Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra review

07 February 2018
The Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra upgrades the mainstream XA2 with a huge screen and a whole bunch of selfie-taking goodies such as a high-end dual-selfie rig, OIS, autofocus, and a front-facing flash.

Sort by:

  • Mohsen

Akkediae, 23 May 2018My review of the phone is too long (https://www.reddit.com/r/Son... moreHW Means Hardware Performance ...

My review of the phone is too long (https://www.reddit.com/r/SonyXperia/comments/8l­­egzp/a_tough_decision_xa2_ultra_reviewed/) and I can't post in on GSMArena, but if you're worried about the display or performance: relax, nothing beats the XA2 Ultra for the money.

  • Nani

Hw is performance for this mobile plz tell me

  • Ashish

The world in best smart phone

Shui8, 09 Feb 2018While XA2 ultra win for battery, Honor View 10 win all other asp... moreIndeed both Honor 8 and XA2 ultra are the best in class. Honor has a very well balanced stock camera app, but using third parties for Sony camera module is the same or even better in quality. The fluency of overall speed in usage still slightly better for XA2 ultra. I've tested yesterday both. Depending on settings XA2 ultra does very good! I don't like its size but for sure everything is in place for a pleasant experience. XA2 ultra will sure have a good price cut in the weeks to come.

Robert, 15 Feb 2018If you still remember old screens used to have rounded corners s... moreYour phone has screen on back? I was talking about back design

  • Robert

LG superfan, 09 Feb 2018But still cant tell sony's new back design is shit and look like... moreIf you still remember old screens used to have rounded corners so which design looks old?

Ellio74, 08 Feb 2018Troll spotted! 2008 was still Sony Ericsson! BTW never ha... morelol, if only i was :-/

  • HP

AnonD-736301, 09 Feb 2018Thank you for such a great review. I xcl'd my preorder. If all t... moreFake News. You didn't even do a pre-order don't you? You should be ashamed of yourselves for speading lies and hatred.

  • AnonD-737291

Tann Hauser, 09 Feb 2018XA2 Ultra is 450, A8 is 500, A8+ which is the direct 6inch scree... moreHello Sir XA2 450 ok from which country

  • Anonymous

Looks like a bulky lumia 920/930

  • azii

When it will be launched in Saudi Arabia.
Waiting from long time....

AnonD-736719, 11 Feb 2018How much is the price at singapore right now?It will probably cost the same as the ones in Euro, their conversion is somewhat equivalent. For the GALAXY A8 2018, it costs about $800SGD, for the XPERIA XA2 ULTRA, I am still unsure, but in Europe the GALAXY A8 2018 costs €499, while the XPERIA XA2 ULTRA cost €449, and it is expected to cost the same in Singapore, hence XPERIA XA2 ULTRA is the cheaper one

  • AnonD-736719

xXENDER FREAKXx, 09 Feb 2018Based on the country. Over here in Singapore XPERIA XA2 ULTRA is... moreHow much is the price at singapore right now?

  • Anonymous

Thus a beaSt of mid Ranger Sony cell!

  • Anonymous

If they reduce the bezel and thickness, this would a good mid-range phone.

  • Anonymous

Sonyuser85, 08 Feb 2018Its camera true quality comes at 8-12 mp. 23 is mostly marketing... more23MP is better when you edit.
Of course when you crop, it is easier to see pixelation on high res photos.

You wont see noise at 3MP, 5MP or 8MP.

If other brands had 20MP or more , same would happen.

AnonD-731491, 09 Feb 2018I see perfectly, I use a 4k screen daily, my eyes are not punishedBut still cant tell sony's new back design is shit and look like something out of 2012

  • AnonD-736301

Thank you for such a great review. I xcl'd my preorder. If all they tout is the selfie set-up, and THEY CAN'T EVEN GET THAT RIGHT, I really wonder if Sony will ever make a phone worth buying AND keeping.

  • Anonymous

With their snappy performance and solid battery life, the Xperia XA2 and XA2 Ultra offer good value for their money, and despite the few minor issues here and there, I'd say that they'll satisfy users who want to get the most bang for their buck and don't want to spend a fortune on a new phone. Would I use any of these as a personal device? Yes, though I'd probably go for the XA2 as the larger XA2 Ultra doesn't really have enough exclusive features to win me over. If you're into selfies, however, the larger XA2 Ultra would be the one to go with.