Motorola Edge 20 review

11 Sept 2021


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

The small battery is the trade-off for the super light-weight design. There is clearly a market for such trade-off. Not everyone wants a heavy phone with a big battery.

Also, I also feel the new Edge 20 and Edge 20 pro is much better than the last gen Edge/Edge+. Curved screens are terrible to use in practice and there is a seam that digs into the hand when in use. Sure, the lack of stereo speaker is a downgrade, but it depends on usage I guess. There are those who could care less.

  • Anonymous

I still don't get so small battery point, ruins totally usage.

  • vixmen

Anonymous, 12 Sep 2021- It's IP52 rated - It has a better camera than A52s ... morewhy did Moto not include an OIS on the main cam though? c'mon, and they put an OIS in that low wuality sensor from omnivision. I really don't get why phonemakers can't just make OIS standard, especially for upper midrange phones

rizki1, 12 Sep 2021be honest, whats that good OLED panel? sAMOLED is an upgrad... moreBoth displays are 10bit, hdr10+, dcip3 capable displays with very good brightness levels. 'Super' Amoled just means the touch part is integrated. All amoled displays now are 'Super' amoled. Only Samsung can use the name 'Super' Amoled.
Going with the current market segmentation, the panel used in Motorola may even be a Samsung.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 12 Sep 2021Kinda funny the old Edge+ is better and cheaper than this i... moreI've many phones including the edge+ and the edge 20. yes the edge+ specs look better but in practice the edge 20 is much better.
the edge+ is too big, heavy, much bloatware, bad physical design (the edge sticks out and dig in your fingers).

they fixed all that on the edge 20. the only thing they miss is wireless charging imo (and maybe a proper camera software, but you van just side load gcam and magic happens)

  • Anonymous

DAT84, 12 Sep 2021Of course Moto didn't bring the OLED version to the US... morein display sucks fp sux. its slow and at a weird spot. i think behind the back are best for but side is fine. ive a edge 20 and a z flip 3 and the edge 20 fp is better, in fact.

  • Anonymous

In India its got €350/- and I think it's very good price. Well positioned. It would be a great deal if launch same price in Europe too...bt the way Design n light weight make it amazing with good enough processor.

  • DAT84

Of course Moto didn't bring the OLED version to the US. I tried the US version, which has IPS LCD, and I returned it the same day. Coming from using Samsung OLED the past 4 years, the Moto screen was a downgrade. Also, the thumbprint sensor on the side is useless if you have a case installed. I had the official Moto case installed, and the ridge along the screen prevented my thumb from making full contact with the sensor. Also, the fit and finish of the case was disappointing considering it's an OEM case. If Moto would have given us OLED, an in display fingerprint sensor, and stereo speakers, I probably would have kept it. So what did I do? Bought another Samsung. Happy now.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 12 Sep 2021- It's IP52 rated - It has a better camera than A52s ... moreOh and I forgot..
- It's lighter, thinner, and feels better in the hand
- (Arguably) It looks better
- Faster charging (30 vs 20 W)
- "Ready For" capable, whereas Samsung Dex is reserved for their top dogs.

George Escudero, 12 Sep 2021Simple display? Because it's not "super" amo... morebe honest, whats that good OLED panel? sAMOLED is an upgrade from OLED panel.

  • George Escudero

rizki1, 12 Sep 2021Bad battery life, 2 years updates support, GG3, no IP ratin... moreSimple display? Because it's not "super" amoled? Ugh... You have some serious mental problems.

  • Anonymous

rizki1, 12 Sep 2021Bad battery life, 2 years updates support, GG3, no IP ratin... more- It's IP52 rated
- It has a better camera than A52s
- (Arguably) Has better software
- Metal frame vs an all-plastic build of A52s

  • Anonymous

For 1gen users like it's a hard pill to swallow.

I would consider a downgrade, stereo speakers, worse battery life.
No real improvements. The design is classy and ok but not gorgeous,..
I only get better display and ready for, for those who appreciate.

Thanks, I'll wait for next year edge series.
OnePlus Nord 2 on the other hand improved and in my opinion is a much better choice overall.

  • RTJ13

aknsreddy, 12 Sep 2021Crippled battery for what purpose? In india it's only 345 euros

Bad battery life, 2 years updates support, GG3, no IP rating, no stereo speakers, plastic back lol, midrange cpu, simple OLED screen for 500 euro? A52s is better

Crippled battery for what purpose?

  • Aloop

MartyLK2, 11 Sep 2021No more Motorola for me, thanks. They won't update wha... moreI bet LG has a worse track record of updating their software. I bought a V50 in May and the latest security patch is still February 2021.

  • Abhi

Noone talking about 385PPI which is very low

Recent G series phone has far better Night images.. good job.

  • Anonymous

Kinda funny the old Edge+ is better and cheaper than this in my country (€549 for this vs €469 for the Edge+)