Xiaomi Mi 8 SE review

25 July 2018
The Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer edition clearly and quite justifiably soaked up all the spotlight within Xiaomi's latest flagship lineup. However, as the smoke clears, the value Mi 8 SE is the one gathering fan gazes, left and right. Indeed, on paper, it offers quite the package, without breaking the bank. In some ways, it's almost too good to be true.

Sort by:

  • yeet

Noice

  • zte7_170000_antutu

Who cares about the radio? Download from G.S . Infrared ? I think OIS are more important. And front facing stereo speakers, with Dolby Atmos. My (2016) ZTE axon beat the MI 8, still.

  • zeRONY

YoloBS, 06 Aug 2018Is this phone have multi colour led notification or just wh... moreJust white one..

  • Nick name

LG Superfan, 27 Jul 2018Does the notch cover movies when unhidden?No, my man

  • Anonymous

SD 710 cpu performing very near to Kirin 970. It falls short only in GPU.

  • YoloBS

Is this phone have multi colour led notification or just white one?

  • Anonymous

DavidJacobs, 01 Aug 2018Q: it is not stated explicitly so I have to ask: the "type-... morewell yeah

  • DavidJacobs

Q: it is not stated explicitly so I have to ask: the "type-C to 3.5mm dongle" effectively provides you with a 3.5mm ear/headphone jack, yes?

  • SixTymes

AnonD-755477, 26 Jul 2018omg..no slot mmc..very importan to have slot mmc..sad flagshipits not flagship

Jack Wolfskin, 30 Jul 2018It's 2018 bro wake up! You either gotta use the 3.5 mm adap... moreYou seem to be forgetting option #3. Choose a phone that has a 3.5mm jack and you are all set ! Removing the 3.5mm jack is merely crippling the phone. There is really not much benefit from removing the jack. Compare the Mi8 to the ASUS Zenfone 5z. The Zenfone has the 3.5mm jack and it doesn't suffer any disadvantage over the Mi8 which lacks the 3.5 jack.

I stopped using macbooks since they demanded I use dongles and adapters for everything ! I put my money where my mouth is and switched to Windows laptops to avoid that scenario.

Yes I like the Mi8 SE but no thank you Xiaomi I will spend my money elsewhere. :)

  • Sahadeb

Please xiaomi, atleast launch one varient of this phone. You are making us waiting extremely long.

The era of FM radio, headphone jack and infrared are gone

  • Jack Wolfskin

BrendonF, 30 Jul 2018Adapters are a crappy solution at best. And God forbid you ... moreIt's 2018 bro wake up! You either gotta use the 3.5 mm adapter to use your earphones or switch to bluetooth headphones. It's that simple.

  • Ben w

BrendonF, 30 Jul 2018Adapters are a crappy solution at best. And God forbid you ... moreI agree. I bought mate 10 pro and not having 3.5mm jack Is very inconvenient. I will not buy another phone without it.

Anonymous, 28 Jul 2018If only they were selling adapters for music lovers like yo... moreAdapters are a crappy solution at best. And God forbid you want to charge your device and listen to music at the same time. One thing we can do is avoid phones which lack this feature we want. Simple as that. Don't support these manufacturers who want to remove something as basic as a 3.5mm jack which supports millions of earphones.

  • rashed

when will be released global version

  • Andrei

Where are the stars given for the phone? I liked seeing that rating

  • Jack Wolfskin

Sharp, 29 Jul 2018Hi GSMArena. I have no idea what is going on, but your ima... moreHey there! When taking portrait shots on Mi8 SE, the object that you are taking the photo of gotta be still for about 1-2 seconds. It's a kind of a software issue which can be fixed in next updates.

  • Sharp

Hi GSMArena.
I have no idea what is going on, but your images look pretty good in this test. My wife bought this phone couple of weeks ago, and camera does terrible images, especially when a person is in focus. I have reported that to honorbuy after sale, and their technician says that image I sent to them look normal.
She is disappointed because we take pictures of our kid every day.

  • Ben

Should I get Honor V10 or Mi 8 SE, really hard choice and the difference in design is quite big too