Huawei P40 review

8 April 2020


Sort by:

Anonymous, 18 Jan 2021It falls 1 time En the screen is broken Really? Mine dropped from the first floor on the staircase, it hit the stairs twice landed on the floor with the frame and almost nothing happened. Only some visible damage on the frame.

  • Anonymous

It falls 1 time En the screen is broken

  • Duki92

Guys, can anyone share with me your SOT?
I can buy this phone brand new for 380 euros but I'm a bit worried ab battery life. Even then, can't think of any other phone with better camera at this price (except mi note 10, but I can't stand xiaomi software anymore)

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Apr 2020Why not increase the battery capacity or at least keep the ... moreIncreasing the size of battery will also increase the size of device
USB-C headphone is already increased inside the box too

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020I was talking about gcam for the 108mp sensor on the MI not... moreIt doesn't come with the device
You'll have to download manually
You want additional software to process it to make it look better? Then just load photos on PC and edit with photoshop, duh
Nobody but geeks care about small detail difference on smartphone photos

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020So you compare pixel 4 gcam processing to Huawei p40 pro? ... moreAnother nonsense gcam hype that most users don't care about
You must be watching youtube too much

  • Marco

So who has it and got google stuff installed successfully (by using some method from elsewhere)?
And after installing google, is the device reliable enough?
Feels insecure, because we've been tied to google craps since a long time ago, including some of bank apps, which I'm not sure whether it's gonna work or not until I try it myself.

  • Anonymous

Nemo, 06 Dec 2020I'm an apple die hard fan, but this is the only phone ... morethat's the thing
it's got the quality and feel that others can hardly match

  • ANON

Peter the cat, 11 Dec 2020Mi note 10 (Mi note 10 pro = CC9 Pro Premium edition) camer... moreThat's only in spec sheet

  • Peter the cat

Mi note 10 (Mi note 10 pro = CC9 Pro Premium edition) camera is better than P40 camera ... Doxomark
P40 112 Camera global score ; 115 Photo
Mi note 10 Pro (CC9 Premium edition) 121 camera lobal score and 130 photo
There is a very very big difference, an easy win for Mi note 10 ...

Of course Mi note 10 have GSM and is less expensive than P40
https://www.dxomark.com/huawei-p40-camera-review-mid-ranger-with-potential/
https://www.dxomark.com/xiaomi-mi-cc9-pro-premium-edition-camera-review/

I've Mi note 10 and i'm very happy moreover there were many updates and MIUI12 which improved my camera since the doxmark test, now it sees in the night

Maybe the P40 is not that good for the price and mobile phones are a big handicap.

Personally I find the published photos are a bit dull, maybe lacking a little dynamic range

I ordered a P40 to offer someone looking for a compact photophone not yet received but my Xiaomi still impresses me especially since the updates, if the P40 is so far behind with in addition the absence of google I don't know if i will keep it or return it

  • Nemo

I'm an apple die hard fan, but this is the only phone i would buy over an apple. I went to the store and touching it and testing it was heaven.

The aesthetics on this phone are unmatched

Aierlan, 09 Apr 2020Hard to say which is best without having and using all the ... moreSo true

I very suprised with the work they did on camera. I kind of tested it in the local operater store. Pictures are really detailed. If u like taking photo then this is the phone u should buy.

In review you state that 4k video quality is good, but then you list it as a Con at the end.
"4K videos are underwhelming."

Also, you don't list as a Pro the option of expandable storage, but only list it as a Con.

  • Starkfrost

Images, taken with "3x" zoom camera lack real resolution a lot. Many jagged edges, sometimes it looks almost like "nearest neighbour" (lowest quality) interpolation after upscaling. Looking at samples, I just can't agree that "the images are sharp and detailed". Please guys, don't follow the way of DxO, don't call black white.

  • Starkfrost

Images, taken with "3x" zoom camera lack real resolution a lot. Many jagged edges, sometimes it looks almost like "nearest neighbour" (lowest quality) interpolation after upscaling. Looking at samples, I just can't agree that "the images are sharp and detailed". Please guys, don't follow the way of DxO, don't call black white.

  • Ryan

I am starting to feel terrible choosing this device for my plan renewal in our country with the same plan I had since P20 last 2018 or my Gr5 since 2016.
I guess it lured me with the freebies 3 giveaway promo. It's just so sad reading about this phone's verdict - not getting recommended and all. The phone's not even gonna be on my experience by June 19th, or not at least during COVID-19's situation. I hope you're gonna give a heads up about it.

Anonymous, 17 Apr 2020The question is whether it uses the edges from the ultra wi... moreI don't see any reason for going through the former process when the latter is so much less taxing for CPU/ISP and yet still produces more consistent looking images.

  • Anonymous

"Something seems to be terribly wrong with the P40's Night Mode as it offers far inferior photos"
Huawei's night mode was maybe never really good. I remember when they introduced the night mode with the P20 Pro. Many people were excited, but when I looked at sample images, the auto mode images were often much sharper and had great dynamic range.
At the presentation of the P40 Pro Huawei indicated that they don't combine multiple exposures in low light conditions, if night mode isn't used. I don't know whether that's really true, but if yes, it would indicate that Huawei can't handle multiple exposures well, but has a good algorithm (or machine learning?) in order to get good single exposure results in low-light conditions.

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 17 Apr 2020So P40 Pro series CAN actually shoot at 23mm equiv. field o... moreThe question is whether it uses the edges from the ultra wide angle camera (image fusion) or whether it uses the total field of view of the main camera. One would need to cover the ultra wide angle camera.