Huawei P30 Pro long-term review

07 Oct 2019


Sort by:

  • AG

Is it still buying P30 pro in 2021?

  • Alex Imanol

krloz, 19 Sep 2020I have never used a phone for this long. I bought it on May... moreYeah, I freaking dropped my p30 Pro countless times pretty roughly and never used screen protection on it but it never scratches. It have a mm long scratch though but from a very bad drop and slide in one occasion. Basically when I properly clean it, is almost shiny 😊

  • Kev

I've had the P30 Pro for a while now and quite frankly, Its perfect apart from 2 problems, one of which is quite ridiculous.

The Telephoto camera....is not very good unless you're below 500 ISO and at 5-10x. However, that's perfectly acceptable since this is a first-generation periscope camera. but under 500 ISO and at 5x, this camera blows everything away, apart from my friend's S20 Ultra.

The second issue, however, is pretty major; Many of my social media apps are force closed down by the software! (Current is EMUI 10.1) And that's almost aggrevating, since I need my notifications. Huawei, fix this ASAP since its the only major fixable problem that you've currently got on your hands with the P30 Pro; This is quite literally EMUI's Achilles' Heel.

Mr Toon, 10 Sep 2020Seriously considering this phone as a replacement for my Pi... moreIdk how much you expect to pay for a p30 pro used, but you could get a Xperia 1 or Xperia 5 for 500,600 and that's a really solid line of phones.

Mr Toon, 10 Sep 2020Seriously considering this phone as a replacement for my Pi... moreYes it's getting updates, it shipped with android 9, already got 10 and it has a planned upgrade to Android 11.

Phones that shipped with Google services have no problems with updates, it's just aosp ones.

I can't speak for branded phones though, mine is unlocked.

  • Duhart

Hello,

can be added more software to the zoom of p30 pro?

  • krloz

I have never used a phone for this long. I bought it on May of 2019 and I feel no need to replaced it. This is unheard of on my end as I upgrade to new phone every year. Yes, I know... I am a heavy user and usually I get 8 hour of SOT on a single day on a single charge. Yesterday I measured it again and got 8h53 minutes of SOT with 2% battery left at 11pm. Mind you that this is a phone that has been used daily for the past 16 months straight. This is down right impressive.
Not to mention the screen has not get a single scratch since I unboxed it more than a year ago.

This is just state of the art user experience on my book. All manufactures should measure themselves against this phone. It is the benchmark.

Seriously considering this phone as a replacement for my Pixel 3. Used of course. The software issue is a concern though. Will it continue to get updates? Any new on this since this article was published October 2019..

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 31 May 2020Easy to scratch?? Mines got no scratches after 6 months Scratchless. No scratches yet

  • Anonymous

huawei user, 21 Feb 2020low quality phone aesy to scrath. low video recoding for su... moreEasy to scratch?? Mines got no scratches after 6 months

  • huawei user

low quality phone aesy to scrath. low video recoding for super slow just 10 sec?????

  • Dee

Alex, 09 Oct 2019People only see what they want to see, and only hear what t... moreTnx to your explanation about Iphone you helped me in picking my new phone. I'm planning to replace my XZ Premium and i couldn't decide which one to choose - to be honest i wasn't thinking about junk Iphone, and don't think about it now. You just helped me in proving myself that most Iphone user are ignorant and trolls. Thats why im going for P30 Pro. BIG TNX.

Yep, best phone currently on the market in overall, IF you are a lot into camera.

It's worse than Galaxy in a number of areas, but Galaxy, apart from lack of 5x optical zoom, is self-destroyed by the abysmal charging battery performance, software and hardware bugs (dropping Wi-Fi), the deplorable 8nm Exynos for International markets, and really, really awkward hardware button placement. (Let's not talk about the "Bixby" thing.)

Galaxy has much better Camera UI (good single-handed operation w/o accidental edge touch incl. fluent, full-range zooming, dedicated video button in the main camera mode), and much faster and more accurate focusing. Also much prettier Always On Display.

But who cares if you can only use it for the first 4 hours of a photo-intense trip, and then it needs several hours to charge.

P30 Pro was the fist phone that allowed me to escape from Samsung where I've been since Galaxy S4 to Galaxy S10+.

I hope the P40 Pro will not do something retarded that will change that. (Not worried about not-preinstalled Google apps in the slightest, there will always be a way how to post-install.)

  • Diego

A workmate has one, it's amazing, but there are two claims: video and stereo sounds, that's all.

Baykko, 13 Oct 2019Why are you in a P30 review threat trying to convince every... moreWell said!
👏🏻👏🏻
👍🏻

Anonymous, 14 Oct 2019Yes it can run YouTube much better than your all your crapsAre you sure this copycat can run youtube or just a copy of youtube?
:)

  • Anonymous

Dolanescu, 08 Oct 2019This crap can run youtube?Yes it can run YouTube much better than your all your craps

  • Krysplayb

Alex, 09 Oct 2019People only see what they want to see, and only hear what t... moreSo what about how how apple copied Huawei on camera module which is rubbish now common don't be a hatter leave everyone to make a choice he or she likes

CrunchLife, 08 Oct 2019"color accuracy is good" hmm... I wouldn't say so. The gree... moreDid you eve read the review? The reviewer states the colors are not 100% accurate but they are very close highlighting them a little bit to make them look more lively. You may say they are bad but I personally find them all much more pleasing.

Alex, 09 Oct 2019People only see what they want to see, and only hear what t... moreWhy are you in a P30 review threat trying to convince everyone IPhones are better? Do you realize you come off as a troll?

This is all subjective. this P30 pro has nothing to envy on the IPhone XS or 11 even if people like you pretend IPhone is all better. Hardware and software wise both phones are perfectly capable of handling anything you throw on them. so it all comes down to the IOS and Android and what you like better, stress in what YOU like.