Oppo Find N review

22 December 2021


Sort by:

Anonymous, 02 Jan 2022"Instead, the OP specifically mentioned "exclusiv... moreTotal B¯\_(ツ)_/¯ S.
>flex is a normal word
Samsung chose this word first for this specific use case, so to leave Samsung out of the statement puts a misleading twist to it making people think it's Oppo's original.

>Samsung does not hold any patent for whatever 'exclusive' features and view modes Fold 3 has
They get to call dibs. Without a patent, others can copy without major consequences but don't get to call it original/exclusive/innovated because it's simply lying.

>I believe that the reviewer means the later.
And it's clear enough that the OP already refuted the claim that the gestures are exclusive to Oppo.

>I don't know what
The OP was specific enough from the start, presumably to ward off trolls like you, that didn't work as well as intended, obviously. You can't troll effectively without omitting key details of the original post twisting the rest.

  • Anonymous

JLC, 01 Jan 2022Well, I,m having 6 to 8 hours of video call per day, so I k... moreI do not get it. Samsung does not hold any patent for whatever 'exclusive' features and view modes Fold 3 has. Xperia had a floating window feature way before Samsung implemented one on its phones. Samsung later borrowed it, but never thanked Sony in the process.

Samsung created the split screen feature too, which LG and Huawei implemented their own versions of on their own smartphones a few years later. Google then borrowed the idea and made it a standard feature on Android Marshmallow. Again, no credit given for Samsung from any of these companies because Samsung did not have an ownership for the split screen feature.

In fact I cannot recall a single instance where big phone conpanies had mentioned other brands' names to give them credit for features they are trying to add their products. In this particular case, too, Oppo has no reason to give a shout out to Samsung, because the features are neither licensed from or patented by Samsung.

JLC, 02 Jan 2022But you did not refute me. That simple it is. For me, the e... moreSo now I'm looking back at your comment, you were solely referring to the half-folded features? My apologies that I missed that. Oppo rather seems to be calling it FlexForm mode, though I do agree that the naming could've been a bit more unique.

  • Anonymous

S Yu, 02 Jan 2022It's not a debate if one side goes off on a rant that ... more"Instead, the OP specifically mentioned "exclusive features and view modes", and "something OPPO calls Flex mode", neither was addressed."
If you say 5 stupid things and 5 normal things, you should expect that only 5 stupid things you said will be addressed. Anyway, it's silly that he complain about the name of the mode. You know that flex is a normal word, right? Do you want to complain about dark mode as well? I don't know what the reviewer means by exclusive gestures, so I have no comment about it.

By the way, "exclusive gestures and view modes" is ambiguous. It could either mean "exclusive gestures and exclusive view modes" or "exclusive gestures and non-exclusive view modes." I believe that the reviewer means the later.

  • Anonymous

S Yu, 02 Jan 2022It's not a debate if one side goes off on a rant that ... moreHe said this: "which have been blatantly copied by OPPO (which is understandable) while claiming during the product presentation to have developed them on their own (which is a lie and shows the attitude which prevents me from buying ever a single device from them)."
That user refuted his post by saying that Oppo gave Samsung credit and that the hinge mechanism was developed Oppo so Oppo didn't lie about it. He was called out and couldn't come up with an argument. It's clear that he lost the debate and didn't even understand that he lost. I don't know why I need to explain all this. It's so obvious.

Anonymous, 01 Jan 2022You don't seem to know how to debate. When you say som... moreIt's not a debate if one side goes off on a rant that doesn't address the original argument. It's also not a refutal if one doesn't even reply to the point.
>Which words?
Like "Find N's hinge mechanism is their own and built differently from the one on Fold 3, so they have no reason to mention Samsung here", because the OP didn't mention the hinge, also "In case you were trying to claim that it's a copy of Fold 3 because it shares the same form factor", again arguing against himself, because the OP didn't try to claim that either, nor was the post particularly suggestive that that was the underlying argument.
Instead, the OP specifically mentioned "exclusive features and view modes", and "something OPPO calls Flex mode", neither was addressed.

Anonymous, 01 Jan 2022You don't seem to know how to debate. When you say som... moreBut you did not refute me. That simple it is. For me, the end of the discussion is reached.

  • Anonymous

JLC, 01 Jan 2022You obviously did not rwad my post and did not watch Oppo&#... moreYou don't seem to know how to debate. When you say something and someone refutes what you say, it's on you to come up with an argument to refute him and he may refute your argument and so forth.

Anonymous, 01 Jan 2022Regarding the camera, do you understand that the image you ... moreWell, I,m having 6 to 8 hours of video call per day, so I know that, half of that with Fold 3. Unlike you I know exactly how my picture looks like when using the UDC of Fold 3. You don't have one and hence you can't judge the quality of the UDC for video calls. Please, just stop talking about subjects you don't know much about.

Anonymous, 01 Jan 2022How is it not related? You accused Oppo of lying, and he re... moreYou obviously did not rwad my post and did not watch Oppo's presentation, otherwise you would have known where they blatantly lied. Please watch the presentation on youtube, read my post and respond then.

  • Anonymous

JLC, 01 Jan 2022Your answer is not even closely related to the items I ment... moreRegarding the camera, do you understand that the image you see comes from cameras of other people? Did you ask them if your image looked good?

  • Anonymous

JLC, 01 Jan 2022Your answer is not even closely related to the items I ment... moreHow is it not related? You accused Oppo of lying, and he rebutted you. It seems that it's your attitude that is a problem.

  • Anonymous

S Yu, 31 Dec 2021You're putting words in the guy's mouth, read it ... moreWhich words?

S Yu, 31 Dec 2021You're putting words in the guy's mouth, read it ... moreThank you for that. This is what I just responded to him, too.

Nick Tegrataker, 31 Dec 2021Oppo mentioned Samsung-made display + UTG screen so they di... moreYour answer is not even closely related to the items I mentioned. Please read my post again and answer accordingly, or just let it be.
The only time you responded related to my post was regarding the video-conference call. I do all my work and private calls with that camera using Teams, Skype and WhatsApp: all have the same quality and it is better than the standard video-confenrence cameras of almost all notebooks.

  • Jaslo

5.5inch screen no fold midrange specs nice

Nick Tegrataker, 31 Dec 2021Oppo mentioned Samsung-made display + UTG screen so they di... moreYou're putting words in the guy's mouth, read it again, at least half your reply doesn't apply.

JLC, 26 Dec 2021As a Fold user You instantly see that the author doesn’t kn... moreOppo mentioned Samsung-made display + UTG screen so they did give Samsung credit for where it's due. On the other hand, Find N's hinge mechanism is their own and built differently from the one on Fold 3, so they have no reason to mention Samsung here. In case you were trying to claim that it's a copy of Fold 3 because it shares the same form factor, don't even bother - in 2022, that would be just as pointless as saying all phones are copied from the OG iPhone.

"It is not a selfie camera, but a perfect video-call camera which becomes completely invisible to your eyes within hours"
Nope, it's actually an awful video call camera that turns your entire video into a foggy mess because 3rd party apps obviously cannot apply dehaze filter to the footage in real-time. It doesn't really "disappear" either, because just like notches or punch holes, those blocky pixels still look distinctly different from the rest of the display.

Trever, 28 Dec 2021Hi I have had this Sony Xperia 1iii phone for a couple o... moreBye.

"ColorOS 12 also brings Omoji - you can create your personal avatar and use it system-wide."
Realy? why do all the menufacturers tink this is something revolutional, emojis, improved emojis, new emojis, every update

"There is also new PC Connect functionality - you can mirror your phone on to your Windows-based PC and transfer files seamlessly."
Yes this is what an update shoul be about. Functionality