nubia Red Magic 6 review

09 April 2021


Sort by:

Hello I need a recommendation 800 usd max atleast some sort of water resistance and a powerful gaming device I was looking at the oneplus 8 pro to upgrade from my 7 pro but the display complaints are making me uncertain and other recommendations?

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • sbr
    • 13 Apr 2021

    MrDong, 13 Apr 2021True. Makes no sense buying a gaming phone unless you want ... moreMy PS3 can run those

      • M
      • MrDong
      • xZI
      • 13 Apr 2021

      ae86, 12 Apr 2021Gaming phones are getting better and better but mobile game... moreTrue. Makes no sense buying a gaming phone unless you want to show off. It’s not like gaming phones can run Call of Duty Cold War or Read Dead Redemption. So pointless

        D-Wizz, 11 Apr 2021I have the red magic 5g. Runs beautifully. Never gets hot w... moreI'm with you. I was with a few others here wondering how the Huawei P40 Pro+ had a better rating than the ROG 3 despite the ROG losing only in camera and winning in battery, audio (by a huge mile), having Google, RAM/hard drive space, and performance.

        Camera is not even in my top 5 of importance in a smartphone...

          • ae86
          • vaS
          • 12 Apr 2021

          chris1998, 11 Apr 2021I legit don't understand why u need a 165 refresh rate... moreBecause consumers and reviewers are very demanding. They demand all the power/feature possible for the phone, even though they already know what is enough for them. This thinking is what pushing companies to do such things.


          tldr: Greed

            • ae86
            • vaS
            • 12 Apr 2021

            Gaming phones are getting better and better but mobile games are still... Meh-

              D-Wizz, 11 Apr 2021I have the red magic 5g. Runs beautifully. Never gets hot w... moretrue man, i hate when reviewers they judge gaming phone by camera, resolution and other petty things and completely skip things like sustained perfomance which make these phones better than non gaming phones.

                I legit don't understand why u need a 165 refresh rate . Especially when the only games that support it are little indie games that even a 2015 phone could run perfectly

                  I have the red magic 5g. Runs beautifully. Never gets hot while gaming. Gets hot if charging while talking. I can always tell a bad review when the first thing they do is start talking about the camera. Phones do way way more than that but apparently when you know nothing about a phone except that it takes pictures, that's your go to. All I do is pose for selfies next to my coffee drink and post it. Do they do anything else? It's a gaming phone. It plays games! And it does it quite well. In fact for emulators, I'd go as far as saying the best. From anywhere you can carry the controllers in your pocket, pull them out, slide them on the phone and start playing classic megaman, starfox, ratchet and clank, whatever your heart desires. The pictures look good too. Who cares that this camera has a little bit different shadowing than that one! Or that one. Or that one.

                    Tech BoyDexe, 09 Apr 2021Finally I am first to comment And Man this phone is awesome... moreCan you get this phone for me? 🥺😁

                      your charging rate test numbers/chart is of little value or misleading. Percentage numbers don't tell how much juice was put into the battery and so is the useless 0-100% time. You could simply connect a USB charge meter though I don't know if it supports charging voltages above 5V.

                        WhySoSeri0us, 10 Apr 2021Because it doesn't have band n3 (1800)?It only has 5G bands 41 and 78. That's not enough for any country not named China (unless you count the exclusion of 79 for them). This is essentially a 4G phone.

                          Dometalican, 09 Apr 2021It improved...just not on the LTE/5G band front. We can bar... moreBecause it doesn't have band n3 (1800)?

                            cyber, 09 Apr 2021another gaming phone from brand who has nothing to do with ... moreYour good quality Samsung and Apple phones are reduced to 70% or less of their initial performance during gaming due to thermal throttling while this one stays at 94%.

                            Oops I just praised a Chinese brand, now people over here will start to think I am using Chinese phone. This is how c|ueless people are on this site.

                              • P
                              • Pavel Bures
                              • S4U
                              • 10 Apr 2021

                              Does it suffer from PWM flicker?

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • gns
                                • 10 Apr 2021

                                Who would have thought that GSMARENA considers 165Hz as a con.
                                I would love to know what if it was a Samsung smartphone.

                                  Red or Black? I see.

                                    • M
                                    • MrDong
                                    • xZI
                                    • 10 Apr 2021

                                    Looks cool and flashy, but overall also seems to be a pointless phone. I have seen the ROG Phone 3 myself and it appears to be the better phone. As for gaming, if you play triple A games with high graphics (like Genshin) this is for you, but there are only few titles anyway. For PUBG and COD Mobile, the iPhone with just 60Hz refresh rate and 120Hz touch sampling rate reigns supreme and even many livestreamers still use the iPhone/iPad. The iPhone is also the phone that is used in many offline tournaments in PUBG Mobile...even Xs Max oven phone won #1 in Asia tournament 😉

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • Yd6
                                      • 09 Apr 2021

                                      I just find funny how much they praise the asus rog phone, but there are very two important things to know that we're not mentioned above,
                                      1. Asus just sucks for software updates (late and rare one of the worst among mobile device brands)
                                      2. The latest rog phone is NOT solid, google the durability test from jerryrigeverything, the phone breaks (shattered glass, stops working completely) during the bend test (which the vast majority of phones survive without even cracking)

                                      Regarding the redmagic, they mention it having a fan / being the only phone with one but that's because the fan approche is bad, since it's a moving part, it requires power which cuts into the battery life and it concentrates the heat in one place (near the exhaust) in any case the fan didn't really work for the last redmagic with users/reviewers claiming it got so hot after 30+ mins that they had to stop playing and put it down.

                                      The black shark seems to be the best option of the 3, it may not have the best screen or the largest battery but it holds it's own quite well compared to the others while also having physical triggers, not costing an arm and a leg but most importantly in my opinion, no major issues like the other 2 phones here.

                                      Side note: I did my research last year and came to a similar conclusion which lead me to buy the black shark 3 pro and I can say that I haven't had any issues with it, the physical triggers are really awesome for games and I do not regret buying it at all.

                                        It improved...just not on the LTE/5G band front. We can barely use the 5G with the global variant of this phone.