Asus Zenfone 8 review

12 May 2021


Sort by:

An0n, 21 Sep 2021I wish Asus made another one with SD 778G or SD 780G, sigh.... more+1

    Meh, 15 Jul 2022And the thousands that bricked the first month.Mine didn't brick, so I can't talk about it

      • M
      • Meh
      • 3I{
      • 15 Jul 2022

      SigmaR, 10 Jun 2022No it's not. Didn't have a single problem with it... moreAnd the thousands that bricked the first month.

        SonOfErric , 07 Jun 2022Not really, it's impractical since the cpu cannot be u... moreNo it's not. Didn't have a single problem with it, and it has a good thermal management anyway. The only "issue" is the so so battery life

          • S
          • SonOfErric
          • StU
          • 07 Jun 2022

          All in all, what I would add/change to make this device Ideal is :
          Move the punch hole to the centre (no chrome bezel).
          Add IR Blaster.
          Add telephoto lense.
          Replace 888 cpu with 870.
          Replace usb 2 with usb 3.

            • S
            • SonOfErric
            • StU
            • 07 Jun 2022

            SigmaR, 08 Oct 2021Maybe it is overkill, for now. But it makes it more future proofNot really, it's impractical since the cpu cannot be used at full power in this compact chasis without frying the board. It would really help asus market share to re-release the zenfone 8 with the 870 cpu under a new name "zenfone 8x" for a slightly lower retail price

              Almost, 21 Jan 2022It's almost perfect but bro, the battery life is too s... moreBattery is as big as they can put in a 5.9 inch chassis, along with beefy 888 chip with lot of cooling. You have to sacrifice somewhere: Pixel 5 has same battery size in the same body, it has wireless charging, but oh well now there isn't enough space for a flagship chipset.

                Anonymous, 10 Oct 2021I have Sony Xperia 5 ii and is great !!How's the charging speed?

                  • h
                  • harry
                  • 2SE
                  • 12 Mar 2022

                  Hristo Hristov , 28 Feb 2022The battery is a bit low in capacity but this is not a big ... morekeep outdoor mode activated in sound settings

                    • Q
                    • Query
                    • CbA
                    • 07 Mar 2022

                    Does the phone support esim ?

                      • H
                      • Hristo Hristov
                      • 0Tk
                      • 28 Feb 2022

                      The battery is a bit low in capacity but this is not a big problem. The real problem is the phone lowers the ring volume and I miss calls! I've tried all options but alas ... no success. Maybe the reason is that I accidentally press the volume key but up to now, such a thing didn't happen to any of my previous phones.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • kjB
                        • 14 Feb 2022

                        Anonymous, 03 Jan 2022But it comes with a case ,i bought only Samsung but its my ... moreWhat?

                          • A
                          • Almost
                          • sxr
                          • 21 Jan 2022

                          It's almost perfect but bro, the battery life is too small. I'm pretty sure Asus can imrpove the battery for the next Zenfone. I'll wait ya Asus!!

                            • l
                            • lucas
                            • k0}
                            • 05 Jan 2022

                            What's the difference between the zenfone 8 zoom capabilities and the samsung galaxy s21? Given that both use a 64MP sensor but Samsung can do 3x hybrid zoom and zenfone only 2x loosless? Thanks.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • Lcg
                              • 03 Jan 2022

                              But it comes with a case ,i bought only Samsung but its my past one no morte ever ,Alain not that i complainte but the prince is a fip off we pays on euros the samedi peuple pays on dollars even more not even a snapdragon...ridiculous...to me its over...i tale this as a e exemple 599.00 i paid 1100.00 for a s20 plus 5g .

                              Ridiculous never again

                                • R
                                • Rio
                                • Kx9
                                • 08 Dec 2021

                                No wireless charging :(
                                Makes it less practical nowadays

                                  An0n, 21 Sep 2021I wish Asus made another one with SD 778G or SD 780G, sigh.... more+1

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • Jen
                                    • 10 Oct 2021

                                    peter19, 02 Aug 2021i have xz2 compact and 5ii.IT IS A GREAT UPDATE 5II.... I have Sony Xperia 5 ii and is great !!

                                      An0n, 21 Sep 2021I wish Asus made another one with SD 778G or SD 780G, sigh.... moreMaybe it is overkill, for now. But it makes it more future proof

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • 3SE
                                        • 07 Oct 2021

                                        An0n, 21 Sep 2021I wish Asus made another one with SD 778G or SD 780G, sigh.... moreActually, there are customizable settings where you can lower the speed and the throttling temperature of the phone, making it exactly what you want. The reviewers mention it, but not to the extent they should. That saves battery too. You can throttle the phone down to the level if a S10e, which is still very fast. And you still get the high refresh screen. The only real downside of the phone is the lack of nice 3rd party accessories, like cases and nice screen protectors. One can not beat Samsungs,Pixels and iphones at that.