Sony Xperia 1 III review

05 July 2021


Sort by:

  • blue.sun

No matter what you write, Somy fans are so blind...

  • Anonymous

Fearghast, 05 Jul 2021Sadly, this is exactly what I expected :( Dim screen, poor... moreAnd you forgot something, all that for HI PRICE

Reds, 06 Jul 2021What's your problem? Better battery, better screen and... moreIts not my problem when you fail to read the review properly.

Reds, 06 Jul 2021What's your problem? Better battery, better screen and... moreI wouldn't say the cameras are actually better. The main and the UWA cameras are essentially unchanged from Xperia 1 II, but the telephotos are in fact significantly worse in terms of pure optical quality with lots of blurring on the left half of the frame. Frankly speaking, this is a pretty embarrassing performance for the asking price of $1300.

"Better battery"
Lol look at the endurance scores. It's worse.

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Slight improvements over last year but the list of cons it ... moreDude did you ever use a Sony device? I am using an XZP from 2017 the fingerprint scanner is simply great. The 4K screen is not 4K all the time! It is dropped to 2K on the home screen and 4K only when viewing 4K contents! Then the increasd 500mah battery in the 1 m3 is able to push you for 1 day! The camera are better! It has a world first in that what do you mean it isn't better? I think you are simply putting up excuses that doesn't hold up! You simply hate Sony as a brand and probably will not like any of their products even if they were throned the king one day

knize10, 06 Jul 2021No matter what product Sony makes and market it will leave ... moreSorry but apparently your smartphone has a Sony sensor in it!
Sony sensors are the most used in the marker rn! Then, PlayStation! Who doesn't know the PS5? PS4? Sony TV as well they are among the best rn! Oh and who does not know about the Sony Alpha Cameras nowadays? Or even the Sony WH/F Series?

YUKI93, 06 Jul 2021500mAh battery capacity increase from Mk2 Xperia 1 and yet ... moreDude come on! Some reviews say that they have been trying to throttle the phone but couldn't!

Shui8, 06 Jul 2021True. Getting 1ii now makes much more sense. This 1iii only... moreWhat's your problem? Better battery, better screen and better camera! All 3 of them have been changed!

  • Chuck007

Another phone I like from Sony that unfortunately falls short in some key areas that makes justifying the purchase rather impossible.

1) At the day and age where people are obsessed with selfies, Sony again missed the mark with a subpar selfie cam.

2) No LTPO screen at that price range? Come on..

  • Stephane MAURIS

Last and only Japanese manufacturer in Europe for mobile phones, I will continue with Sony anyway! this model will replace my 1 II. I especially regret the much too late availability date. GSM Arena always the best neutral tests.

Shanti Dope, 06 Jul 2021It was already running out of stock in China when it was fi... moreyou must be thinking I'm referring sales record
I mean comments record on GSMA Sony article 😁

but yes, If Sony still has store in my country, I will buy it in a heartbeat
It tick almost all my preference checkbox (audio jack, square flat unintrusive screen, front stereo speakers, and the balanced front design)

Only 42% in 30 minutes using a 30w charger? That doesn't add up. It's only 4500mah. Look at the zenfone 8. It has 500mah more, same wattage but does 50+%.

  • Anonymous

Shanti Dope, 06 Jul 2021It wasn't that high price is being justified by 12GB R... moreWhy not give 8 GB and charge a cheaper price then? Ah so you are saying Sony is being greedy...

  • Anonymous

YUKI93, 06 Jul 20216GB RAM in 2019 is commonplace. Even Google's Pixel 4 ... moreNope. You do not compare with Pixels as they do not come with the best hardware of the day. Other 2019 flagships like OnePlus 7T, P30 Pro, and Mi 9 had 8 GB RAM and S10+ had up to 12 GB RAM. Even a mid-range A70 had an 8 GB version.

Fayth, 06 Jul 2021the last Mark II has 900+ so let see if Mark III can break... moreIt was already running out of stock in China when it was first released. While not so many, it is clear that the number of people interested in purchasing this phone is exceeding Sony's own expectations, and this is by all means without doing any major effort into marketing at all. Additionally, it isn't even supposed to be a mainstream flagship phone, and is more heavily focused towards the professionals instead, so the year-on-year increase in profit for the Xperia brand is still a good sign for their mobile division. It certainly doesn't look like they're closing anytime soon; quite a bit far from that given their recent performances.

miaumiaumiau, 05 Jul 2021500 comments 4 sure. at 1300 euros im curios of the argumen... morewell maybe people who buys used car and used DSLR is not Sony's target market

Anonymous, 06 Jul 2021Xperia 1 was released two years ago and it had 6 GB RAM. I ... moreIt wasn't that high price is being justified by 12GB RAM alone, because it still remains true for Sony to have 8GB RAM only and still do a marvelous job with multitasking and performance.
Sony only included 12GB RAM because it makes more sense to have it on a $1300 phone, and the result? Well, it just destroyed the S21 Ultra completely in a speed test that you can find in YouTube.

What made the Xperia more expensive here is the amount of profit spent on R&D for the variable periscope lens, as well as that 4K HDR 120Hz panel that is not very cheap at all.
In any case, this Xperia is not missing anything major at all for a $1300 phone. If anything, I'd be more disappointed with not having a charger inside the box for a $1400 phone than not having the best selfie camera that I use once a year only.

  • Popop971

- See Sony Xperia 1 III review in front page
- Browse review and goes quick to battery life results
- Leave

786, 05 Jul 2021Definitely it will generate 500+the last Mark II has 900+
so let see if Mark III can break 1000 records

Anonymous, 06 Jul 2021Xperia 1 was released two years ago and it had 6 GB RAM. I ... more6GB RAM in 2019 is commonplace. Even Google's Pixel 4 and Pixel 4 XL also has 6GB RAM.