Camera test: iPhone 12 vs. 12 Pro vs. 11 Pro

12 November 2020


Sort by:

iOS-Never-Again, 13 Nov 2020Yes I agree 👍 with you 💯 % IPhone video is great (best vid... moreI just got an Mi 10 ultra for my wife few days back. Total head turner with its transparent design on the back. She is having a lot of people ask her about the phone. All her friends have an iPhone or a Galaxy, which all look boring to be frank.
She is in love with the Potrait lens. IMO every phone should have dedicated Potrait lens, unlike those small cheap quality lenses with 2x optical zoom.
The video through the dual telephoto cameras is superb even at night.
2x, 5x ,photos, videos, they are all great.
Hands down the best camera of 2020 since very few people apart from the folks in China want to invest money in buying Huawei flagships.

Android Authority, 13 Nov 2020Have you ever tested video from anything other than main se... moreYes I agree 👍 with you 💯 %
IPhone video is great (best video quality in 2019) but that title is only reserved for video from Main camera. Video from other sensors is straight up garbage. These Youtubers never talk about video out of other lens as they'll stop getting devices from Apple for reviews if they criticize that part.

The quality of main sensor is great for daytime but after upgrading to OP8 Pro, I realized how the night-time footage on iPhone 11 pro Max was full of noise.
The output from my OP8 pro is much cleaner and had way less noise in night time videos.
I mean one can only push a small sensor so much.

Daytime video quality of iPhone was on par with OP8 pro.
The Ultrawide video from iPhone was trash in low light. OP8 pro with big 1/2" sensor gives me great results from Ultrawide irrespective of lighting conditions.

Video through telephoto was also weak on iPhone. OP8 pro telephoto video isn't that great either but on phones like Galaxy S20 ultra and MI 10 ultra, it's supposed to be great in daytime as well as night time.

Anonymous, 12 Nov 2020Why this camera comparison? All have same sensor, similar i... moreIt takes times, times that are needed for the news and for the review and so on ;)

It's not *that* easy to make.

I think this comparison is very good because it highlight the quality on all model and allow to chose more carefully. At first I was interested by 12 Pro due to the 3 cameras and even the Pro Max for the better optic (But the size is too much in my taste) and yet, the 12 is better. Too bad that I prefer the matte finish on the back of the 12 Pro but don't like the glossy rim on it ... Well, nothing is perfect this year I guess :P

MrHong, 13 Nov 2020Android begs Apple for video and potrait quality. Only Sams... moreHave you ever tested video from anything other than main sensor of iPhone?
The video through zoom lens and Ultrawide are simply below the standards when compared to other phones this year.
Stop listening to online reviewers blindly.
The footage through Ultrawide comes out dark and is barely usable.
Even video from Main sensor is extremely noisy at night as the 1/2.55" sensor is too small and too old to compete with other big sensors on the market.

MrHong, 13 Nov 2020I watched MrWhoseTheBoss's camera comparison (although... more"Daylight photography is still not up to par due to minimal processing"
More like due to a smaller sensor. iPhone's post processing is definitely on a more aggressive side with tons of clarity boost, sharpening and noise reduction, but since it doesn't boost colour saturation as much as phones from other brands do it tends to give people an impression that photos look more "natural".

I prefer 11 Pro's processing over 12 Pro's, so-called "Smart HDR 3" that Apple uses this year looks like a mess compared to the previous generation one (Especially if you look at the telephoto camera samples).

AnonD-923722, 13 Nov 2020Gsmarena, please compare the cameras of : 1. Huawei Mate ... moreAs for 1): Even people living in the mainland China are struggling to get their hands on it, how the hell is GSMArena supposed to buy a review unit???

  • MrHong

Anonymous, 12 Nov 2020IPhone users are kept to wait for years to get a particular... moreAndroid begs Apple for video and potrait quality. Only Samsung and Xiaomi can come close to Apple's standards, other brands can't.

  • MrHong

Anonymous, 12 Nov 2020If you have an iPhone 11 series phone, don't bother up... moreI watched MrWhoseTheBoss's camera comparison (although not my channel of choice). Disclaimer, I'm not a camera expert.

The i12 Pro Max beats Note 20U and Mate 40P in low light photography. Daylight photography is still not up to par due to minimal processing. As usual, potraits and videography is still where iPhone excels.

If you are upgrading from i11 to i12 Pro Max, it still makes sense. To regular i12 and i12 Pro? Useless. Besides the i12 series are plagued with software and hardware issues.

  • AnonD-923722

Gsmarena, please compare the cameras of :
1. Huawei Mate 40 Pro Plus
2. Huawei Mate 40 Pro
3. Samsung galaxy note 20 ultra
4. Iphone 12 Pro max
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 Ultra
6. Pixel 5

Reason why Mate 40 Pro Plus and Mate 40 Pro needs to be seperately compared because they have an totakly different camera system.
Mate 40 Pro Plus has an OIS on the main camera, (the Pro model lacks OIS), An wider 14mm ultrawide lens compared to the 18mm on the Pro model, an additional 3x Telephoto lens, an 10x Optical zoom lens

  • Stivi737

I am finally going for an Iphone after 10 years of Android. Should i get the 11 Pro or the 12 Mini? Pricewise they are the same. Pros on the Mini: newest form factor, better wide angle camera, great size. Cons on the Mini: glossy back, worse battery, not such an ergonomic form factor, have to buy charger.
I would like advices, thanks.

  • Anonymous

If you have an iPhone 11 series phone, don't bother upgrading to the 12 series as there isn't much improvement overall like the improvements on their Android counterparts with big boy sensors.
Even the 12 pro Max as tested on YouTube didn't match up to the expectations and produces less sharp, softer images with weak secondary cameras like Ultrawide and telephoto.

  • Anonymous

Phny, 12 Nov 2020Nice camera shoot out review. There‘s really no point upgra... moreIPhone users are kept to wait for years to get a particular feature while Android users get the latest and greatest.
Most of these things have percolated on budget Androids while iOS users left to the beg.

  • Phny

Nice camera shoot out review. There‘s really no point upgrading from 11 pro. Better save money for the pandemic emergency and wait for 2021 iPhones with much more improvements like 120hz screen and finger print reader. Entering passcode every unlock is so much cumbersome!

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 12 Nov 2020Why this camera comparison? All have same sensor, similar i... moreIt is wrong to compare cameras of different size.
Bigger is always better.

  • Anonymous

Why this camera comparison? All have same sensor, similar image quality.
Plz give us camera comparison of all 2020 flagships.

Thank you GSMArena for this comparison. I am happy with my 11 pro Max, of course I am not a guy who upgrades every year.

  • Ban

For some mean reason I love how GSMArana has to mention at the end of any iPhone review something like, "well we had to write that whole load of words, because it's our job, but we know you don't care, because you're buying anyway"

  • Anonymous

12 and 12 = obviously equal due to same camera

12 pro = worse than 11 pro (Congrats to Apple !!!!!! )

  • AngryLithuanian

11 pro outdid both, am I right?