Sony Xperia XZ2 review

14 March 2018
You don't really have to look any further than the new Xperia XZ2 and its little Compact sibling for proof that Sony is evolving even if slowly. The 2018 flagship is different in a number of ways, some of which more controversial than others.

Sort by:

AnonD-757531, 07 May 2018if I had ablity I must find the designer of this phone, and I mu... moreIf that will help you fulfill all your dreams I guess??
Such a stup*d thing to find the designer then slap him/her just for his/her creation that you didn't like, but I guess that's how you actually are in reality.

In any case, I'd like to find those people who created you and kick their a*ses for such a big mistake in this world.

  • AnonD-311835

Wlad, 17 Jul 2018The lack of 3.5mm connector is LITERALLY the only thing stopped ... moreCome on! its not that much big of a deal, you could use dongle adapter anyway...

  • Anonymous

Supersnake, 20 Jul 2018It is unfortunately an established fact that T-Mobile, and possi... moreVery good points, mate.

  • Goutam

HelloI , I have a ZTEMAVEN3 handset. Now I want to use this phone in INDIA. But when I insert the sim and stitch on the phone.
Would like to tell me what is the SIM network unlock PIN ? BECAUSE Now I am ln INDIA . I don't know what is the code. please help me to use my mobile ser.

It is unfortunately an established fact that T-Mobile, and possibly other United States carriers, are disallowing VoLTE connections when using the latest Sony phones. 4G LTE data connections go through on applicable bands, but as soon as one makes a phone call the connection will drop to 3G or an equivalent lowered quality call connection.

It is unfortunate that no internet review, covering any cell phone, has ever pointed out whether-or-not VoLTE calls are going through on a USA carrier using the device being reviewed.

No VolTE on Sony XZ2 References:
XDA-Developers Forum
https://forum.xda-developers.com/xperia-xz2/help­/volte-vowifi-settings-t3777579

[H]ardForum
https://hardforum.com/threads/sony-xperia-xz2.19­63744/#post-1043716261


  • Wlad

The lack of 3.5mm connector is LITERALLY the only thing stopped me for getting this one.

Anonymous, 16 Jul 2018Sony behind in Copy iphone from beginning, Still use quick cha... moreGsmarena has review the XZ2 why don't you have a look on the spec? Does Xiaomi come with Qnovo adaptive charging technology? No, so you can get the faster battery degradation that's it.

  • Anonymous

3D Memorys, 25 Mar 2018Sony adopt Qnovo battery charging technology before Samsung Note... moreSony behind in
Copy iphone from beginning,
Still use quick charge 2, even xiomi QC 3,
Made fireworks phone for twice,
Japan still leading from korea

  • Little help

I have dual sim xz2 and me to have struggle with volte calls, well i found out that going to settings/wifi and networks/dual sim/cellular data press on it and select not preffered sim card and then select again your prefered 4g sim it makes a phone to eject and insert sims without restart.. So it gets back to volte :)

I live in the USA and bought an unlocked Xperia XZ2 a couple of months ago and returned it for refund after seeing that it was not making VoLTE calls. Have yet to see any internet review on any phone mention VoLTE capability.

  • AnonD-752589

I purchased it and returned it the same day because it would not make Voice calls over LTE.
Unfortunate that there was no VoLTE call connections in USA with this phone.

  • Trickii

Its a deal breaker if it cannot take LTE calling......will the unlocked versions support LTE calling ?

  • eselemeketehe

great job sony .. xz2 is awesome

  • NN

Still Ugly Desain. Shame for Sony

  • Anonymous

I think I understand why people say that Sony Xperia cameras are bad, I personally hate the "Superior Auto" the Auto setting is actually so bad, but the manual is such a blessing.

So I think that GSM arena has a point saying that Xperia's cameras are "Not on par" with the others in the "Auto" setting, but the manual is beautiful.
The S8's auto function so much more superior than Xperia's.
The manual is 50/50 (About the same)

Opinions coming from a proud XZ and S8 Owner.
(Bought XZ myself, a friend got an iPhone X so I bought the S8 for a really good price)

Hope this allows others to consider my theory / opinion

  • Cali

Shud bees a five star ***** for thus Sony flagship.

  • JJ

alvinzm, 03 Jun 2018XZ2, of course. Better camera, better software and support, f... moreLow grade is Not even close to SONY tech! Hehehe

Funky_D, 14 May 2018Good day, LG V30 or XZ2... wich one you recommend ? Thanks, XZ2, of course.

Better camera, better software and support, faster, better battery.

  • Anonymous

Funky_D, 14 May 2018Good day, LG V30 or XZ2... wich one you recommend ? Thanks, LG V30.