LG V30 ThinQ long-term review

30 April 2018
AI is the definitive buzzword of 2018, don't you ThinQ? LG certainly does, so it's jumped on the hype train and created its own AI-focused brand, then slapped it onto what is basically last year's V30 with more RAM and storage - and some brand new AI features of course.

Sort by:

  • Jay

ifeabc, 13 Jan 2021Created an account just to rate this phone. Bought it like.... moreI agree. Same situation as I had with the phone. Very nice.

Created an account just to rate this phone. Bought it like... 1-2 years ago. Such a great phone! I've had a Unicorn Beetle case for it, dropped it a few times, but it has remained in super condition. Great battery still, everything working as smooth as when I got it. Love the FM radio, especially when I've been in other countries, listening to their radio. Durable and reliable!
Previously I've only had: A Nokia 3210, some other phones, a few Samsung Galaxies. S5? S6? S7? Another great phone from... Nokia maybe, with FM, but it got stolen. And this.

Edit: Somebody asked for a sound review? I'm actually a musician, but still don't really care about hifi stuff. The sound is strong/pregnant enough to be heard, but I mostly connect it to bluetooth headphones. Works great. Also never had any issues with calling, using speaker, etc. The phone has some built in hifi thing (when attaching physical headphones). I've used it a couple of times. There is a noticable difference, but I haven't investigated it that much. I'm sure it's hifi!!

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 01 Jul 2019Is anyone having a display issue with this phone? It is hor... moreIt is like some pple are paid jst to talk negative abt lg

  • yesyes

Anonymous, 01 Jul 2019Is anyone having a display issue with this phone? It is hor... moreI had never issues like that with my V30, the screen i beautiful and I have adjusted my colors to match the srgb/adobe egb profile, go to screen color, pick custom and tone down the blue color all the way down

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 01 Jul 2019Is anyone having a display issue with this phone? It is hor... moreMine is indistinguishable from samsung s10+ here. Awesome experience with movies.

  • Anonymous

Is anyone having a display issue with this phone? It is horrible. Even watching videos on youtube is not enjoyable. A very washed out display

  • guni45

AnonD-476622, 02 May 2018Despite their decent hardware, LG keep their phones locked,... moreHonestly, while i do understand it may be an issue for some, the vast majority of consumers will not care about unlocking the phone and flashing custom roms, like someone smarter than me said: "ain't nobody got time for that".
The only time i needed\wanted to flash custom rom is when i encountered fundamental issues like battery drain and such with past phones iv'e owned, but at the moment i see no need to unlock\flash my V30, it has just been almost flawless for me (except for the P-OLED issue at low brightness which cannot be fixed via software solution)

I'm disappointed this review hasn't covered more of the audio capabilities of this device

  • BarraCuda

YalokIy, 07 May 2018Your suggestion of other models sounds off-topic. What do y... moreI just went ahead and got the G7. Just wait for the V40...possibly debuts w/ 5 cameras

  • Jack

AnonD-737474, 08 May 2018Can someone confirm the V30s ThinQ will have a working FM r... moreYes

  • AnonD-737474

Can someone confirm the V30s ThinQ will have a working FM radio?

Buxz777 , 07 May 2018I know... That's why I'm saying just buy the lgv30 128gb fo... moreYour suggestion of other models sounds off-topic. What do you have to say about V30S?
Do you think people will buy V30S with SD835 for the same price as G7 with SD845?

  • Buxz777

YalokIy, 02 May 2018You are confusing V30 with V30S. V30S has a much higher pri... moreI know... That's why I'm saying just buy the lgv30 128gb for 480 pounds instead of the new version if the price is to high

If 480 pounds is to much... You can buy the g6+ online for less than 400 pounds

Now you can also buy the G7 with latest cpu and gpu for more

LG have all the bases covered for me

  • AnonD-131667

nice comment bro.
i think you really should rethink how you rate a phone.
The lg v30 and g6 are really well build and performing phones.
(v30 from experience).
That the software isn't really updated well (yet) doesn't take away from a really good phone.

The v30 has 8.0 now so I can't complain but even if it would still be on 7 I would only be hoping for 8.0.
Mainly because the phone just runs great without any issues.

  • Nick

It would be interesting to see Oneplus 5 long term review.
It is clise to stock, maybe it helps OP to be fliud

  • AnonD-476622

Despite their decent hardware, LG keep their phones locked, which is a definite no no, many people who buy Android phones want the flexibility that unlocked bootloaders bring, I had the G6, loved the hardware, but got rid of it within a month cos I couldn't unlock it, so it limited me, when all other big brands don't. So LG need to realise that 'blocking' consumers in a market where the competition does not, is not the way to go!!

Buxz777 , 02 May 2018It depends... I can buy the lgv30 128gb version for less th... moreYou are confusing V30 with V30S. V30S has a much higher price, but basically the same specs (+2GB RAM?).

  • Buxz777

YalokIy, 01 May 2018Tomorrow g7 will be announced. Same dimensions but with SD8... moreIt depends... I can buy the lgv30 128gb version for less than 500 pounds online from wonda mobile.... That's a great price for s835... Dual cameras... Decent camera output.... The best headphone output in a mobile device.... Android oreo... Great screen... Awesome battery life... Waterproof design... Military grade materials and protection... Micro sd support... Best video recording experience with high quality mics and slog profiles

If the g7 doesn't offer more and is more expensive then of course people will buy the lgv30, it's still a great phone with the best audio quality playback you can buy

  • Anonymous

YalokIy, 01 May 2018Tomorrow g7 will be announced. Same dimensions but with SD8... moreThose who has notch-phobia....

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 01 May 2018Since the V30S ships with Android 8.0, does that mean it's ... moreEvery phone released with Oreo has to support treble