Oppo Reno 10x zoom review

30 May 2019
No, this review is not about some detachable Oppo lens as we are past the era of these crude workarounds - it's an actual phone and a proper flagship at that. But while this particular name isn't our cup of tea, the rest sounds beyond intriguing.

Sort by:

  • Arun

Waist phone according to me now i am use

  • Aina

I want the blue colour

Aierlan, 31 May 2019 I got mine (China 6gb 128gb version) about a week ago. So far I... moreSell it away (cheaply) in Carousell Singapore. Provide free international shipping, within hours you will have more than 10 Likes and within a day or two your set will be sold off.

Remember to request buyer to make offer so you both can exchange reviews.

My advice is to get rid of things that you dont want or dont like. Change them away immediately e.g. for your this oppo phone. Or even things like your jobs wife maid car company boss etc.

That said nothing is perfect. We also need to adopt (adapt) a more 'heck care' attitude in life because world is not perfect and further more the world has transformed into Digital Age which will only get more messy than before.

Bobosong, 13 Aug 2019I totally agree, they should definitely review the call quality ... moreCall quality is my biggest gripe with the phone (I have a few others). The earpiece is very tinny and not that loud and calls on speakerphone sound tinny and are not that easy to hear. Much worse than my previous Huawei p20 which had very good call quality and also better signal strength. Agreed that it should be reviewed. Would have avoided this phone had I known as I make a lot of calls

  • Bobosong

Sarwar, 20 Jul 2019Unfortunately Gsmarena does not review on the 'Call Quality' of ... moreI totally agree, they should definitely review the call quality which is an essential part of the phone

  • Sarwar

Unfortunately Gsmarena does not review on the 'Call Quality' of any cellphone. AUDIO QUALITY they mean the sound quality from its loud speaker(s) only.

My suggestion is to introduce CALL QUALITY from now on... where we can understand the quality of Receiving Sound and Caller's Sound at other end. This is very very important.

In case of Oppo Reno 10X, there is no Earpiece visible at its position. So, where did they put it? How will be the experience of hearing other end's sound?

I do remember my own experience with 'Mi Mix' phone. There were No Earpiece in it. Sound used to come out by vibration of glass display. Xiaomi used to call the technology as 'Revolutionary'.

But in fact, it was useless! I could not hear other party clearly, very disappointing sound quality . Later on, in their Mix2 model, Mi has discontinued that Revolutionary(!) feature.

So Total Notch Free or Bezelless... these features, and ultimate phone quality should be tested by the clients first. No comment before that...

  • Sourish

Great to see a review mentioning the pricing at different countries.... In India, its a good bargain over the OP7 Pro which costs 9K more than the reno which translates to around $125 more....

AmericanCarioca, 06 Jun 2019I don't own the P30 Pro as it is a bit out of my budget range, a... moreI don't bring my Mirrorless camera at all time, so the idea of shooting RAW from the phone is actually quite neat. After all, there's mobile version of Photshop and Lightroom.

Rash, 19 Jun 2019Somehow, I never faced this issue. I am able to even reply from ... moreAll Global is identical except China edition, he bought at China and China edition will have that issue.

George, 17 Jun 2019I just brought the Oppo Reno 10 in China and use it in Europe.Th... moreThis is due to it is China edition, all China edition phone from Oppo got this issue and Oppo never fixed this issue in China edition. This issue also happened in Find X China edition.

Global edition wise will not have this WhatApps notification issue. I am from Malaysia and I am previously using Global edition of Find X, few days ago I just change to Global edition of Reno 10x Zoom, both don't have notification issue.

  • Rash

George, 17 Jun 2019I just brought the Oppo Reno 10 in China and use it in Europe.Th... moreSomehow, I never faced this issue. I am able to even reply from Whatsapp notification. I am assuming the software is same for all. I am from India.

  • George

I just brought the Oppo Reno 10 in China and use it in Europe.This phone has a lot of problems with Whatsup because it dont't show the notifications and the whatsup call.You need to open the app to show who text you or who calls you.. The Oppo team need to fix this problem because a lot of my friends wants this phone but they are unseccure because of this problem.

Salva, 01 Jun 2019You have really the phone, there are reviews where we saw optica... moreYes, I have the phone. These videos must have used digital zoom. If you shoot video and zoom and cover the optical sensor with your finger when zoomed it has no effect on the video. Therefore this sensor is not being used. The zoom in video is digital the same as any phone with a single sensor

  • Riddo

there are 2 things i like about this phone over oneplus 7 pro and p30 pro:

there is no notch and there is no curved screen.
Bonus is the flat camera setup

I would love to see better cameras on it, usable zoom ect, but i think it still a nice phone for many.

I'm very disappointed with the photo quality on mine, especially indoors. It bumps up the iso extremely high to create bright images but images are noisy and lacking in details indoors in anything other than very bright conditions. Also there is often corner softness in images. I came from a p20 which was much better image quality wise but didn't have the same level of flexibility due to no zoom lens or wide angle lens. This phone is also terrible for pics of moving subjects as it uses a very slow shutter speed relative to the p20. Even outside in good conditions I get blurry pics of my toddler running around which didn't happen with the p20

Hildr, 06 Jun 2019That's what I still don't understand. I prefer real life photo f... moreI don't own the P30 Pro as it is a bit out of my budget range, and is not a candidate for my replacement as such. That said, the idea of shooting RAW with a phone just strikes me as absolutely ludicrous. If I had any intention of spending time in Photoshop, then I'd have taken my Nikon full-frame and left it at that.

That said, the P30 Pro does show a consistent color grading that tends toward the red, which is probably due to Asian skintones. It is interesting that the normal P30 does not suffer from this, and I can only assume they changed their minds or were aiming at a more Western demographic.

AmericanCarioca, 04 Jun 2019I looked at the samples, and for the most part the Huawei P30 Pr... moreThat's what I still don't understand. I prefer real life photo from the Oppo because they are softer than those of the P30Pro, but the lab photo are really worse.

Are you talking about the same Leica lens that does this horrendous blue-ish vignet effect on Raws that need to be tuned with the max correction possible on Adobe Lightroom for computer (the android app is really bad)? I only had huawei phones as android devices and tried the P30Pro for 10 days, and I got this effect on every Raw I took with those devices. Leica is a good brand, but I suspect those partnership is more like mutual advertisement than real improvment over the competition. The post process is so strong I'm not even sure you could tell the difference if you switched those lens, only Raws can tell, and huawei's ones are a hell to work with.

For phone camera, post process and image software look far more important that those tiny lens that even if done by well knonw brand, have still a lot of issues.
And talking about that, the heavy contrast, edge sharpness and texture softness of Huawei are pretty boring when you try to get a real-life looking photo (I'm still investigating to see if it's not those quad bayer filters that give this flat feeling, because a lot of other phone have the same problem to my eyes, but not with telephoto and wide camera sensor)
But well, people would not understand noise is normal and we can't keep the details and texture without it.

Hopefully I will try this one and do my own idea.

I looked at the samples, and for the most part the Huawei P30 Pro blows the Oppo out of the water in terms of photography. In fact, even the 'plain' P30' and P20 Pro have better results. If you look at the samples in the details on the 5-dollar bill, it is striking. That said, the reviewer neglects to mention an essential edge from the Huawei models: the Leica-signed lenses. As any photographer will tell you, the glass is the most important aspect of image quality.

  • Me

About the low screen brightness - did you get the message "warning - high power consumption" and then click ok to override?

The display is meant to be well over 600 nits.

  • LLL

YUKI93, 04 Jun 2019Would you pick this Oppo over the Huawei P30 Pro?Yes.

Reasons:
Snapdragon over Kirin
Notch-free
MicroSD slot over nano memory
Significantly less expensive (except some vendors slash P30 Pro price due to the US ban)

I wish the Reno can shoot videos using its ultra-wide and telephoto cams like the Huawei can, though.