Nokia 9 PureView review

05 April 2019
The Once and Future King of mobile photography - the PureView camera - is back! The Nokia's champion has lived through the twilights of Symbian and Windows Phone, to be once again reborn in the peak of Android era. HMD's Nokia 9 is the bearer of the next-gen PureView snapper, and it's not one, but whole six of them!

Sort by:

  • Yymmhh

Low light is terrible

S Yu, 01 Sep 2019I am entirely serious while you are not aware of the trend of th... moreI totally agree with you. Nokia 9 PV's cameras can generate great RAW image files and much better than huawei's RAW output. The RAW output of Huawei's camera has smaller pixel size (although it has bigger pixel count) compare to Nokia's output (despite it has lower megapixel count, but the individual pixel size are bigger). Adding the factor that nokia shots RAW with all 5 cameras, which capture and receive different data and information, the result is much flexibility with post image processing.
This phone isn't aimed at regular point and shoot phone users, but rather try to appeal to photographers. The problem here is the JPG or photos that has been processed by the phones, which is kinda decent in Nokia 9 PV case. P30p, iPhone 11p, Note 10+ and many other companies can produce good JPG photos without needing much of editing, which most people want.

Hello Life, 30 Aug 2019Are you serious about what you are saying right now? RAW files i... moreI am entirely serious while you are not aware of the trend of the industry. Tell me, if not for RAW, why would Adobe port LR over to Android? And before you say tablets, LR on Android is optimized for portrait view and a one-hand touch operation.

"RAW files in general provides nothing extraordinary if you don’t edit..."
"Even if you shoot RAW, poor image processing will ruin the details" You're obviously not aware of how bad the JPG engines of smartphones (bar Pixel) are. Shoot RAW and convert it to JPG with default settings in LR, and you'll get superior detail and less NR artifacts than OOCJPG. That effect is very limited for P30P though, as I mentioned previously the Huaweis output lower quality RAWs as there's less effective data each pixel.

"...instead of details or sharpness or any kind boost in other areas"
You obviously have no idea what you're talking about. Compare DNG with JPG shot in artificial light, see which one's WB is easier to correct. DNG is also much easier to sharpen without introducing halos.

"Not all RAWs are equal or created equally"...is what I said from the beginning. Nokia 9's RAW is of the highest quality and P30P's is the lowest.

"why would a professional who has mastered image post processing will shoot on a smartphone"
Just because it's good enough and convenient. And it's the truth that a growing number of photographers use smartphones as a working tool in certain situations. I just shoot some product photos for selling second-handed and I shoot DNG and do post processing. Before Gcam supported DNG I worked with Gcam's JPG on Snapseed. The results were worse all round and working with JPG was more of a fuss, because I had to guess the WB and set it manually (even then I often fail to get realistic colors, unlike how easy it is with DNG on LR) and exposure control was more strict.

S Yu, 26 Aug 2019Read carefully. They never pitted RAW against RAW therefore with... moreAre you serious about what you are saying right now? RAW files in general provides nothing extraordinary if you don’t edit it in the post. Infact people use RAW or any log video profile to get more dynamic range 99.999% of the time instead of details or sharpness or any kind boost in other areas. Even if you shoot RAW, poor image processing will ruin the details. Not all RAWs are equal or created equally. Now, tell me why would a professional who has mastered image post processing will shoot on a smartphone? Even a mere entry level DSLR form 10 years ago will shoot better RAWs with decent prime, all under 200 usd.. why would anyone do the atrocity? Smartphone cameras are very good today but that’s because of the instant point and shoot and share

Hello Life, 26 Aug 2019Conclusions are wrong? This website is doing this kind of things... moreRead carefully. They never pitted RAW against RAW therefore with lack of a crucial comparison they reached the wrong conclusion.
This site posts impressive investigations in general but no one is infallible.

S Yu, 11 Aug 2019The conclusions are wrong. Shoot P30P, output RAW and see how mu... moreConclusions are wrong? This website is doing this kind of things for decades.. yes you have heard right. When i was in 5th standard i found this website, now i am a post graduate with 3 years work experience. Before youtube came into existence, before you knew nothing.. so appreciate the work, because this is the only site who provides use completely unbiased review, no matter the brand or sponsor if any.

nokia could easily beat some of the today's flagships if they use or implement:
1. 48 sony imx586 with zeiss optics with OIS & EIS with variable aperture
2. A true xenon flash along with led flash like in lumia 1020
2. 5000 mah battery
3. Clear black Amoled display with 6.5' inch screen with better screen to body ratio
4. Ozo audio for stereo recording & playback
5. aluminium frame use like is nokia 7.1
6. 3.5 mm headphone jack
7. IR blaster
8. Chipset SD 855+
9. Finger print rear mounter or side mounted.

all this under 500 USD
if above all conditions satisfied, mobile will sell like hot cakes, atleast in my country which has one of the biggest smartphone market

if they did it in 2012 they could also do in 2019 when technology is so much advanced compare to what it was in 2012

The conclusions are wrong. Shoot P30P, output RAW and see how much worse it is than the Nokia's. The Nokia's is a stacked RAW, iPX's is a regular single exposure RAW, while P30P's is a "debinned" RAW that doesn't even combine adjacent pixels in that RYYB layout for additional DR and better color accuracy(though still poor), resulting in 40MP of very poor signal you'd expect from 0.8μm pixels, you'll get nowhere from P30P's RAW output, and I can't believe you never bothered to try.

  • Tae Mo baho

Jess, 07 Aug 2019Is this real? Or is this only a concept??Haha you can see the phone right?

  • Jess

Is this real? Or is this only a concept??

  • moo

They're on the right track, just sadly they didn't pull it off with this one.

  • Krizzy

Mw, 01 Aug 2019Absolutely gorgeous pictures I miss my Nokia 1020There's another one coming 9.1 is killer

  • Mw

Nor, 13 May 2019Hello Everyone, i took the Nokia 9 with me on my USA trip and... moreAbsolutely gorgeous pictures I miss my Nokia 1020

  • Anonymous

MOP737-iherb.com, 03 Jul 2019This must have the slowest camera introduced since the last Pure... moreSlowest to process because it processes much much much details than the rest of phones available and you can produce the best photo not any other phone available could match...

MOP737-iherb.com, 03 Jul 2019This must have the slowest camera introduced since the last Pure... moreSadly, all the Android One models are crap. Better to buy a Google Pixel or iPhone XS. https://www.android.com/one/

This must have the slowest camera introduced since the last PureView model by Nokia. All Nokia PureView models are slow.
And this doesn't even have zoom!
The only good thing about Nokia brand is that it contains almost pure Android, Android One.

  • digishit

sam, 17 Jun 2019people compare this phone with samsung S10 and others forgeting ... moreYou know that for a 1100 EUR you could instead have a quite nice second-hand car, right?

  • sam

people compare this phone with samsung S10 and others forgeting that it costs only £ 549 and the others almost double!

  • R

I am hoping for Nokia 10 to come. I still like this phone because of 6 cameras

Thankyou for writing a wonderful and helpful Information.