Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium review

27 August 2018
The third-gen Premium comes with Sony's first dual camera, a larger 5.8-inch display that is still 4K, and a due upgrade in the internals, all in a chunky package. Let's see if the Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium is worthy of its name.

Sort by:

Doesn't seem to be a strong case for this over the regular XZ2 which is much cheaper

  • Zteam

@GsmArena Please extend this test with some lowlight videos too, and insert some comparisions of other flagships.

No raw?

  • Numero13

[deleted post]Xperia XZ1 Compact say hello

Anonymous, 27 Aug 2018"Our 'special' reviewers' bundle didn't have a headset included,... moreI think that at least they saved the party by not NOTCHING the phone.

You can complain about whatever you want but you gotta admit that this is one of the very rares genuine design that remain out there, and it will survive the Notch Apocalypse.

But yes, no OIS on a nearly 1000$ device and a so-called 4K screen that run 1080P 90% of the time.

And considering how THICK it is, that 3.5mm jack should be here.

Wtf Sony ?

  • Reasonvoice

Anonymous, 27 Aug 2018"Our 'special' reviewers' bundle didn't have a headset included,... moreBecause those ultra high ratings in water/dust resistance ! It's simple, when you really want to see ...

Whackcar, 27 Aug 2018I get your point, but the way they've written it makes it seem l... moreThere is a lot to hate on this phone, but also, quite a bunch to love

  • Anonymous

Mi7even, 27 Aug 2018Noisy camera pictures ... how come the company that makes most ... moreBecause those using their sensors are post processing to taste.

That's why you get oil painting complaints on some devices - they're removing the noise too aggressively.

  • SONYPONY

SONY Huge fail in following departments

1. Display:Sony Xperia having terrible cheap IPS Display ( Samsung World Leaders in display technology)

2.Design : Sony is Awful stuck in 2014 Design very poor no innovation ( Again Samsung World Leader in Design, Ex., Note 9 beautiful phone in the universe as of September 2018)

3. Battery: LUL Awful again check One plus smaller battery than this XZ2 still better battery Endurance than SONY XZ2


4. UI : Sony has ugly UI, mixing Material design with SONY mirror metal design...(Oxygen OS the best design)

5. Camera is Mega LUL on Sony, I am sorry don't even get me started I am laughing, for a company that makes great SLR and DSLR, their Mobile cameras photos are downright Mockery

6. With All these flaws you are charging 1000$ ( even 1300$ in some written and Asian countries)for 64 GB is a slap in the face of customer.

You simply can't defend SONY, their saving face is only PlayStation!!! Mobile Department is a sinking ship ....

  • Anonymous

Mi7even, 27 Aug 2018Noisy camera pictures ... how come the company that makes most ... moreNoise is result of less noise reduction.
Noise can be erased by edition.
Strong noise reduction that makes things soft is much worse.

If you use RAW option on phones that allow , you will see tons of noise.

How can they fail fitting a headphone jack on a phone that's nearly as massive as a classic 7" tablet? o.O
Considering my mobile provider was a #%£$ (Three Mobile - We Hate Dealing With Our Customers) and refused to be a few hours flexible on my upgrade plan and allow me to avail for the pre-orders on the Note 9 I'm now casually looking for alternatives again. This is definitely not one. Bye bye, Sony! I would have said you had a good run but to be honest I can't remember one good Sony phone...
Let's see what that new Mate will offer next week...

Noisy camera pictures ... how come the company that makes most of the camera sensors fail that much within it's own product's camera? details are great but noise level is high too , they should find a work around to make that noise less without affecting the fine details much , hope to see big improvement in XZ3's line ..

  • Mumbai-Indians

Wow those bezels are too huge for Year 2018.
After checking out photo comparison found my almost Year old Mi Mix2 takes batter photos than XZ2 Premium.
And why Angie is not their in selfie section..

stoopie, 27 Aug 2018you don't have to say "18:9 display is not equal in size to 16:9... moreI get your point, but the way they've written it makes it seem like 16:9 displays are inferior to 18:9 displays (which they aren't, i don't wanna debate it either)...

Personally I'm not really a Sony guy (you'll find me favoring Huawei on many articles), but I think Sony gets a lot of hate for petty reasons. I for one like the new approach Sony has went with...

  • Tee

Apart from the good camera, what else does this phone offer?
- Awkward and ugly design with front bezels circa 2014
- Terrible battery life, way below average
- Even with SD845, it throttles and gets warm
- Worst fingerprint position

I owned the Z3 and Z3 Compact and they were great phones, apparently the last of the breed.

Whackcar, 27 Aug 2018In the Design section the reviewer has wrote that a 18:9 5.8 inc... moreyou don't have to say "18:9 display is not equal in size to 16:9 display" in order to make correct conclusion that "18:9 5,8 display is more slender than 16:9 5,8 display", scientifically speaking

  • Anonymous

Would have been nice if Gsmarena showed more RGB vs RGB+monochrome low-light samples like in the Hands On review of the prototype.

  • Anonymous

The camera did catch up, but at the price of adding loads of noise.

In the Design section the reviewer has wrote that a 18:9 5.8 inch panel such as the S9 is much slender than the 16:9 5.8 inch panel on the XZ2 Premium. He forgot to write that a 18:9 display is not equal in size to 16:9 display. The XZ2 Premium's 5.8" 16:9 display is almost as big as the Note 9's 6.4" 18:9 display. On the other hand the S9 looks like a compact phone infront of the XZ2 Premium's screen.

Please keep your reviews unbiased & scientific in future!