Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra 5G review

18 August 2020


Sort by:

  • Exxix


Until Samsung brings back the iris scanner and 35mm jack, I will keep using my Note9. When it finally dies, I'll just buy another Note9. Right now I don't care about 5G, powershare, ultracameras or stupid pricing. I just love my complete Note9 because it gets the job done and I love Samsung Pay on it.

Side note: I was gonna get a galaxy watch 3 but I found out it has no MST, only NFC. No way I'll pay so much for so little. Samsung pay(MST/NFC) is my only reason for a smartwatch.

Iris scan unlock is not perfect but it is the best method for contactless payment and unlock. I don't need to take off my gloves in winter to unlock my phone or type pin/password. I just glance and, boom, it is done. Same for using Samsung pay. Release and activate with iris scan. Oh well! Someone very wise in Samsung management decided to remove such a useful feature and keep gimmicks and crap feature AR Doodle. Well done!

Also I think, slowly but surely, Samsung is going the way of Nokia, HTC, Blackberry and Sony. How hard is it to give the exact same specs and features to both big and small Note 20s. If my phone is gonna cost above $1000, it had better have everything plus the kitchen sink and the dishwasher. Bad decisions and inability to see what people want will see a fall in demand. Market share decay will see to the rest.

  • Guru murthy

J, 28 Aug 2020I have the Exynos version as well, honestly it runs cool wi... moreGuru murthy. Sumsang galaxy phone o.like me

  • Anonymous

Mocked this phone until I tried it , nothing comes close to its build quality and polish in general. Amazing.

  • CyanideJuiceBox

J, 28 Aug 2020I have the Exynos version as well, honestly it runs cool wi... moreWell running the phone at 60Hz will definitely boost its battery capabilities. But when you pay what is arguably £1000+ for the phone, you would expect a much better battery optimised phone (which is able to use 120Hz at the same time)

  • J

Revonox, 24 Aug 2020Following up on my recent comment, I decided to bite the bu... moreI have the Exynos version as well, honestly it runs cool with no issues as isn't 6 hrs of SOT good? I can get 8 hours on 60 Hz

  • .alpha

Only 2 Fall flagship are out and Note20 Ultra already lost to Mi 10 Ultra. When Huawei, Apple, Google, and Oppo release their flagship in the coming months, Note would be hugely priced and inferior

  • Starr

jeigonm02, 23 Aug 2020hey, samsung note 20 ultra display is 8bit or 10bit like on... moreThe Note 20 ultra has a 10bit color rendering display , 16,7 million color gamet.

  • Anonymous

old samsung user, 21 Aug 2020The phone price is really unjustified. Samsung is experimen... moreWhile you are right... the flip side to that is that everyone is over priced lately. They all are. And unfortunately samsung had put much more time tech and money into their factories and devices. So they earned a higher price tag than others.
However they all cost to much and need to drop the price.

  • Anonymous

Roberthxx, 22 Aug 2020Now, Samsung can not compete with Apple anymore. Here is wh... moreOh please.
Can't compete. 😂😂
And what a list too

  • Anonymous

Nitin Yad, 24 Aug 2020The cost of the device seem to have upgraded but the featur... moreRight. The only thing that really improved is the display

  • Anonymous

Revonox, 24 Aug 2020Following up on my recent comment, I decided to bite the bu... moreIts not as good as the snap. But not this horrible unusable thing you make it out to be. Also putting it in medium power saving is said to keep heat, throttling, and performance all up to top notch. As far as exy goes.

Following up on my recent comment, I decided to bite the bullet and give the note a spin for a few days.

My advice: stay away from Exynos at all costs.

If you can get your hands on the SD version, good! Then you'll have a great phone and successor to the Note 10 on your hands. If you can only get your hands on the Exynos version, make sure to pack some gloves. This thing can get ridiculously hot even under medium load, especially with the 120hz option turned on. Battery life is horrible as well. I got at most 6h of SOT.

Seeing as Samsung is planning on ditching Snapdragon entirely for the next Galaxy S30.. well, guess I'll never own one.

  • Nitin Yad

The cost of the device seem to have upgraded but the features are not so much. I wish it was a bit affordable.

  • RamanD

Snapdragon 865 is a bit of issue due to its battery drain features. I think the smartphone could have been priced better.

  • CK DINESH

Would be great if you can do Note 20 Ultra 4G review as I think it will have better battery endurance than the 5G.

How many times did it interrupt you and ask for you to sign up for a Samsung service? You didn't even touch the phone if it's less than 20. Did you get the super creepy pop-up about noticing that you got some exercise and asking to share it with the world? Did you get the July 2020 WiFi driver that drops constantly? Did you pick up the phone in the morning and find that Galaxy Store added 15 new spyware apps that can't be disabled or have their permissions revoked? Is it missing promised security updates yet.

  • Anon

Punnet, 20 Aug 2020Samsung never disappoints with its performance, especially ... morePerformance or overpricing?

  • Anonymous

When's the review for the regular N20 coming out?

  • jeigonm02

hey, samsung note 20 ultra display is 8bit or 10bit like oneplus 8 pro?

Roberthxx, 22 Aug 2020Now, Samsung can not compete with Apple anymore. Here is wh... moreLol, nothing suits you! How sad.. Lol