Asus ROG Phone II review

10 Sept 2019


Sort by:

  • rogp2

Anonymous, 11 Oct 2019no android can do that as of nowthere is now, that is rog phone 2

  • Dylanizm

Anonymous, 17 Sep 2019But what will oneplus have over this? Possibly nothing at all. O... moreRegular and more frequent system and OS updates. I agree that the OS and software in ROG II is polished well beyond perfect, however, regular updates and fast transition to the latest Android is priority for most end users and I feel that OnePlus can deliver it much better than ROG II.
The size/weight makes the ROG phone less of an everyday phone as compared to phones in the same price range.

  • Starsplash

Android 10 update as been officially announced by asus for Asus Rog Phone 2 and Asus Zenfone 6. Apparently asus as a new update strategy which is great news and also asus rog phone 1 will be getting firstly android pie after all then a possible update to android 10.This as been comfirmed by asus Taiwan. There will a global rollout of android 10.

  • Dave

this phone is good

  • Anonymous

jamesabraham, 29 Sep 2019Can ROG phone 2 record internal audio & external audio at th... moreno android can do that as of now

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 08 Oct 2019When will the audio quality test be out?It's updated now! Really really good results!

  • Anonymous

jamesabraham, 05 Oct 2019Can ROG phone 2 record internal audio & external audio at th... moreYes

me, 02 Oct 2019Tencent charger appears to be 9v 2A (18W). I can't imagine th... moreWell apparently the charger included on the more expensive variant is a 30W one, but 5W are reserved for accessories plugged to the side port, so essentially making it a 25W charger.
At least that is the info I've heard/read all over.

  • Anonymous

When will the audio quality test be out?

  • Anonymous

I think I might actually buy this phone. It actually has ALL the features I want. Some might have issues with the phone size but it's perfect for me cause of my big hands. Oh and battery performance is looking so damn good.

Can ROG phone 2 record internal audio & external audio at the same time with build in screen recorder?

Excellent review thanks.
The main drawback I see is, what it is. Android is not a robust gaming platform, and won't be before this is obsolete. People see, people ask, at work the gym, you explain,(or they google) gaming phone, and you're stereotyped, at work, or any social event where consumed preoccupation is... tasteless.

  • me

DQ, 15 Sep 2019If you got the Chinese Tencent version, then the less obvious di... moreTencent charger appears to be 9v 2A (18W).

I can't imagine they made a different charger for the sake of 7W. But I'm happy to be wrong.

Can ROG phone 2 record internal audio & external audio at the same time with build in screen recorder?

  • Mike

So what about the audio quality? That is one of the features that matter most to me, I would appreciate if you could finally get the test done.
Asus promises a lot. Have they kept their promise to "fix" the audio via an update?

  • Anonymous

You must include MATE 20X as a competitor.

  • Mindflayer

Love the Community, 11 Sep 2019Bro, it's mentioned that IT HAS VoLTE and VoWiFi! Plus RogUI fo... moreNo VoWifi or VoLTE in the USA. Only in the India market. Sad.

  • Sudheer

How is the camera when compared to zenfone 6...I need a descent camera...

  • Abs

poco_user, 24 Sep 2019i want to ask GSMarena for the beautiful purple wallpaper link o... moreThats built in live wallpaper after the updates rog 2

  • Teli

B P P, 23 Sep 2019Its been launched in India and will be available from sept-30th.... moreIf audio is more important to you than gaming, go with LG instead. ROG 2 has a 24 bit dac, LG v50/v40 has 32 bit.