Xiaomi Redmi 8a hands-on review

27 Dec 2019


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

This phone looks amazing.

  • Anonymous

That's some terrible resolution for that screen size, I miss the days of smaller phones.

  • Persia

Donbenie, 27 Dec 2019You obviously must be a Troll,what is different in design o... moreYou mean its design is like for example HUAWEI honor 8C or Y7 2019 Y6 2019 ?! or Galaxy A10s, A10, A20 ?! this ugly device is like Nokia phones also a bit worst! MIUI is full of bugs after updates, not user-friendly , very local chinese ! but Samsung & HUAWEI UI are great

Cons sluggish performance and mediocre camera funny.
Would like to see a better device for 100 bucks.
Probbably noone.
No Samsung, Sony, LG, HTC etc for 100 bucks with better performance and performance.
Also no Crapple. Even the old Iphone 4 or 5 in a brand new condition would cost more than 100 and is far worse in every single aspect.

  • akw

I'mPhone, 28 Dec 2019Actually I have to admit that the design is fine. On paper ... moreas i know in some countries there is no ads , plus ads are only on Redmi series , and Persia or Iran , yet there is no ads here as i heard

  • Anonymous

Techstro, 28 Dec 2019For $30 or $40 more we could get the full version [Redmi 8]... moreDual camera? You really consider depth sensor a 2nd camera?

i tested it few days. it is verry good phone for someone who get first smartphone. call quality, battery, camera is ok. i tested only camera with motorola x play indoor. many times quality was same. quality on headphones should be better

For $30 or $40 more we could get the full version [Redmi 8]. It has a dual camera and a few other things if compared to the Moto g7 Power (Assuming that's the device you were referring to). Then there's always the Redmi Note 8 for about $140. Then you get a much better Phone. These Redmi phones have the IR you can use as a universal remote to things like TV's and Bu-Ray's.
Nevertheless, this not about that price range. What we're discussing is the $100 or less price range. To over would take this phone out of the category and replace it with the above mentioned which has it's own thread and is exceptionally more competitive...

  • Venky Venketeshv

prasad-gsma, 28 Dec 2019Basically all Android phones running Android 8 and above su... moreBattery life super

  • Anaid

Is this one also filled with bloatwares?

RameshK, 28 Dec 2019If you are able to while reviewing all phones, could you al... moreBasically all Android phones running Android 8 and above support LDAC since it's part of the OS now. The Redmi 8A does, too. The phone does not, however, support USB audio. I could not get it to route the audio through my Fiio E10 DAC/amp nor the Type-C Bullets.

  • Sam

Well done Gsmarena,

This is a very honest review. No sugarcoating, no company pleasing.
Truth as it is.
Appreciable.

  • MIUI Ads

Welcome to family miui ads

  • Alop

It takes sharper pictures than most Motorola's from any price range.

Alex 94, 27 Dec 2019Moto cant compare with redmi.For 30-40 more dollars u almos... moreWhy not? I think these type of phones are for people who are looking for long battery endurance and Moto is offering exactly that, but with a better camera, more RAM and better software, although a bit more expensive. I would choose Redmi 8A only in case that money are realy important and paying 30-40 $/€ extra is too much.

  • I'mPhone

Persia, 27 Dec 2019very ugly device design , Also Miui is not good at all Actually I have to admit that the design is fine. On paper the spec is fine.

Again it's just the software with ads and bloatware. Unlocking the bootloader is possible if you want to remove them, at the cost of your device warranty.

Yes I think the C2 (2020) is better, the chipset isn't bad for the price.

If you want a true Xiaomi device you will need to buy at least the Pocophone F1 or Redmi K20.

If you are able to while reviewing all phones, could you also kindly check if LDAC Bluetooth audio codec is supported and USB DAC Audio support is available

Thank you

Persia, 27 Dec 2019very ugly device design , Also Miui is not good at all You obviously must be a Troll,what is different in design of the phone from all the other phones that litter everywhere?

That you don't like MIUI does not make it bad,just that,you don't like it..

KondriX, 27 Dec 2019It's a good phone, considering the price, but I think you c... moreMoto cant compare with redmi.For 30-40 more dollars u almost get redmi note 8 , 4/64 gb variant. For me that is best deal on the market. Also nobody except Realme can offer sd 439 for 90$. Buying phone with 2gb of ram is very bad idea, always go for at least 3gb.

  • Anonymous

The most important thing I wanted to see, the battery endurance, wasn't presented, and yet you had the time to do the testing on redmi note 8T which is the same of redmi note 8... Who defines the priorities in this place? Is he sleeping?