Samsung Galaxy S9+ long-term review

25 June 2018
To find out how easy or frustrating it is to live with the Galaxy S9+, we used it as our one and only smartphone for an extended period of time and we are ready with the verdict. Once we go past the superficial aspects (such as looks), there are a lot of new things crammed into this glass and metal package, which are worth talking about. So join us over the next pages as we take a look at what makes Samsung's latest flagship tick, where it delivers more than we expected, and where it falls short.

Sort by:

  • R
  • Ricl
  • DxV
  • 17 Jun 2024

Bhills Clinton, 29 Apr 2024Please is it a good recommendation to go in for s9+ this 2024?No, it is quite slow nowadays and software updates and security updates have already stopped for this phone. I recommend something that will support future OS Updates. Plus, Exynos. My S9 Plus drains a lot of battery. Best of luck.

    • B
    • Bhills Clinton
    • CG1
    • 29 Apr 2024

    robdevil XI, 28 Jun 2018And much slower.Please is it a good recommendation to go in for s9+ this 2024?

      • E
      • Edwards Zummie
      • r3H
      • 20 Nov 2023

      My Galaxy S9+, is still super Durable and attractive even after 5years of working ( 2018 device) Nice device recommended *Today 20-11-2023. Long term Review Indeed.

        • H
        • Halzy
        • Nu6
        • 08 Apr 2023

        ...AHR..., 16 Jul 2020Hi Can this phone capture under water? :)U can also capture beneath the earth

          • H
          • Halzy
          • Nu6
          • 08 Apr 2023

          Anonymous, 16 Oct 2022I have lost the on off button on the top of right side of m... moreTry using cup as the internal storage

            • C
            • Crimson
            • GWZ
            • 02 Nov 2022

            Anonymous, 16 Oct 2022I have lost the on off button on the top of right side of m... moreThe phone will wake up with various activities - plugging in with charger or headphone, face/fingerprint unlock, wake when fliped/moved if enabled in Settings, activate Bixby button, etc.. Once you get the phone on, go into Settings to enable additional wake activities to give yourself more options.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • ter
              • 16 Oct 2022

              Gozie, 24 Nov 2021Since motor mach my S9+the Phone can not power again.even t... moreI have lost the on off button on the top of right side of my S9. Now I cant switch the phone on.
              What should I do????

                • C
                • Cleaincer
                • r39
                • 26 Mar 2022

                dowe, 30 Jul 2021i have s9+ and im loving it until now... 3yrs in my hand bu... moreSorry

                  • G
                  • Gozie
                  • Nu6
                  • 24 Nov 2021

                  Since motor mach my S9+the Phone can not power again.even to get where to repair it is very hard for me.please what can I do to repair it.

                    • M
                    • Moe
                    • apV
                    • 01 Aug 2021

                    dowe, 30 Jul 2021i have s9+ and im loving it until now... 3yrs in my hand bu... moreI had the same issue but after using my phone under water! Despite it is mentioned that the phone is IP68 and that it can work under water for a max depth of 1.5 meters for up 30 min.. i was taking a video under 50 cm for a couple of mins .. then after I went home I found the phobe totally black.. screen gone.. i kept it open from SIM card side 4 days in rice pack till it worked again .. but it is now blurry.

                      • d
                      • dowe
                      • KgZ
                      • 30 Jul 2021

                      i have s9+ and im loving it until now... 3yrs in my hand but now my s9+ became blurred for no reason... i just found out that after i came home from school i check my phone and then hoollaaa... it just goes that way... and i cant believe it... i dont even want to buy a new one or a new brand because of my files... sadded...

                        • D
                        • Disha thaker
                        • XSq
                        • 23 Mar 2021

                        Mobile is giving the issue of pixelated in this series and also I have found green screen issue while My mobile has no any damage or anything and so many users having same issue and samsung doing nothing in response. At the end you will have to sell mobile at low price.

                          Shouvik, 23 Nov 2020I am one of the people who had pre-ordered one in March 201... moreYAa

                            • S
                            • Shouvik
                            • gnx
                            • 23 Nov 2020

                            Min, 15 May 2020Im using s9plus for around 5 month bow , i brought the s9 a... moreI am one of the people who had pre-ordered one in March 2018. The 6GB+256GB version...
                            ...and I am still loving it. The performance is soooo good that I would not want to change/replace it for another 2-3 yrs

                              • I
                              • Ivanescu2528
                              • nDx
                              • 23 Aug 2020

                              Yeah it s a good phone but the thing is that it s already 2 years old and won t get android 11(oneui3) and it still handles games like cod or fortnite quite good.Second hand at 300 bucks i can t recomand you to buy because you can buy some good New phones at 300 dollars. Yeah, The hdr is better than on galaxy a70 but that s the only advantage it gives in 2020. Plus,it s battery it s s all compare to xiaomi redmi note 9 pro(5020 mau) and it gets fast charging on only 15 e while other phones at this buget have 30 or 40 w

                                • S
                                • Shankar
                                • 7t{
                                • 20 Aug 2020

                                Best in class display even in today's midrange mobiles, best for media purpose and par in camera performance to today's midrange android mobiles. If you need to play FPS based games then this is not the mobile for you in longterm usage

                                  • A
                                  • AHR
                                  • Lu%
                                  • 22 Jul 2020

                                  MikeSA7, 21 Jul 2020Yes it definitely can! I've recorded some outstanding ... moreOh wow
                                  Thank´s Mike

                                    ...AHR..., 16 Jul 2020Hi Can this phone capture under water? :)Yes it definitely can! I've recorded some outstanding underwater videos with my s9+ :)

                                      A.P Dash, 24 May 2020Is it value for money to purchase Galaxy S9 Plus in 2020 ??Yes it sure is. The display is still one of the best ones on the market, performance is also amazing. It runs 3D games very well, you will hardly see any lag or issues. Cameras are decent but not the best. Software is up to date. The only thing bad on it is the battery life especially if u buy the samsung s9 (the phone i'm currently using) so i advise you to go for the plus model

                                        • .
                                        • ...AHR...
                                        • Lu%
                                        • 17 Jul 2020

                                        A.P Dash, 24 May 2020Is it value for money to purchase Galaxy S9 Plus in 2020 ??Yes, definitely!!!