Nick.B, 27 May 2017One is for sure - samsung is paying a lot of reviewers and magaz... moreMy Galaxy note 5, S7 and S8 shoots much better than lg v20 and huawei p9 plus, review by me and not payed by Samsung.

See I can do the same to?

  • Anonymous

I can see a mixture of design from huawei honor8 and samsung, probably a bit apple, lol

Kaloyan, 27 May 2017That's hilarious, Samsung paying not to include Sony in a Xiaomi... moreOne is for sure - samsung is paying a lot of reviewers and magazines
my lg v20 and huawei p9 plus shoot much much better photos than galaxy note5, s7 and s8. Compared them side by side with my own eyes. Not payed samsung reviews.

  • Anonymous

why can't GSMA confirm the USB standard? Last year I bought an Mi5 & checked the transfer speeds using my Anker USB 3.0 OTG cable and my SanDisk Extreme flash drive. It doesn't go above 30MB/s. (If it goes beyond 40MB/s it must be a 3.0/3.1 connection)
If I get my hands on Mi6 I will try the same. How do you guys check it anyway?

  • AnonD-664474

Anonymous, 27 May 2017This phone has 72% ratio with a smaller screen (which is harder)... moreXZ Premium has 4K HDR display, please don't make me laugh of the statement that 1080p looks better.

It has dual front facing stereo speakers which will whack any single downward facing mono speakers everyday.

Xiaomi has buttons? Cool, Sony has virtual keys - which one is more future proof? Lol.

Fingerprint reader in such an absolutely ridiculous placement. Nothing's better than having the reader on the side of the phone.

Oh, and should I mention the far superior front camera of the XZ Premium? Nah it will add more insult to the injury of your Mi 6.

  • Anon

AnonD-660652, 26 May 2017Camera is awful. Slightly better than XZ premium. It competes w... moreCamera is definitely not as good as S7/S8 in low light.

But in good-light condition, I don't see the result as anywhere "awful".

If you wish to get a better picture at lower light, better get a DSLR camera to do the job.

  • Anon

Anonymous, 27 May 2017The markup cons is pretty subjective though. Blame greedy 3rd pa... moreUSB-C to 3.5mm jack converter is included in the box.

AnonD-523334, 27 May 2017Xiaomi won me again. just confused between U11 or Mi6. Weather t... moreI would go with Mi 6 if I were you, but will wait for MIUI 9 to come out before buying. I want to collect the product manager debts regarding camera software quality enhancements.

AnonD-298741, 27 May 2017in the audio test, how did you attached the external amplifier a... moreUSB Type-C to 3.5mm jack adapter is provided in the box.

  • AnonD-298741

in the audio test, how did you attached the external amplifier and earphones? i thought it has no 3.5mm jack? hmmmmmmm pls explain how u really tested