Xiaomi 12 Pro review

15 March 2022


Sort by:

That battery life is really dismal. I had to get rid of my mi 11 last year due to it running out of juice far too quickly, and this somehow manages to get worse numbers despite the much improved screen and refresh rate control. Also, no UI color picker from being based on Android 12? Another disappointing release from Xiaomi in 2021 it seems.

    MRSTEK, 15 Mar 2022That's an issue due to stacked motherboard and overhea... moreYeah, it seems to be more common on the regular 11. Liked the mi10pro as well. Snapdragon's chips haven't really made great progress at all.

      Flipp, 15 Mar 2022I have both Mi 10 Ultra and Mi 11 Pro, no issues with 11 Pr... moreThere is no such problem with the mi10 ultra. There are thousands of consumer complaints about this for the mi11 and 11 pro on review sites in China. It is a common problem and Xiaomi offer free replacements if it happens within the warranty period because they are well aware of this issue (normally they wouldn't do this and would repair only). Obviously it isn't going to happen every phone though. It seems to happen on both the 11 pro and 11 but is more common on the standard mi11.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • nUL
        • 15 Mar 2022

        IMO

        Back panel looks like Mid range device.

          Flipp, 15 Mar 2022I have both Mi 10 Ultra and Mi 11 Pro, no issues with 11 Pr... moreIt is really common in Chinese mainland. Numerous users had this problem, especially in summer. Xiaomi even released a special warranty policy to offer a free repair.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • 8Kf
            • 15 Mar 2022

            Flipp, 15 Mar 2022I have both Mi 10 Ultra and Mi 11 Pro, no issues with 11 Pr... more11 Pro and Ultra came few months later. 11 was announced in december just to claim it was first device with 888. Phone was rushed indeed, same with current motorola that uses 8g1.

              photos are taken from a close distance from the subject and looks good but can't compare with other flagships, it's kind of doing some favor to xiaomi, and the battery life is very poor!!!

                • F
                • Flipp
                • p8v
                • 15 Mar 2022

                Aierlan, 15 Mar 2022Probably is a better phone or at least as good but there is... moreI have both Mi 10 Ultra and Mi 11 Pro, no issues with 11 Pro so far. I am very active on a swedish android forum and no one has ever reported on motherboard problems with Mi 11. Hopefully not a common issue.

                  Aierlan, 15 Mar 2022Probably is a better phone or at least as good but there is... moreThat's an issue due to stacked motherboard and overheated SoC, I think. Let's wait till summer to see if 12pros are as crappy as 11s, since 8g1 isn't a giant improvement. I remember that 11pro/ultra are safer than 11.
                  I live in east Asia, too. I am disappointed with mi's products. Their peak(at least in the past three years) was mi10pro/ultra.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • pUy
                    • 15 Mar 2022

                    walkman8, 15 Mar 2022Xiaomi failed with every single line-up this year. Is it du... moretell us about please the 2022 lineup of iPhones. im interested. Oh, you have no idea at all. mkay. A leaker even said the base models will get the same chipset as iPhone 13. Complete upgrade my ass

                      Flipp, 15 Mar 2022Agree. I think 11 Pro is actually the better phone. It also... moreProbably is a better phone or at least as good but there is a relatively high risk of the motherboard burning due to the design flaw in the Xiaomi 11 series. Was going to buy one myself in China but the Xiaomi store staff advised to go for a different model. Both of the store staff had the motherboard burn out on their Xiaomi 11 series phones. It's a well known problem in China and has been acknowledged by Xiaomi

                        It is a failure, what happened to Xiaomi this year ?

                          Xiaomi failed with every single line-up this year. Is it due to the inflation and chip shortage, probably, IDK.
                          But they're not the only ones.
                          Samsung's S22U is made in similar fashion as 12 Pro - an improvement in some, but serious downgrade in other areas compared to predecessor (speaker quality,vibration engine,body durability). It's just that Samsung made it less obvious to the general crowd.

                          Apple is probably the only smartphone player in the world whose 2022 line-up will be a complete upgrade compared to 2021's line-up, with no downgrades whatsoever. With their net worth I'd expect nothing less.

                            • S
                            • Street Puppy
                            • Ci%
                            • 15 Mar 2022

                            What a lame phone. Xiaomi should cancel 12 ultra and bring 13 series in september to correct all mistakes

                            - Heat issues reported by other sites
                            - Very uneven brightness across screen, area of biometry is about 32 nits lower than other portions which impactd video experience
                            - Cant run simple game like COD above 60fps
                            - worst battery endurance of all phones with QHD/4K
                            - Screen never goes down to 1Hz as it should
                            - Camera downgrades
                            - Removal of ip rating ( it is worse than never having it )
                            - Phone that records 8k lacks 512GB version when it already does not have sd slot

                            X5 Pro at $1300 is better phone.

                              • F
                              • Flipp
                              • p8v
                              • 15 Mar 2022

                              MRSTEK, 15 Mar 2022The only upgrade is SoC compared with 11pro. They used tw... moreAgree. I think 11 Pro is actually the better phone. It also has a larger screen with less aggresive curves. Can be imported for only €500.

                                So Xiaomi's note 11 series is a disgrace

                                And also their flagship line up so far

                                74hr battery endurance that's what iPhones were getting for many years

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • NtS
                                  • 15 Mar 2022

                                  Wow that battery life is a big no, also 4 speakers for such a bad quality audio...
                                  A big pass

                                    The only upgrade is SoC compared with 11pro.
                                    They used two small 50MP sensors(1/2.76 JN1) to make it attractive in ads, removed periscope with OIS, used a smaller main camera sensor(you can argue that SONY is better than Sam regarding experience).
                                    Most importantly, they removed IP68. Remember what they did while releasing 11pro? They made a video, a diver with this phone in a deep pool.
                                    Just like OP10P, this phone is far from inspiring.

                                      That battery life is abysmal. My goodness. Fast charging is one thing but the battery has to last for goodness sake.

                                        • F
                                        • Flipp
                                        • p8v
                                        • 15 Mar 2022

                                        What a disappointment. Worse battery life and speakers compared to Mi 10 Pro and Mi 11 Pro. I do not think camera performance is that much better to be honest. Besides the more powerful SOC on 12 Pro I actually think both 10 Pro and 11 Pro have more useful cameras (5x telezoom).