Samsung Galaxy A9 (2018) review

03 January 2019
One of the first phones with five cameras on board and, several months after the announcement, still the only one with four on the back – it’s the Samsung Galaxy A9 (2018). We set out to discover how well the impressive specsheet translates into real world performance.

Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • PG9
  • 12 Oct 2022

is samsung a9 5g compatable

    • T
    • TSHEPO
    • NsB
    • 02 Aug 2021

    good day, my for this is finishing so fast i dont know what is the problem. can you assist me on that please
    thanks

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • f36
      • 20 May 2021

      Bilal ahmad mir, 15 May 2021A 9 front camera order buyFrom last year I switched off till yesterday I tried to open it the phone doesn't accept my pin anymore I don't know how to open it please help

        • B
        • Bilal ahmad mir
        • GXm
        • 15 May 2021

        A 9 front camera order buy

          • M
          • Monicious
          • fu%
          • 06 May 2021

          A very good phone ever everything is faster

            • A
            • Ashfak
            • DkP
            • 10 Feb 2021

            It's not 4g

              • F
              • Fannuchii5
              • fuA
              • 01 Dec 2020

              Hman , 03 Jan 2019Verdict: Pros Great screen all around. Cons poor image... moreSo true. Very poor picture quality and makes one look fat.

                • R
                • RNPK
                • 3JP
                • 03 Sep 2020

                Disappointed LCD appearing green vertical lines

                  • P
                  • Pedro Roque
                  • JGq
                  • 27 Aug 2020

                  Worst phone I have ever had, lots of problems, camera does not focus, clunky and sometimes slow in its workflow speed. Definetely a mistake.

                    MANMOHAN SINGH, 20 Nov 2019No update in phone or no security patch updates after julyHow bout the camera? Is it gotten better or still as bad as when it was launched?
                    Since this is seems to be the "only" budget mid range (at least now) that has 3 useful rear cameras (yeah, I don't really count the 4th depth camera as that useful). Since it would be nice to have a true 2x optical zoom lens as well as ultra wide angle

                      • A
                      • AVeryGrimReaper
                      • pLA
                      • 09 Dec 2019

                      fortune zaka fatai, 07 Jan 2019the battery capacity isn't enough. why not 7000+ instead of... moreBruh that would be Hella heavy

                        • M
                        • MANMOHAN SINGH
                        • Dkt
                        • 20 Nov 2019

                        No update in phone or no security patch updates after july

                          • P
                          • Pierre
                          • fmg
                          • 22 Oct 2019

                          Anonymous, 11 May 2019As an A9 2018 user, I can say that after camera update imag... moreHello can you please teach me how you got the camera update

                            • H
                            • Himanshu Sharma
                            • Hxh
                            • 22 May 2019

                            Anonymous, 11 May 2019As an A9 2018 user, I can say that after camera update imag... moreHow difficult it is to build a phone with dual sim, dedicated SD card slot, fingerprint, decent stills IQ, stabilised 4k video, 3.5mm jack, IR replaceable battery with USB-C.

                            Not big fan of IP ratings, multiple cameras/artificial bokeh/computational gimmick, I've my DSLR for more delibrate picture clicking occassions.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • 0x%
                              • 11 May 2019

                              As an A9 2018 user, I can say that after camera update image quality has improved a lot. Images look sharp, with good dynamic range and there's no purplish tint to them.

                                • H
                                • Himanshu Sharma
                                • pRA
                                • 01 Mar 2019

                                Essoumido, 28 Feb 2019not big deal , 4 camera for nothing , prefer to have 1 cam ... moreThanks. I'll give it a miss and wait for some more time. There have been some interesting announcements at MWC, waiting for reviews.

                                  Himanshu Sharma, 04 Feb 2019I come from LG V20, want to replace primarily due to poor b... morenot big deal , 4 camera for nothing , prefer to have 1 cam with good quality same S6 egde plus

                                    • H
                                    • Himanshu Sharma
                                    • Hx6
                                    • 04 Feb 2019

                                    I come from LG V20, want to replace primarily due to poor battery life now after 2 years. This ticks dedicated micro SD, good battery life, but lacks IR. I have question to actual owners (if you don't own, please don't respond). How is the camera's IQ after any recent updates, does the purple fringing/hue still persist? Are the pictures soft still? Does anybody know if Samsung is working on camera improvement? Does Open Camera give better results or is it the same?

                                      • Q
                                      • QueenD
                                      • fC}
                                      • 16 Jan 2019

                                      I had seen the story going with Samsung.
                                      Recapitulation.....
                                      ....
                                      ..
                                      Yea, very similar to Windows phone. Die in short time span.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • fC}
                                        • 15 Jan 2019

                                        As of now many cheap price mobiles available with improved features. A9 2018 is nightmare