Google Pixel 6 review

17 November 2021


Sort by:

  • Haplo

RandyRiffin, 19 hours agoYou'll see in Marques brownlee's review, the Pixe... moreThat's funny, because all comparisons I've seen show that iphone 13 (note 13, it was different before!) has more punchy colors then Pixel 6.
Too much HDR? I guess that's what's called "Pixel look". Wouldn't say it has too much contrast. Too much sharpening, perhaps.
And well, I wouldn't even compare the vanilla S21 with Pixel 6 camera, because its not a worthy competitor. S21 Ultra could be (but I still chose Pixel 6 over it). In my opinion Pixel 6 wins in main camera performance. Of course, S21 Ultra wins in telephoto and UW (but for me 70-80% of the value comes from main camera).

Anonymous, 19 Nov 2021I just want to know how iphone delivers much better results... moreOne word. Efficiency.

Haplo, 19 Nov 2021I can agree with the design being... less polarizing and mo... moreYou'll see in Marques brownlee's review, the Pixel 6's cameras is actually a bit too HDR-y and contrasty, if you have a look at cameras comparisons between Pixel 6 and S21 and iPhone 13, the Pixel 6 has too much contrast, and sometimes colours are unrealistic, the IPhone is the opposite with lifeless colours and low dynamic range. The S21 is the best middle ground, with a decent healthy level of contrast and saturation.

Haplo, 19 Nov 2021I can agree with the design being... less polarizing and mo... moreI'll tell you the way I listen to text. I play the video or song OUT LOUD. There you go, now way you can't understand the text. Now regarding the software, Pixel 6 is fast but S21 is just faster, even a year old hardware is faster. Now will you see that difference clearly? Probably not, unless you are a serious gamer.
My Pixel 3a has Snapdragon 670 and clean android for 2 years now, so I'm guessing everything runs SMOOTHLY and fluidly. Wrong, it is as janky and laggy as can get, from google feed to scrolling twitter. Reality is that you need good software AS WELL as good hardware.

Haplo, 28 Nov 2021Well, I have high respect for Mi 11 Ultra, its large camera... moreThere is AI mode option in camera settings of MI 11 Ultra if you don't like the natural color output

  • Haplo

Anonymous, 28 Nov 2021MI 11 ultra wants to have a word within you Well, I have high respect for Mi 11 Ultra, its large camera sensors, class leading sound, ceramic build, fine screen, fast charging. Actually, I've ordered one in August from my carrier. It wasn't fulfilled due to lack of availability, though.

But I don't love the colour processing on that phone and sometimes processing in general. If some reviews are true, Magic 3 Pro+ might be better as a "point and shoot".

For now neither is available, so that's moot. And I'm quite happy with my new Pixel 6.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Nov 2021The Pixel 6 Pro sample image from techradar wasn't tak... moreSo which phone are you looking to buy now?

  • Anonymous

Haplo, 28 Nov 2021Thank you. Quite interesting. Still, its unreleased in Eur... moreMI 11 ultra wants to have a word within you

  • Anonymous

So I decided to get new google pixel 6 thinking this will be fun something different. Boy was i wrong!! Within a few hours I hated the phone had nothing but issues.
1st the usability of the software is not friendly no back or home button. Going between apps or searching on Google is not nice. Posted videos on whatsapp to friends and was getting green lines in them. Plugged charger in and says 5 data 11 hours till fully charged!! The power button clip falls out lucky didn't lose it! The design with the bulky camera bar on back is just not ergonomical. The speakers on loud phone and for music or playing games is terrible quality!!
I was losing my shot and had to return phone to store saying cancel my plan and change me over to a Samsung. Even my mate and his girlfriend had a google pixel while back and he said had nothing but issues with it. Never again. Google maybe forget trying to compete with the big guys in mobile world or get your shit together cos this does not cut it in today's world

  • Haplo

ABF Media, 26 Nov 2021Go and check tech-Nick review comparing both, the honor is ... moreThank you.
Quite interesting. Still, its unreleased in Europe for now.
But if/when it gets here, it just might be the best cameraphone around...

  • Haplo

Enthusiasts, 27 Nov 2021With the Google pixel 6 having a newly released and unprove... moreiPhone is proven... but for me also boring and limiting.
Pixel 6 is new, exciting, more then fast enough, has cool advanced AI features... and destroys the regular iPhone in still photography.

With the Google pixel 6 having a newly released and unproven chip "tensor" comes the risks of bugs and problems and it's probably wise to wait at least a year for Google to perfect it. In the meantime paying just a little more than a $100 more will get you a apple iPhone 13 which is perfected and has performance benchmarks that beat Google pixel 6 by big margins. So to sum it up, only time will tell if google ever makes a tensor based phone that can match a apple iPhone, but for now google doesn't stand a chance since the pixel 6 is only making it's debut.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 25 Nov 2021It's a big difference. Just look at the left edge wher... moreTrue

Haplo, 26 Nov 2021It is not. Otherwise it might have been a contender for me.... moreGo and check tech-Nick review comparing both, the honor is truly better everywhere compared to the Huawei.

  • Haplo

Anonymous, 26 Nov 2021Is honor magic 3 pro plus available in Europe yet?? It�... moreIt is not. Otherwise it might have been a contender for me.
Still not 100% sure it will be as good as Huawei. Even though they have the same roots, there MAY be some important details that differ (for example in processing).

  • Anonymous

Haplo, 24 Nov 2021Eh, Huawei is REALLY good at this. My previous phone was P2... moreIs honor magic 3 pro plus available in Europe yet??
It's the same as Huawei's latest (even better IMO) along with Google Play services.

  • Anonymous

Haplo, 24 Nov 2021Nope, still cannot see a significant difference.It's a big difference. Just look at the left edge where CmLobsterVegas is written. Or look at the center of the image where you can read "Free Shuttle Loop" or "Karaoke".

  • Haplo

Anonymous, 24 Nov 2021Just got this phone. Pictures are not any better than my 2 ... moreEh, Huawei is REALLY good at this. My previous phone was P20Pro and I rank Pixel 6 better... but not in all aspects. Color reproduction I liked significantly more on the Huawei.
I guess P40Pro has one of the best camera sets nowadays. Maybe close to Mi 11 Ultra (which can't normally be bought in Europe since summer). Too bad no GMS on Huaweis....

  • Haplo

Anonymous, 24 Nov 2021The Pixel 6 Pro sample image from techradar wasn't tak... moreNope, still cannot see a significant difference.

  • Anonymous

Just got this phone. Pictures are not any better than my 2 year old Huawei P30 Pro. Selfies are super "beautified" even vs the Huawei so you can't see facial details. It is a bit faster for sure, but the battery life worse and it charges way slower. Than a 2 year old phone! Super disappointed at the lack of choice we have here in North America.