Asus ROG Phone 5s Pro review

3 Sept 2021


Sort by:

Very bad phone I say
You can see at real life ROG 5 perform better than ROG 5s Pro because ROG 5s Pro produced more heat than ROG 5 and it's make it more throttle compared to ROG 5
ASUS should upgraded their cooling system too and not only focused to increased performance which is useless because it can't maintain it's performance for a long time because the heat will makes it throttle

rizki1, 07 Sep 2021$500? I mean the launch price is around €800 = $950. Also r... morecheck gsmarena price list for rog 5 you can see, since rog 2 era Asus and tencent patner and they offer 8gb/128Gb version for around $500 to $600.

and its gaming phone not rugged phone, you can always put case,you need gaming feature more than ruggedness.

Hemedans, 06 Sep 2021Rog is around $500 to $600 for base model. And those you me... more$500? I mean the launch price is around €800 = $950. Also rog 5 is not bend resistant than black shark 4.

rizki1, 06 Sep 2021gaming phones should be focused only on screen, cpu and bat... moreRog is around $500 to $600 for base model. And those you mention are not enough, you can get them in normal flagship too. In Rog phone you get
-low input lag, so phone respond very fast when you game, especially in pvp.
-quad antenna, whatever you handle phone you will hide just 2 of them, means you get good network without worrying how you handle your phone.
-multiple USB port for different accessories.
-accessory like dock, active cooling, gamepad etc.

Not worth an upgrade.

Even the screen is still only HD+. Need at least 2K and preferably 4K. Battery also needs to be 7000 mAh.

gaming phones should be focused only on screen, cpu and battery. no need good camera, gg above 5 or even victus, nfc, wireless charging etc. if those spec removed maybe the price can be reduced for over $300. i like a gaming phones like a xiaomi just simple gaming phones with price about $500 than this rog over $1000.

Anonymous, 04 Sep 2021Both the ROG 5 and 5S have the same 6,000 mah battery.Your are correct my mistake

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2021The review never said the phone throttles while playing gam... moreYea because he didnt test any games that make it throttle. Thats why i suggested burnout benchmark which tests cpu, gpu, dsp and npu. This cpu throttling test cant put any stress on the gpu.

zodiacfml, 05 Sep 2021 Apple silicon is throttling because it puts out plenty per... morewell maybe that is true, but dont forget cortex X1 factor, sd 780G is fine with samsung Fab and cortex A78.

Hemedans, 04 Sep 2021Even Apple suffer same problems though, A14 is worse than A... more Apple silicon is throttling because it puts out plenty performance on the first few seconds or minutes of a benchmark.. but yeah, thats my point, the SD 870 is better value than the 888 because the 888 is made by Samsung not TSMC

  • Anonymous

Mediatek sux, 05 Sep 2021They put that thing for an hour, and are saying games wont ... moreThe review never said the phone throttles while playing games, only that it got very hot. Throttling only occurred during synthetic testing.

Throttle, horrible build quality and ugly aesthetics.

  • Vikram

Once they make it water resistant. I'll always buy this phone.

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2021So you're not satisfied until the phone burns your hands?They put that thing for an hour, and are saying games wont make it throttle as fast. I just want to them to test actual games which will make the phone hotter faster, to see how faster it will throttle. Look up 'throttling'.

  • Raj GOWDA

Asus rog phone 5 pro relese date plz

so the asus rog phone 5s bring all the features we love from previous model plus more heat, i will pass.

  • Anonymous

I wonder how and if they will ever make a white one like the Ultimate tho...with that blue GLHF thingy

  • Anonymous

YUKI93, 04 Sep 2021"...since for some reason you dont want to test genshi... moregrossed 1b in half a year, pretty sure a lot of people play it

  • Anonymous

Mediatek sux, 04 Sep 2021Because that app doesnt show an accurate result of what act... moreSo you're not satisfied until the phone burns your hands?

  • Shiny Dave

The big story here is that the 888+ is indeed a terrible idea, an overclocked version of an already too-hot chip.

Is this the start of an actual period of diminishing returns in mobile SoC progress? 888 bought a new process and a totally new prime core design and it went practically backwards...