Oppo Reno Ace review

31 Oct 2019


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

do you think a person should go for the one plus 7t or the oppo Reno ace if both were available and since the one plus 7t costs less now

Ehsan, 01 Nov 2019This is to gsmarena, hope we get a answer: 1-There are 1.3 bill... moreif this review is meant for Chinese reader/market.. this site would be in Chinese and not English!!! you think Chinese phone consumer reads English sites for their info? try browsing for Chinese sites.. they have much sits with much more details info than GSMArena.. only if you know Chinese!!

bEnz, 01 Nov 2019Hoping this has a global version...this is availanle only.in chi... moreI heard Oppo filed FTC license for this phone in the US. Let's see if we get a version in the near future...

  • Nucky

Great features

  • Mk

Does the main camera really have OIS? I could not see it being advertised as a feature in official publications.

  • Ehsan

Gobinath, 02 Nov 2019GSMarena available in China?Of course it is. Why do you think for example xiaomi has to send even those local phones that won't go global, to gsmarena for review?! Causes there are many people who read this reviews.

Ehsan, 01 Nov 2019This is to gsmarena, hope we get a answer: 1-There are 1.3 bill... moreGSMarena available in China?

Anonymous, 31 Oct 2019oppo & realme should replace their color os to be Oxygen osNo they should continue with more polished color os. I like features in color os ui

Whackcar, 01 Nov 2019Well the fast charging process itself doesn't harm the battery, ... moreI tested it by playing Running Kart with 90Hz display method and charging at the same time, the phone was not hot but warm. The frame got a little bit higher temperature than the screen, but still acceptable.

  • Anonymous

Ehh tech, 01 Nov 2019I'm confused...some YouTubers say it doesn't have a SD card slot... moreThere is a hybrid sim slot. No dedicated slot.

  • PC_Kid

Anonymous, 01 Nov 2019What sad that the photos are too noisy. I was thinking in buy th... moreThe conclusion on the main camera does confuse me though. Given the hardware, OS and camera app are the same as the Reno 2 I wonder whether the reviewer can confirm whether the following comment also applies to the Reno 2. Odd if it does, since the Reno 2 review gave the camera set up more praise than we see here

"At the default 12MP ,setting there's a ton of detail, which is nice, but we're also seeing more noise than we'd like, which isn't ideal. Dynamic range is good, but not spectacular and you'd be loosing some data in the tonal extremes."

  • Sami Aloui

Xiaomi redmi note 8 pro

Ehh tech, 01 Nov 2019I'm confused...some YouTubers say it doesn't have a SD card slot... moreNo, it does not have microSD slot. You can watch in this review.
https://youtu.be/B4WjZ71zuSE

  • Nokian.

So, this is the one. The Realme X2 Pro,,,

  • Ehh tech

I'm confused...some YouTubers say it doesn't have a SD card slot but GSM ARENA still say it does....is there a specific variant that doesn't have expandable storage? Just like Samsung Galaxy note 10? Hmm ..now I'm wondering if just like Huawei p30 pro that use nano memory card because I've seen the Sim tray of 1 oppo Reno ace variant and it doesn't look like a normal micro SD card slot will fit .


And yes SD card slot Important to me...it saved me many times,
In case there's some weird crash/bootloop, I'll have to reset my phone which obviously deletes all ur files but luckily I keep them backup on my SD card
(pictures, .flac music, HD videoz , titanium backup files, games for emulators etc) I even keep stock rom and custom roms on my SD card in case I want go back to stock...all without a computer because I have space! (Also yes, I like to root my phone :)

internet speed is crap at times in my country so I will not use cloud storage anytime soon ...even for streaming high quality music/ HD+ videos

Sorry for my English btw


.

  • bEnz

Hoping this has a global version...this is availanle only.in china i am right?

  • Ehsan

This is to gsmarena, hope we get a answer:
1-There are 1.3 billion people living in China and are the most potential costumers of these phones, yet, you only give recommendations to European and Indian users. I hope you also consider this from now on when giving suggestions.
2-I personally expected to have a more detailed description regarding the x2 pro and reno ace camera as this is the deciding factor for choosing one over another. Yet, we only received a simple explanation of sepc which all know!!! I hope you clarify which one has a better camera.
Thanks.

Essen, 31 Oct 2019Thank you. Your explanation sounds logical and makes perfect sen... moreWell the fast charging process itself doesn't harm the battery, but heat does. The more a phone heats up during charging, the more likely it is for its battery to degrade in health.

On this review they've mentioned that while the phone does get warm, it doesn't get quite as hot as while gaming, which means any harmful effects on the battery should be minimal.

If a phone heats up a lot during fast charging, then that phone is more likely to have a degraded battery sooner.

the night mode of the Reno Ace is way better than that of the Realme 2x. That one looked hideous. For everything else they are basically the same freaking phone

I would choose the Reno Ace over the Realme given this one has a card slot and better night mode but I would opt out from using the Super VOOC 65.

  • Anonymous

All flagships should be at least QHD.