Nokia 9 PureView review

05 April 2019
The Once and Future King of mobile photography - the PureView camera - is back! The Nokia's champion has lived through the twilights of Symbian and Windows Phone, to be once again reborn in the peak of Android era. HMD's Nokia 9 is the bearer of the next-gen PureView snapper, and it's not one, but whole six of them!

Sort by:

  • Kimalexr

I've had this phone for about 5 months. To start off with, I was a bit 'what have I done?!' But, I love the Android One Pixel-esque interface which was it's saving grace for me. It feels beautiful in the hand and has all the features you'd expect from a flagship phone. Excellent speaker sound quality and stunning screen. The camera is an interesting and difficult feature to review because so many people see the five cameras and just expect it to just take stunning photos that you can share instantly. Which of course you can to some extent. But if that's your desire, buy a Pixel. But if you want a phone that captures ridiculous amounts of detail and focus points with depth perception, this is your baby. You take your photo, and the slightest personalisation or editing and you get the most stunning images. Even just using Google Photos as your editor where you edit the 'Light' or 'Color" to your taste and they will make you wow in your pants. The thing that I find the PureView has as the trump card is where all other cameras third editing option in Google Photos is 'Pop', the PureView has a 'Blur' dial instead and this is the money piece. All that detail and depth you thought were pointless to capture now all makes sense. You choose your focus point, personalise the background blur and foreground blur and you have a first class image worthy of your precious Instagram feed. I get so many people asking me what 'camera' am I using and they are shocked to learn I'm using a Nokia phone! The five cameras might seem like overkill but if you're an enthusiast you'll soon appreciate it. A lot of companies do great jobs of replicating these results with A.I and Google does it the best with the Pixel which takes breathtaking photos as standard. But if you want the ability to adjust your RAW images to your preference from a class leading camera and device, you won't be disappointed with the PureView, you just have to understand and appreciate why it exists and not expect a generic 'perfect auto' image from it, it's for you 100% and coming from me - a device enthusiast but not a professional photographer; I love it. One of my favourite devices ever. I prefer it over my Pixel 3, which is saying a lot.

  • Gaurav

Edafe, 17 Oct 2019Nokia is really trying but they failed to include feature like I... moreThis is camera dhone dear.. Not your TV remote .

Review camera plz

  • Chen

Never buy this bs phone, i bought new and within one week i cannot receive calls, it is not ringing even my friend says it is ringing at her end. I have tried many sims and same stupid things happened. And also 5 cameras is just really bullshit!!!!

Edafe, 17 Oct 2019Nokia is really trying but they failed to include feature like I... moreYou can get IR adapters for your phone. Don't know of many smartphones with IR :) you can find some bricks I'm sure!
https://www.amazon.com/ir-adapter-android/s?k=ir­+adapter+for+android

  • Edafe

Nokia is really trying but they failed to include feature like INFRARED PORT which is very important to enable the users/customers enjoy using the products as remote control on house appliances when necessary.

  • xfire

From my experience with Nokia Lumia 930 I can say that Nokia 9 has nothing in common with PureView.

  • Yymmhh

Low light is terrible

S Yu, 01 Sep 2019I am entirely serious while you are not aware of the trend of th... moreI totally agree with you. Nokia 9 PV's cameras can generate great RAW image files and much better than huawei's RAW output. The RAW output of Huawei's camera has smaller pixel size (although it has bigger pixel count) compare to Nokia's output (despite it has lower megapixel count, but the individual pixel size are bigger). Adding the factor that nokia shots RAW with all 5 cameras, which capture and receive different data and information, the result is much flexibility with post image processing.
This phone isn't aimed at regular point and shoot phone users, but rather try to appeal to photographers. The problem here is the JPG or photos that has been processed by the phones, which is kinda decent in Nokia 9 PV case. P30p, iPhone 11p, Note 10+ and many other companies can produce good JPG photos without needing much of editing, which most people want.

Hello Life, 30 Aug 2019Are you serious about what you are saying right now? RAW files i... moreI am entirely serious while you are not aware of the trend of the industry. Tell me, if not for RAW, why would Adobe port LR over to Android? And before you say tablets, LR on Android is optimized for portrait view and a one-hand touch operation.

"RAW files in general provides nothing extraordinary if you don’t edit..."
"Even if you shoot RAW, poor image processing will ruin the details" You're obviously not aware of how bad the JPG engines of smartphones (bar Pixel) are. Shoot RAW and convert it to JPG with default settings in LR, and you'll get superior detail and less NR artifacts than OOCJPG. That effect is very limited for P30P though, as I mentioned previously the Huaweis output lower quality RAWs as there's less effective data each pixel.

"...instead of details or sharpness or any kind boost in other areas"
You obviously have no idea what you're talking about. Compare DNG with JPG shot in artificial light, see which one's WB is easier to correct. DNG is also much easier to sharpen without introducing halos.

"Not all RAWs are equal or created equally"...is what I said from the beginning. Nokia 9's RAW is of the highest quality and P30P's is the lowest.

"why would a professional who has mastered image post processing will shoot on a smartphone"
Just because it's good enough and convenient. And it's the truth that a growing number of photographers use smartphones as a working tool in certain situations. I just shoot some product photos for selling second-handed and I shoot DNG and do post processing. Before Gcam supported DNG I worked with Gcam's JPG on Snapseed. The results were worse all round and working with JPG was more of a fuss, because I had to guess the WB and set it manually (even then I often fail to get realistic colors, unlike how easy it is with DNG on LR) and exposure control was more strict.

S Yu, 26 Aug 2019Read carefully. They never pitted RAW against RAW therefore with... moreAre you serious about what you are saying right now? RAW files in general provides nothing extraordinary if you don’t edit it in the post. Infact people use RAW or any log video profile to get more dynamic range 99.999% of the time instead of details or sharpness or any kind boost in other areas. Even if you shoot RAW, poor image processing will ruin the details. Not all RAWs are equal or created equally. Now, tell me why would a professional who has mastered image post processing will shoot on a smartphone? Even a mere entry level DSLR form 10 years ago will shoot better RAWs with decent prime, all under 200 usd.. why would anyone do the atrocity? Smartphone cameras are very good today but that’s because of the instant point and shoot and share

Hello Life, 26 Aug 2019Conclusions are wrong? This website is doing this kind of things... moreRead carefully. They never pitted RAW against RAW therefore with lack of a crucial comparison they reached the wrong conclusion.
This site posts impressive investigations in general but no one is infallible.

S Yu, 11 Aug 2019The conclusions are wrong. Shoot P30P, output RAW and see how mu... moreConclusions are wrong? This website is doing this kind of things for decades.. yes you have heard right. When i was in 5th standard i found this website, now i am a post graduate with 3 years work experience. Before youtube came into existence, before you knew nothing.. so appreciate the work, because this is the only site who provides use completely unbiased review, no matter the brand or sponsor if any.

nokia could easily beat some of the today's flagships if they use or implement:
1. 48 sony imx586 with zeiss optics with OIS & EIS with variable aperture
2. A true xenon flash along with led flash like in lumia 1020
2. 5000 mah battery
3. Clear black Amoled display with 6.5' inch screen with better screen to body ratio
4. Ozo audio for stereo recording & playback
5. aluminium frame use like is nokia 7.1
6. 3.5 mm headphone jack
7. IR blaster
8. Chipset SD 855+
9. Finger print rear mounter or side mounted.

all this under 500 USD
if above all conditions satisfied, mobile will sell like hot cakes, atleast in my country which has one of the biggest smartphone market

if they did it in 2012 they could also do in 2019 when technology is so much advanced compare to what it was in 2012

The conclusions are wrong. Shoot P30P, output RAW and see how much worse it is than the Nokia's. The Nokia's is a stacked RAW, iPX's is a regular single exposure RAW, while P30P's is a "debinned" RAW that doesn't even combine adjacent pixels in that RYYB layout for additional DR and better color accuracy(though still poor), resulting in 40MP of very poor signal you'd expect from 0.8μm pixels, you'll get nowhere from P30P's RAW output, and I can't believe you never bothered to try.

  • Tae Mo baho

Jess, 07 Aug 2019Is this real? Or is this only a concept??Haha you can see the phone right?

  • Jess

Is this real? Or is this only a concept??

  • moo

They're on the right track, just sadly they didn't pull it off with this one.

  • Krizzy

Mw, 01 Aug 2019Absolutely gorgeous pictures I miss my Nokia 1020There's another one coming 9.1 is killer

  • Mw

Nor, 13 May 2019Hello Everyone, i took the Nokia 9 with me on my USA trip and... moreAbsolutely gorgeous pictures I miss my Nokia 1020

  • Anonymous

MOP737-iherb.com, 03 Jul 2019This must have the slowest camera introduced since the last Pure... moreSlowest to process because it processes much much much details than the rest of phones available and you can produce the best photo not any other phone available could match...