Xiaomi Mi 8 long-term review

04 February 2019
The Xiaomi Mi 8 was the company’s top of the line offering when it launched in the first half of last year, but it’s still very interesting to take a look at because it is now one of the most affordable smartphones you can buy with a Snapdragon 845 inside.

Sort by:

  • H
  • HYPR
  • BE{
  • 10 Apr 2020

Zakota67, 16 Nov 2019By far the worst mi phone, I have used all mi models from M... moreYou had a 1 off personal experience. It happens. Doesn't make this a bad phone. You were unlucky is all. Give it up hater. Everyone else says different to you, so who's right and who's wrong? Hmm mm, I wonder...

Top phone. Read reviews. Have owned since new. Very very good. Big fan of customisation with MIUI. Android 10. Good battery life. Very fast great quality camera. Slim. Fast charge. Performance is excellent.

    • D
    • Dew
    • XpR
    • 09 Feb 2020

    Zakota67, 16 Nov 2019By far the worst mi phone, I have used all mi models from M... moreI have been using it for over 1 year and have no problem tho

      • Z
      • Zakota67
      • 6Px
      • 16 Nov 2019

      el.plotnic, 02 Sep 2019Hello to all of you. Happy owner of the MI 8 since Novem... moreBy far the worst mi phone, I have used all mi models from Mi 3 onwards. The battery almost exploded after 3 months use, the replacement didn't last even a month.

        • e
        • el.plotnic
        • gxu
        • 02 Sep 2019

        Hello to all of you.

        Happy owner of the MI 8 since November 2018.
        Real good device fro the price. Got the global version 6 Gb RAM / 128 Gb ROM and this device never disappointed me on anything. I've been using Xiaomi.eu for a while and didn't like the optimisation of memory (even they say it's better than original), battery drain happened a few times, but i believe it's something to do with services. Moved back to stable as Dev version it's rolling out any more. So i can say it's all great.
        Swipe navigation is one of the best things with it, Google swipe navigation isn't friendly.
        Battery life is good, 1 full day with 1 - 2h of YouTube, 2 h of online radio, about 4h of voice calls. So it's very hard to complain about it.
        Notche you're getting used to quickly and it doesn't bother you.

        Great phone for a little more then 300€ inc. delivery )

        Happy times.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • KZK
          • 27 Aug 2019

          pinopino, 14 Jul 2019I got mi 8 has a gift, it is a marvelous phone but is curre... moreI had similar experience. Had it checked at service and they said the motherboard is faulty and i get it replaced with a nrw one.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • nrm
            • 22 Jul 2019

            BolaKing, 30 Apr 2019Guys, which is a better buy between xiaomi mi 8 6gb ram wit... moreI'm personally leaning more towards the Redmi K20 Pro because of its battery life, lower camera denoising and thermal cooling. Hopefully it comes to Europe soon.

              I got mi 8 has a gift, it is a marvelous phone but is currently facing some problems. need help please it works fine sometimes and then after some time it reboots itself, do not read sim network.

                Guys, which is a better buy between xiaomi mi 8 6gb ram with 256gb rom going for $443.98 or xiaomi mi 9 6gb ram with 128gb going for $559.81 in 2019 ?

                thanks

                  • W
                  • Willieram
                  • KjB
                  • 27 Feb 2019

                  Being a happy owner of a Mi 8 in regards to the lens bevel, it gets leveled out with the provided case.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • UDQ
                    • 13 Feb 2019

                    Maria, 05 Feb 2019Just in case, Mi8 (not lite) is coming to Indonesia, I am s... moreit won't come

                      • Z
                      • Zuzu
                      • ajV
                      • 12 Feb 2019

                      Maria, 05 Feb 2019Just in case, Mi8 (not lite) is coming to Indonesia, I am s... moreGet it from Aliexpress and you'll receive it in few days.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • i8L
                        • 07 Feb 2019

                        As a xiaomi.eu user for years, I can say that 99% of the general complaints you find about miui don't exist there. Also I'm coming from a nexus device, so comparing stock to miui capabilities is a nogo for me to go back. Stock android lacks a lot of options and is mostly praised by youtubers. In fact pixel devices running the brand new software are using us for ginny pigs.

                          • F
                          • Finophile
                          • 7tn
                          • 07 Feb 2019

                          OMG
                          >you'll notice a not-insignificant display chin, but we'll admit we actually quite like it for one specific reason: it gives you somewhere to rest your fingers when you hold it.

                          At last someone else who actually uses hands with fingers in there ... fantastic! Please give this reviewer more weight (than the impractical 100% screen but don't touch it baby ones)

                          Thanks

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • NgD
                            • 06 Feb 2019

                            Professional, 06 Feb 2019Bought one for €277 in China for my wife and put the Xiaomi... moreWow 277€? It's a steal for sd845 super amoled display infrared face recognition and very capable camera

                              • P
                              • Professional
                              • S3u
                              • 06 Feb 2019

                              Bought one for €277 in China for my wife and put the Xiaomi.eu rom on it. My wife still can't believe it,that it is so good for the price! She has sold her IphoneX,because of better battery and camera!

                                • d
                                • doggymcnuggets
                                • Y6W
                                • 06 Feb 2019

                                I've had it for 6 months or so and love it. Came from a Galaxy S8+ and aside from wireless charging haven't missed much else. Installed Nova Launcher and it's close enough to a stock Android experience to satisfy. Great camera, battery life, speed, and Xiaomi has been very consistent with updates. Can't beat it for the price.

                                  • p
                                  • paul
                                  • naP
                                  • 05 Feb 2019

                                  Mr. Anonymous, 05 Feb 2019If you count only specs and price - yes, mi8 is a better bu... moreYes but in the Netherlands the oneplus cost about 250 euro more
                                  so the mi 8 is better value

                                    I own this right now and it's a great device for the price I paid.
                                    It has some letdown sure, but all phones have some, and the Mi8's are not that significant to be honest.
                                    If you can live with the notch you're good really.

                                      Anonymous, 05 Feb 2019I dont understand why OnePlus 6 got so much more love than ... moreIf you count only specs and price - yes, mi8 is a better buy.
                                      But I prefer OP6 because of design, OxygenOS, no throttling issues and a headphone jack.

                                        • n
                                        • niXYZ
                                        • 3bM
                                        • 05 Feb 2019

                                        I have just bought it a few days ago. In terms of software hassles I know that it is still not the most optimized for the international users, but there are great communities such as xiaomi.eu where you can get a optimized version of the MIUI experience which is much better than the MIUI version you are getting with the global rom. I know this is no easy task for a user that is not familiar with phone unlocking & system flashing. Especially it might sound as a big no no for users when they realize that you are losing the warranty if you install a custom rom. I hope that this will become easier in the future for the less tech savvy. But that is why many of us buy the device from China because it is cheaper than buying it in physical store in EU for example and flash a custom rom that works without a problem on a device that is intended for use only in China. This is one of the reasons why xiaomi introduced the Anti Roll Back function so that their China based devices are a bot harder to crack for international users but if you are careful you can still get around it and have the same device cheaper. Final conclusion is that the device is even greater if you manage to run the EU optimized version of MIUI 😊