Samsung Galaxy Note9 review

20 August 2018
How time has passed - we're at nine now. Seven years after the original, the Samsung Galaxy Note9 stands before us. The numbers don't add up, no, because Samsung chose to skip the 6, and it didn't really quite work out splendidly with the Note7. But that's all in the past and we're looking ahead.

Sort by:

  • Alboooz

On the video preview she mention something about FM-Radio as it's missing?!
Well, I'm sorry to disappoint you my lady, but the Note9 Exynus have FM-Radio and the DVB-TV built in Exynos, it just have to be activated and installed the software for it to work, and it works excellent, but the DVB-TV i'm unable to test it sens i'm living in a country that doesn't own such technology broadcast signals.

  • note9 fan

Sella, 23 Dec 2020pls help I'm tinking of buy Samsung note 9 but you guy... moreBuy It, its great phone!

SpeedBro, 22 Sep 2020at 40% price cheaper of BNIB Galaxy Note9, you'll get... moreDex works wirelessly on the Note 9 (on latest firmware). And the processor is Exynos 9810 or Snapdragon 845 depending on where you get the phone from.

Please i want to know if The Samsung Galaxy Note 9 develops any fault after some months or years of heavy usage, Also does it develop Amoled Burn in issues?...

  • Sella

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.you are using dey fake one bro

Sella, 23 Dec 2020pls help I'm tinking of buy Samsung note 9 but you guy... moreIt is a great phone but not good for demanding games. If you are not a serious gamer, it will be great! It manages normal games perfectly but not Fortnite etc.

  • Sella

Solun1, 14 Sep 2020No, everything works well for me. As someone already said, ... morepls help I'm tinking of buy Samsung note 9 but you guys are discouraging

  • Jala jaku

This phone is very nice and smart

at 40% price cheaper of BNIB Galaxy Note9, you'll get:
- the same amount of RAM ( 8GB )
- Bigger internal Storage ( 512 GB )
- get the latest Samsung Notes features just as Note20 series
- Iris Scanner for your security (note 10 /20 dont have this)
- Same Resolution of main camera (12mp) dualpixel AF
- Dex Features by using HDMI cable

Trade off features:
- optical zoom 2x vs 5x
- digital zoom 10x vs 50x
- main processor (exynos 8210 vs exynos990)
- Dex (cable vs wireless)

The different of processor is not that much if you use for daily driver.. for video editting, drawing, etc.. eventhough play COD mobile still playable on High Res FHD.

About Dex, honestly i prefer cable than wireless. It's more stable in term of data transfer.. cmiiw

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.No, everything works well for me. As someone already said, back-up and do a factory reset, that could help. If not, your battery might be damaged.

  • Abrar

Fruits, 13 Aug 2020But wouldn't it go back to the original stuff If you are thinking that it till go back to previous update then NO.

After OS upgrade if you reset then it says on the latest patch or update. Like 2.1

Still the best Note out there!
Price/perf.. great. And can be still had as a new.
Goes great, with the latest OS updates we got the pro camera features back.
Don't understand why somebody complains of frequent updates, this is actually a big plus.
Battery life still pretty much the same as new.. will see how it lasts (charging to 85% most of time).
Also IME - Samsung flip cases are the way to protect the phone and these can be had as a bargain now.
Alternatives? N10+ not really much different.. side by side.. N20 seems like big downgrade, the Ultra way overpriced.
We will see..

  • Fruits

Abrar, 10 Aug 2020Better to factory reset the phone after a major upgrade. But wouldn't it go back to the original stuff

  • Abrar

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.Better to factory reset the phone after a major upgrade.

  • Lolz71

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.not anymore after update OneUI 2.1

  • Anonymous

Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem?
Heats up.

Well - Note 9, where do i start. My first Samsung was the Galaxy 6 then progressed to the Note 5 which has been the best phone I ever had. I was excited when the Note 9 came out and purchased in November 2018. I did have concerns about the lenght and how it would fit in my hand but went ahead with purchase anyway. Big, gigantic mistake!! I did not consider the weight of the phone which I found heavy, combined with the length did not go well with my use. Within the first week or two I had dropped it several times. I did not become accustomed to the weight for a long time and consequently have cracked the top and bottom corners of the screen after approx 6 mths use.
The second complaint I have is the continual updating. Each time it requests an update my setting are completely removed and one of the most frustrating things is the pop up text message box which cannot be removed unless you open it - so annoying. The same with the Camera - I like to take photos at dawn and at one point the "live" feature was perfect, after this last update - F'd if I know but I cannot redo the "live" feature and Im stuck with teh Camera using lighting for shot - which completing ruins the naturalness of what I am trying to acheive. Consequently I no longer take any shots

I have always relied on Samsung for the relative ease of adjusting the settings - Not the on the note 9. 18mths later and I still cannot navigate my way through the settings after an update to easily put the settings back to how they were before.
I never wanted an iphone because I found the OS complexed. After having this horrid phone I would change over to Iphone in a heartbeat.

Samsung has lost a loyal customer and i'm so pissed at the price I paid for this phone which I do not think is at all worth it.

One other thing - even making notes/reminders etc using the Spen and app is a nightmare. I do not like one single thing about this phone and find nothing postive to say about it at all

  • DOV989

Still a beast of a phone in April 2020 - buying refurbed Note 9 for only 300 uk pounds as a slight upgrade to an 18 month old S9. Want to get off contract and still have a decent phone for next few years. Linus from LTT still using Note 9 as daily 'driver' phone and I'm guessing he could have anything out there - that's what sold me. Don't want to lose 3.5mm jack and the hole punch ruins a perfectly good screen - no thanks to notches and hole punch cameras. All Samsung phones seem to last for years, son still using 4yr old S7 and brother uses 6yr old S5. Buying a flagship even second hand can be the sensible choice

  • Starlifedz

Mr.RANE, 26 Feb 2020Galaxy note 9 or Galaxy A71 which one is good ? (For a norm... moreNote9

  • Anonymous

Mr.RANE, 26 Feb 2020Galaxy note 9 or Galaxy A71 which one is good ? (For a norm... moreObviously note... Ar u kidding... Comparing with note 9