Samsung Galaxy Note10+ review

21 Aug 2019


Sort by:

  • s-pen pusher

Anonymous, 23 Aug 2019wait, what? there is not DAC embedded in the cable, the DAC is i... moresurprise! usb-c audio adapters/dongles do come with in-built dac, and some even with pre-amps. where have you been?

Anonymous, 22 Aug 2019https://www.phonearena.com/news/Galaxy-Note-10-vs-Huawei-P30-Pro... moreThe problem with those two reviewers is that they never look at the details of the photos and only compare the exposures and colors. Once you start pixel peeping latest Galaxies are one of the worst contender in the market because Samsung still uses live HDR algorithms that introduce tons of blotchy noises and mask them with tons of noise reduction and edge enhancement. Huawei is far less aggressive with sharpening and noise reduction so textures look more natural on P30 Pro.

Anonymous, 23 Aug 2019Well as I said they don't have the space to fit in parts let alo... moreThe same excuse was used by every single other company apart from Apple when they removed the headphone jack - "There was no space to put one" when there clearly was.

  • ser

LG V50 thinq supporting 3g+4g+5g .

  • AM Bunny

Best phone this year. Note 9 was a tank. This is a good sleek looking tank too. Work horse!

  • smartphonejunkie

A phone which is not perfect with an almost perfect score! Mmmmm

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Aug 2019lol, right.I know ;)

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Aug 2019If you truly believe they couldnt fit in the jack and they it's ... morelol, right.

Anonymous, 23 Aug 2019Truth is, the S-pen is the only reason to buy the Note series. T... moreYep, unfortunately. It's just not compelling enough and there's no clear upgrade

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Aug 2019Well as I said they don't have the space to fit in parts let alo... moreIf you truly believe they couldnt fit in the jack and they it's sufficient for an audio file you clearly don't know much about phones, being an audiophile, or the ways of the world.. especially its greed and lies

  • Anonymous

ExtremeBoky, 23 Aug 2019There is no way to drive your high-quality headphones with this ... moreWell as I said they don't have the space to fit in parts let alone decent ones so can't really blame them for not including a 3.5 jack on the Note 10. It wouldve been a different story if they didn't need to fit in a whole stylus. Other flagship phones today with phablet screen size being the norm have no excuse though.

Oh yea I agree the usb c dongles or USB headphones
won't exactly cut it either. At this point an external DAC/amp combo like from Fiio would be the ideal setup but its bulky.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Aug 2019https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_note10_tested_in_durabil... moreBest in durability? Wait till repair comes and you have your ip-rating compromised/reduced because you need a new battery or some internal repairs. Unless you buy a new phone half a year later.

You are better off checking iFixit or Rossman.

Speaking of which, why are ugly cases which cover the beautiful glass back/edge screens, are popular among smartphone users if these things are truly durable?

  • Anonymous

Walter C. Dornez, 23 Aug 2019Thank you. The point of the matter is that for 1100, what are yo... moreTruth is, the S-pen is the only reason to buy the Note series. Though some genius over there thought it would be nice to to use it on a sloping electronic paper courtesy of the edge screen.

Every other reason can be summed up to fashion/going with the flow.

  • Anonymous

ExtremeBoky, 23 Aug 2019There is no way to drive your high-quality headphones with this ... morewait, what? there is not DAC embedded in the cable, the DAC is inside the phone, and not necessarily worse then previous generations, analog audio comes out of the usb

Erif, 23 Aug 2019A French review found out that when the phone's battery gets hot... moreA french what? 1 frame drop? What are you talking about? Wtf?

  • ExtremeBoky

Anonymous, 23 Aug 2019This is still a badass phone, despite not having a high refresh ... moreThere is no way to drive your high-quality headphones with this phone. The DAC embedded in the little USB connector that plugs into the phone is full of compromises; power supply/filtering being the worst. The phone needs to feed (what I assume is ) the I2S signal to an external stand-alone DAC with a proper headphone stage. The situation is as bad if you try to use the headphones that have their own DAC (again, embedded inside the USB -C connector). O

For this alone, I bought a Note 9 that can output very decent analog out. It can hold its own compared with quite a decent external DAC's, and it has a decent drive for my HD650's.

So, the phones that don't have analog out are in fact a very bad option for an audiophile, whichever way you look at it.

  • prone1

Hello GSMArena, please is Samsung USB-C Jack 3.5 mm adapter activer or passive??? Thank you very much for answer.

  • Erif

A French review found out that when the phone's battery gets hotter than 35°C, there's a frame rate drop happening in videogames. So thanks, but no thanks. If I wanted lag and stutter in action-packed games, I would've bought a Huawei... I'm happily sticking with my non-restrained Note 9 with Snapdragon.

  • Anonymous

This is still a badass phone, despite not having a high refresh screen.

As an audiophile I’m actually ok without the headphone jack. The internal DAC and amp will probably not be powerful enough to drive good iems/headphones given the limited internal space the engineers have to work with anyway

  • Anonymous

Waiting for the Oneplus 7T Pro 5G