Asus ROG Phone 5s Pro review

3 Sept 2021


Sort by:

zodiacfml, 04 Sep 2021Qualcomm is ridiculous. With this kind of poor value, I�... moreEven Apple suffer same problems though, A14 is worse than A13, it throttle a lot,

If you want efficient soc buy phone with sd 865/870 or 778/780G there are plenty of choices

Anonymous, 04 Sep 2021The phone gets hot with regular gaming. Why would you even ... moreBecause that app doesnt show an accurate result of what actual gaming would look like.

YUKI93, 04 Sep 2021"...since for some reason you dont want to test genshi... moreJust a few millions.

Qualcomm is ridiculous. With this kind of poor value, I'd rather spend the money on an iPhone which I hate since the Apple phone has better SoC for the same or less price

  • Anonymous

Mediatek sux, 04 Sep 2021"Heat will inevitably build up over time with regular ... moreThe phone gets hot with regular gaming. Why would you even want to stress it further?

Mediatek sux, 04 Sep 2021"Heat will inevitably build up over time with regular ... more"...since for some reason you dont want to test genshin impact."

How many people play that game anyway? Even for an anime fan like myself, I don't play that game.

Anonymous, 04 Sep 2021Samsung did fine with its SD888.They just throttle it faster.

"Heat will inevitably build up over time with regular gaming, but it will take a lot longer than in these stress tests."

This cpu throttling test app doesnt stress the gpu at all. About time you used 'burnout computing and throttling benchmark', since for some reason you dont want to test genshin impact.

  • Anonymous

Mikeromeoz, 03 Sep 2021If even the ROG series can't handle the blazing furnac... morethen buy the blackshark magnetic cooler. Its worth it and x-mode+ doesnt matter

edit: you can activate the xmode even it has different cooler

  • Anonymous

IpsDisplay, 03 Sep 2021I ignored everything in the review and jump straight to the... moreBoth the ROG 5 and 5S have the same 6,000 mah battery.

  • Anonymous

This looks like a good phone for gamers.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 04 Sep 2021That is true and would be fine if it didn't overheat/t... moreSamsung did fine with its SD888.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 03 Sep 2021Exactly this. 5 II had fine battery life and little to n... moreTrust me, 888 is very far from 810.

Phones with 888 just lose performance when they get hot.
Phones with 810 needed to have cores disabled permanently.

Mine has two A57 disabled. And third A57 that rarely works.
Leaving just the four A53 and single A57 active.

None of the 888/888+ is gonna reach 65 or 70 celsius just by using Chrome.

  • Anonymous

Hemedans, 03 Sep 2021But one thing I realise only standby is worse, SD 888 has g... moreThat is true and would be fine if it didn't overheat/throttle as much it does.

Lets hope next gen does it better again.

  • Anonymous

YUKI93, 03 Sep 2021Never mind 888+, even Sony couldn't tame the standard ... moreMark 3 has more graphite than mark 2 to deal with the cpu.

Anonymous, 03 Sep 2021Exactly this. 5 II had fine battery life and little to n... moreBut one thing I realise only standby is worse, SD 888 has good video/web browsing score, means it will have good SOT too, if you are power user.

I ignored everything in the review and jump straight to the battery life score to confirm my bias that the 888 battery life sucks and the 888+ is super worse

But call me impressed over 100 hours on 144hz and matches the original ROG that had 1000mah battery more

Kudos to this smartphone

  • Anonymous

YUKI93, 03 Sep 2021Never mind 888+, even Sony couldn't tame the standard ... moreExactly this.

5 II had fine battery life and little to no overheathing and throttling, while the 5 III got same battery results while having a 500mAh bigger battery, and it throttles like crazy.

888 is in some regards worse than the 810.

  • Anonymous

In other words, just get the OG model.

888+ is even hotter than the hot 888, and the performance difference benchmarks aside is not worth it.

Plus chances are high the OG one goes on sale in some areas.

Mikeromeoz, 03 Sep 2021If even the ROG series can't handle the blazing furnac... moreNever mind 888+, even Sony couldn't tame the standard 888 despite their excellent battery optimization software. Just look at the battery endurance rating for the Xperia 5 Mk3, which is ironic considering that it has a bigger battery than its predecessor while using the same screen size and resolution.