Samsung Galaxy Note9 review

20 August 2018
How time has passed - we're at nine now. Seven years after the original, the Samsung Galaxy Note9 stands before us. The numbers don't add up, no, because Samsung chose to skip the 6, and it didn't really quite work out splendidly with the Note7. But that's all in the past and we're looking ahead.

Sort by:

  • Rems

Mine is not fast charging now, tried several fast charging cables and brick but it is still not working. Done all the troubleshooting I've read online. I guess I have no choice but to let someone on the service center open it and replace the charging port and battery...

  • Jan

Just though I would give an update after reading the reviews for the S21Ultra and Note20Ultra.
I have had my Note 9 for 2.5 years now. Still no issues. Very happy with speeds, camera battery life etc. Yes battery life is still fine. I'm always on my phone as I am a trader. Even if I charge it 2 times a day. Battery is still fine and last long. On a weekend when I don't use my phone battery still last more then 24 hours. No point upgrading and spending a ton of money on a Note 20 or S21 when there is nothing wrong with the Note 9. 6GB memory and 128 internal storage is more than enough.

  • BLACKGOLD

When i read some of these comments i wonder if we are talking about the same Note 9...this phone is dope! beast of a phone, an ifriend anyone could ever ask for. Since i got it up till now, it is serving me well and been an IT freak, it has measured up. I like it....

  • Raman

Hi, when can samsung officially update note 9 to one ui3.0? Does anyone tried rooting the device to this new update if so please share me the link for downloading. Thanks in advance

  • Michael

Well, mine is Exynos version and I don't know about snapdragon. Let me give my honest review. The phone tends to get laggy and slow, especially when I take the S-pen for taking notes when the screen is off. I have to wait for a few seconds until I can actually write the note down. Some Apps opening time is significantly becoming laggy frequently, which disappoints me and hurts my productivity. The animations do not become smooth and fast like before. The battery drains noticeably fast especially when I turn on Always-on-Display mode but with that mode off, I can save one-day battery easily. However, my friend's oneplus 6T which was bought almost at the same time as me is still fast and smooth even in 2021. From my experience, samsung devices are not reliable enough for a long time and my next device would definitely go to oneplus or apple. I lose my trust in Samsung.

  • Alboooz

On the video preview she mention something about FM-Radio as it's missing?!
Well, I'm sorry to disappoint you my lady, but the Note9 Exynus have FM-Radio and the DVB-TV built in Exynos, it just have to be activated and installed the software for it to work, and it works excellent, but the DVB-TV i'm unable to test it sens i'm living in a country that doesn't own such technology broadcast signals.

  • note9 fan

Sella, 23 Dec 2020pls help I'm tinking of buy Samsung note 9 but you guy... moreBuy It, its great phone!

SpeedBro, 22 Sep 2020at 40% price cheaper of BNIB Galaxy Note9, you'll get... moreDex works wirelessly on the Note 9 (on latest firmware). And the processor is Exynos 9810 or Snapdragon 845 depending on where you get the phone from.

Please i want to know if The Samsung Galaxy Note 9 develops any fault after some months or years of heavy usage, Also does it develop Amoled Burn in issues?...

  • Sella

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.you are using dey fake one bro

Sella, 23 Dec 2020pls help I'm tinking of buy Samsung note 9 but you guy... moreIt is a great phone but not good for demanding games. If you are not a serious gamer, it will be great! It manages normal games perfectly but not Fortnite etc.

  • Sella

Solun1, 14 Sep 2020No, everything works well for me. As someone already said, ... morepls help I'm tinking of buy Samsung note 9 but you guys are discouraging

  • Jala jaku

This phone is very nice and smart

at 40% price cheaper of BNIB Galaxy Note9, you'll get:
- the same amount of RAM ( 8GB )
- Bigger internal Storage ( 512 GB )
- get the latest Samsung Notes features just as Note20 series
- Iris Scanner for your security (note 10 /20 dont have this)
- Same Resolution of main camera (12mp) dualpixel AF
- Dex Features by using HDMI cable

Trade off features:
- optical zoom 2x vs 5x
- digital zoom 10x vs 50x
- main processor (exynos 8210 vs exynos990)
- Dex (cable vs wireless)

The different of processor is not that much if you use for daily driver.. for video editting, drawing, etc.. eventhough play COD mobile still playable on High Res FHD.

About Dex, honestly i prefer cable than wireless. It's more stable in term of data transfer.. cmiiw

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.No, everything works well for me. As someone already said, back-up and do a factory reset, that could help. If not, your battery might be damaged.

  • Abrar

Fruits, 13 Aug 2020But wouldn't it go back to the original stuff If you are thinking that it till go back to previous update then NO.

After OS upgrade if you reset then it says on the latest patch or update. Like 2.1

Still the best Note out there!
Price/perf.. great. And can be still had as a new.
Goes great, with the latest OS updates we got the pro camera features back.
Don't understand why somebody complains of frequent updates, this is actually a big plus.
Battery life still pretty much the same as new.. will see how it lasts (charging to 85% most of time).
Also IME - Samsung flip cases are the way to protect the phone and these can be had as a bargain now.
Alternatives? N10+ not really much different.. side by side.. N20 seems like big downgrade, the Ultra way overpriced.
We will see..

  • Fruits

Abrar, 10 Aug 2020Better to factory reset the phone after a major upgrade. But wouldn't it go back to the original stuff

  • Abrar

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.Better to factory reset the phone after a major upgrade.

  • Lolz71

Anonymous, 08 Jun 2020Battery drains fast. Is anyone facing the problem? Heats up.not anymore after update OneUI 2.1