OnePlus 9 Pro review

23 March 2021


Sort by:

Yes you are right. But only and just only the best software and UI in smartphones is Samsung ONE UI the perfect one.

Android-Authority, 25 Mar 2021A lot of people are complaining about price here and blindl... moreI agree, here in the UK, the 256GB version of the S21 Ultra is £270 (about $370 or €315) more expensive than the 256GB version of the OnePlus 9 Pro, and it is the Exynos version, so yeah I'd rather have the OnePlus 9 Pro, in fact I've preordered it already. I hate Samsung's One UI anyway.

A lot of people are complaining about price here and blindly labeling the S21 Ultra being a better buy. These guys must have watched reviews from Youtubers, majority of which are American.
Yes S21 Ultra is a better buy than this, but only in the US where it costs the same and gets Snapdragon SOC.
In other parts of the world, the S21 Ultra is on an average 200€ more expensive than this and comes with Exynos version.

  • Nik

Device addict, 25 Mar 2021Huawei would have crushed the competition if not because of... moreExactly

  • Kingshuk

Audio zoom feature and the nokia ozo true to life audio record technology still there?

Anonymous, 25 Mar 2021I've heard this almost every year OnePlus (and other c... moreMost of the average consumers do know about gcam. There are so many budget phone users, who are completely reliant upon gcam for their camera duties.

My OP8 pro has fully functional gcam and works on all lenses.
It gives much sharper results from the telephoto lens compared to iPhone 12 pro Max, regular Galaxy S20/S21 series because of ggcam

  • Device addict

Anonymous, 24 Mar 2021With 1,000 EUR price tag, I don't think many people wo... moreHuawei would have crushed the competition if not because of the us ban.
I'm sad for them 😭

Replicant , 25 Mar 2021Find X3 is better than OnePlus 9 and Galaxy S21. Certainly not for me. Samsung have more obvious advantages. Don't wanna feed CCP anyway.

  • Anonymous

1080p videos in 9 and 9 pro test are the same. fix this

Anonymous, 24 Mar 2021OP already released an update which corrects the noise and ... moreThe review units already had the update. There have been no further updates since.

  • Azmul

As a OP8 owner, I am surprised of the OP9, and not for the hardware or software. In my opinion, the price does not justify the product, not by a mile. There is no Hasselblad hardware inside this phone. Remember, Hasselblad is a Hardware Photography Products company. This product might be the biggest Flop of 2021.

Anonymous, 24 Mar 2021So, with all the hype, oneplus still SETTLE for average the... moreunfortunately, mi 10 ultra was a china only phone, its also the reason why GSM arena was not able to inlclude it on the 3 way , side by side camera comparison with the best of the best. when it was released it was just below 650 usd, which was twice the price of the S21 ultra. Insane

  • Alex

OP8 Pro clearly has better camera quality. What's with all this noise in broad daylight on OP9 Pro pictures!?

  • Anonymous

Android--Master, 25 Mar 2021I think these cons in terms of camera can be corrected with... moreI've heard this almost every year OnePlus (and other companies for that matter) have released and underwhelming camera upgrade. While they're maybe some software upgrades, they are never enough to fix the complaints people originally had about it. The only real way to fix it is with Gcam (which does a very good job at getting the most out of hardware, but is limited by what the company allows to be accessed by apps), and let's be honest most average consumers aren't going to or know how to make Gcam work on there phone especially the best iteration of itfor their

Replicant , 25 Mar 2021Find X3 is better than OnePlus 9 and Galaxy S21. Find X3 is a good phone, it has Snapdragon 870 though.
But I don't think it should be a problem in day to day usage.
Plus it provides better stability compared to Snapdragon 888 devices during stress tests.

That €700-€900 segment is jam packed with great offerings.
People shouldn't look past last year's flagships as it has all the bells and whistles one can ask for, minus the heavy power consumption and thermal throttling issues.

Where are those guys who were complaining about Snapdragon 865 flagships being too expensive last year?? Now that they are cheap, these guys have suddenly started considering it as an inferior processor.

Replicant , 25 Mar 2021People kept telling me to wait for the OnePlus 9 Pro as it ... moreI think these cons in terms of camera can be corrected with a software update. But that would mean going back on the Hasselblad processing look.
Gcam should do rest of the job. OnePlus has great developer community support.

  • Anonymous

Companies like Hasselblad are living on past glory and companies like Oneplus, Oppo, Huawei are just milking this past glory.

Real advancements in camera tech, sensor tech and ISP are being done by companies like Sony, Google, Apple and Samsung. I don't understand how a cameras that relied on excellence in pure optics in the 70s could still be relevant today when the role of electronics in image processing and color science (the new buzz word for Youtubers) etc is far more important.

I mean you could dig up a 100 year old company that used to make those old bellow cameras and say I now have a legendary camera name on my glass back.

Plain stupidity.

  • Replicant

Whackcar, 24 Mar 2021The Pros/Cons section is a bit biased though. Take a look a... moreFind X3 pro better than Galaxy S21 and OnePlus 9 Pro.

  • Replicant

Whackcar, 24 Mar 2021The Pros/Cons section is a bit biased though. Take a look a... morePeople kept telling me to wait for the OnePlus 9 Pro as it would be equally good but 200€ cheaper.
I refused to listen to them, went with my instinct and got the Oppo Find X3 pro 12gb/256gb white variant.
OnePlus 9 Pro starts at €829, ends up being €929 for 12gb/256gb variant.

The Find X3 pro ended up costing me around €920.
Happy that the Find X3 pro doesn't have the same cons in camera and other things.

  • Replicant

VectorR, 24 Mar 2021True. I think vanilla Galaxy S21 is better and more importa... moreFind X3 is better than OnePlus 9 and Galaxy S21.