Sony Xperia 5 II review

28 September 2020


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • Kx6
  • 07 Mar 2022

Kara Murat, 04 Dec 2021you've never had a Sony smartphone and it shows becaus... moreOof what a foul mouth you have dude. You dont have to get irritated over someone opinion which clearly objective and called them "poor" and "spit like a pig" is that how your parents raised you ? to be a immoral person ?

probably the one who spit like a p** is you. you dont even read the posting rules about "be polite and use common sense"

btw, i've been using wireless charging with qi since s6 edge and now daily driven a zfold 2, and i dont feel significance difference of display time each day.

i dont get the correlation between wireless charging and battery longevity, they got hot ? no, just warm, but wired charging got hot/warm too. My qi charger maxed at 1amp, and the wired can hit 1.5-2amp easily. I'm more bothered about how amps affect my battery life rather than charging method i use.

and lastly magnetic charging = wired charging, their port tend to breaks due to powerful magnet pulling out the phone from the port.

im a samsung fanboi? no, i've been daily drive sony phone as well, from Xperia L, Z3 and XZ1, and i still keep the xz1 in my drawer since i really like that phone.

    • D
    • DQ
    • grb
    • 07 Mar 2022

    Yeah I had the Z1 Compact and Z3 Compact and the magnetic connector was one of the best features, however it was badly designed since it relied purely in adhesive to keep it placed in the frame of the device and when it was use too often, overtime it would eventually get loose. I still have a couple of magnetic accessories, as well as the Sony Car Stereo that used your phone as the main unit display.
    Right now I use my Xperia 5 II and I do miss that secondary charging option, but it is not a deal breaker.

      flagshipper, 27 Feb 2021Main facts: 5ii lacks Qi charging, 1ii lacks 120hz. i neve... moreyou've never had a Sony smartphone and it shows because you're a poor guy who just knows how to spit like a pig, the screen is 120 hertz compatible !! and it does not need wireless charging because it damages the longevity of the battery and Sony prefers to favor the wire on this model and that suits us very well and it is the only high-end with jack plug

        no it's wrong I have no reception problem it's even ke contra or re I capture the 4 g and the 5 G very well

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • v$I
          • 30 Jun 2021

          GoToSchool, 08 Jan 2021Guys please what's the best phone case - screen protec... moreoriginal sony phone case

            • D
            • DJ62
            • mRj
            • 20 May 2021

            bbglim, 30 Mar 2021the network reception is shit in this phone. stay awayI don't know what country you live in or who your provider is but in the NL with Vodafone 5G reception is great!

              • P
              • Pingo
              • m54
              • 15 May 2021

              bbglim, 30 Mar 2021the network reception is shit in this phone. stay awayHad OS and system update but finding issues with phone signal reception. Thought it was other caller but is happening too many times, just no signal or weak signal sometimes annoyingly when that long call is needed to your bank.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • p}2
                • 02 May 2021

                bbglim, 30 Mar 2021the network reception is shit in this phone. stay awaySure? Somebody have same opinion? 4G and 5G have bad reception?

                  the network reception is shit in this phone. stay away

                    • S
                    • Suru82
                    • StU
                    • 14 Mar 2021

                    Suru82, 23 Feb 2021Check battery using app accubattery i have this same probl... moreNew system update fix this now work flawlessly

                      • S
                      • Suru82
                      • 3HM
                      • 14 Mar 2021

                      Suru82, 23 Feb 2021Check battery using app accubattery i have this same probl... moreNew system update fix this now work flawlessly

                        • f
                        • flagshipper
                        • xe9
                        • 27 Feb 2021

                        Main facts: 5ii lacks Qi charging, 1ii lacks 120hz.
                        i never had a Sony phone but i remember one cool feature that could actually substitute wireless charging (which is the best phone feature of the decade!): the magnetic charging. A colleague had two dots on the Sony phone which could attach to a dock. That was cool! Happened maybe 5+ years ago.

                          • S
                          • Suru82
                          • 0Fm
                          • 23 Feb 2021

                          Nyan, 16 Jan 2021I've been using this for 3 weeks. And man... I guess I... moreCheck battery using app accubattery i have this same problem.problem with battery condition after 4 months at this moment i have 89% (using app 1 week but i think battery has around 80%). At this moment i contact with Sony to change battery on my phone.

                            I have the Sony Xperia 5 ii and I can tell you that this phone is very powerful, every year I buy a phone with the most powerful chip from Qualcomm 835-845-855 and 865 and I can tell you that the Xperia 5 it is the most fluid phone I have used so far and that at 60 hertz it is very fast, applications open in a flash it is incredible! Frankly I'm very happy with my purchase and it's a shame that few people really know Sony because to try it is to adopt it, I was skeptical of the 21/9 format, especially for 16/16 videos. 9th and this is acceptable but I prefer to watch Netflix movies in 21 / 9th format, I am not someone who uses the camera a lot so I could not give my opinion, but the 68mm width and weight 168 grams were enough for me to buy it and compared to smartphones that exceed 200 grams with 76 mm width it feels terribly good on my wrist

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • mE0
                              • 11 Feb 2021

                              pt020, 21 Jan 2021I go 6 days with one charge. Even if you use it daily ?

                                • p
                                • pt020
                                • ncr
                                • 21 Jan 2021

                                Lowkey-Loki, 15 Dec 2020I am frustrated by how terrible the battery life is on the ... moreI go 6 days with one charge.

                                  • N
                                  • Nyan
                                  • trP
                                  • 16 Jan 2021

                                  I've been using this for 3 weeks. And man... I guess I can understand why Sony phones are speacial than the rest. Build quality is good, screen is amazing, no hiccups on everyday uses, gaming... However, the size of the phone is...a little funny :). When I just bought it, I though the small screen was a let down since I've been enjoying Samsung Note 10. But then I found it incredibly convenient. I spend lots of time at building constructions, with this phone I can easily take it out and take some shots at the constructions whenever I need. If Sony keeps making phones like xperia 1 or 5 series, I think only small group of certain customers can understand how good they are, for me I think I can really ne a regular one :)))))

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • ucy
                                    • 12 Jan 2021

                                    Anonymous, 12 Dec 2020I am glad Sony is sticking to non-bezeless phones (at least... moreA TV doesn't need a selfie camera stuck in there. Honestly, it's more personal preference. It might be absolutely jaw-dropping for you to hear that I honestly really like hole-punch designs, just scrolling stuff up and down past the cutout, watching content disappear and reappear on the other side, kind of makes me think "Huh, yeah, it works perfectly! Great engineering!"

                                    Maybe I'm just more of someone to appreciate great engineering. Don't fret, though - when your Xperia 5 ii wears out, under-screen cameras will be everywhere.

                                      Guys please what's the best phone case - screen protector for this phone? It's difficult to do edge swipes sometimes with the phone case I have. Unfortunately Spigen don't have Tough Armour case for this phone, only rugged armour. Tough armour might have had flatter/angled side which makes edge swiping easier.

                                        • K
                                        • Khadri
                                        • U{V
                                        • 03 Jan 2021

                                        Anonymous, 26 Dec 2020This is now one of a kind phone, just like the first foldab... moreThe Best Brand Sony in world