Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra long-term review

15 July 2021


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Ben, 27 Jul 2021Yeah my S9 was made by Shamsung...If you hate it so much, why use it for the past three years?

  • Ben

Anonymous, 26 Jul 2021You are a Sony fan and do not own a Samsung phone. Liar.Yeah my S9 was made by Shamsung...

  • Papst

not good, not bad it's just another Samsung phone.

  • Anonymous

Ben, 26 Jul 2021i will be switching to Xperia, they keep removing features,... moreYou are a Sony fan and do not own a Samsung phone. Liar.

  • Phoney

Anonymous, 26 Jul 2021I have bought all the s series and now series phones so far... moreYes. The Note 20 Ultra and S21 Ultra (albeit better) have so much shutter lag when capturing moving kids, animals or objects. That‘s why I always use my iPhone when photographing my child. S21 ultra is good on Dex mode and zooming when on tour (photo of statues from top of buildings, designs of roofs etc). Xperia 1ii daily stable phone.

  • Ben

i will be switching to Xperia, they keep removing features, giving only Exynos and on top of that its heating up even when its idle.

  • Anonymous

I have bought all the s series and now series phones so far except note 7 and s21 ultra. Reason shutter lag, have a baby and 2 furry woofies... I really wish Samsung addresses this these issue...

Luk71, 23 Jul 2021I also switched from P30 Pro to S21U. Because of the ban t... moreWell my opinion is different and here is why I love my S21u:

1. 120hz Refresh rate smooth and silky with 240hz touch sampling.
2. 100x zoom with great Selfie quality with many camera features.
3. Great back camera design with all Matt Black.
4. More customization and more features.
5. Great stereo sound, SPEN support and GGV protection.

Azo, 22 Jul 2021You must be a Sony Xperia die hard fan, plz keep yourself a... moreYou must be a true to life troll without testing life facts capabilities of Xperia 5II to see it's the same and even better while zooming, much cheaper! Test 5II and then defend your envy with crap!

Android--Master, 25 Jul 2021You think I have time to spend on xda? I am not talking abo... moreBy unlocking, I mean rooting with using custom kernel (which required unlocked bootloader). I repeat again, I dont care about any rooting or go as far as unlocking bootloader. Not today.

Shui8, 25 Jul 2021Dude, my days of unlocking bootloader are gone (contribute ... moreYou think I have time to spend on xda? I am not talking about installing various custom ROMS. For basic rooting, one requires bootloader unlock today. Back in those days from 2010-15, one didn't require bootloader unlock for rooting.

Rooting is a must, I can't use a phone without root. I want total control over my phone. Huawei with locked bootloader unfortunately means I have to say bye bye to Root.

Android--Master, 25 Jul 2021How can you use Huawei? With no ability to unlock bootloader? Dude, my days of unlocking bootloader are gone (contribute a lot in XDA between 2010 to 2015). I have a family of my own now. Better to spend the time with them rather than all of this gadgets. Plus, all I need is there already compared to the era where almost all phones features are limited.

  • Quant

Android--Master, 25 Jul 2021How can you use Huawei? With no ability to unlock bootloader? That's definitely an issue, but you'll get it after two year period, I have it on my Mate 20 pro.
I have it right out of the box on S21U but I wouldn't use it because Knox is one of the best and the only feature made by Samsung I use on Samsung's phones, otherwise why even consider Samsung.

Shui8, 24 Jul 2021I came from Sony. Once you go Huawei, never turning back. C... moreHow can you use Huawei? With no ability to unlock bootloader?

  • Quant

S21 Ultra owner here, two month in.

Pro's. Display and Design.

Mix feelings - Camera

Con's.
-Camera - low light is a joke, not even on paar with my
Mate 20 pro, and light years behind my Mate 30 pro.
-Microphone on top not functional using mainstream
messengers
-LTE/GSM Reception very bad.
-WiFi 6 drops connection, poor range. Unifi U6-LR + PfSense 2.5.2.
- unusable out of the box without ADB debloat
Samsung's software LOL or Cry out Loud, so baaad.

Conclusion,
- for the messenger callings I'm forced to use Huawei,
- 10m from my AP I'm forced to use Huawei,
- Low light camera I'm forced to use Mate 30 pro

Unfortunately Samsung has no premium phones but premium priced phones, so to match Huawei, Samsung has to built a new line, UltraUltraUltra phone, since they have to change a lot of internals, the Triple Ultra gonna run us around €/$2000


Luk71, 23 Jul 2021I also switched from P30 Pro to S21U. Because of the ban t... moreI came from Sony. Once you go Huawei, never turning back. Currently using P40. Yes, with GMS it will be better but I'm one of the guy that not affected by it. All apps I need are available.

  • Phoney

Yes its true. Xperia 1ii is better over all. I have iphone 12 red, S21 ultra and 1ii. 1ii is stable always. Better value for money if you dont need the zoom.

  • Anonymous

Solun1, 22 Jul 2021I think these should be called like "review updates&qu... morethey should probably do that with iphones, and the s10 series, or even the s9 which everyone praised for its camera. not just one time long term review

Before buying the s21 ultra : wait to see the p50 pro and the magic 3 pro/+. They might be better for you or they might push the price down.

Azo, 21 Jul 2021Why do you miss your P30 Pro? There are more exciting featu... moreI also switched from P30 Pro to S21U.
Because of the ban the latest security updates came very late.
Before P30 Pro, I used only Samsung phones.
When compare side by side P30Pro and S21U Exynos here are my observations.
S21U is thicker and heavier
At same ussage pattern S30Pro battery last more than 2 days (after 2 years) S21U last 1 day and a half.
P30Pro is charging faster
P30Pro never gets warm S21U gets warm when charging also when using some apps.
Fingerprint sensor of S21U is a shame, most of the time I have to unlock with code.
After 2 years never experienced lags on P30Pro NEVER!
On S21U I have 1-2 lags /day
Screen mirroring from phone to all my 4 Samsung TV was more stable ans faster on P30Pro.
Camera seems to be similar on day, I didn't make on S21U too many photos on night.
P30Pro can be used as a standard remote for TV and AC.
What are the great technologies that S21U has?