Poco F4 review

27 June 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • tZj
  • 28 Jun 2022

Anonymous, 27 Jun 202286 celsius CPU temperature? This is beyond obscene. Can ... moreTo reach that, you need to use all 8 cores at 100% in a warm room for nearly 1 hour. Doubtful you will reach that even with heavy gaming.

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • tZj
    • 28 Jun 2022

    Deanie, 28 Jun 2022Apologies - clearly the F3 and A52s are vastly better value... moreThat's interesting. I find my LG V35's main camera to be worse than my Poco F3's. The LG has better video stabilization and audio capture.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • tZj
      • 28 Jun 2022

      My nickname, 28 Jun 2022They barely mention how this phone is basically last year&#... moreNot sure where you are in, but the F4 8/256 is launched at exactly the same price as the F3 8/256 in ASEAN countries. The 6/128 crept up in price though, but by €43 not €150.

        Aierlan, 28 Jun 2022Better not rely on the camera review part of this website t... moreI guess most of us look at the photo comparison tool rather than the textual description, and the photos do look horrible.

        You can take a look yourself.
        Pay attention to the following.
        1. The concentric circle in the mirror on the 10 pound note.
        2. The green texture on the donkey
        3. The texture on the star's cloth.

        It is obvious the photo quality is poor.

          • A
          • Andre
          • fXs
          • 28 Jun 2022

          Deanie, 28 Jun 2022Apologies - clearly the F3 and A52s are vastly better value... moreThat's not huge. It's an inferior more than year old phone. So you gonna carry that for next two years and use it many hours a day with much lesser resale value after two years. Let's look at savings. Let's say after two years, you can sell the d4 by more than 30 pounds as opposed to f3. So 100 saving minus 38,youre saving 70 pounds over two years, or less than 3 pounds a month, for carrying an inferior older phone. That's half a beer a month. Unbelievable.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • 0Cj
            • 28 Jun 2022

            Would have considered this phone if they didn't put in a old chip.... the D8100 would have been the better choice.

              • A
              • An0n
              • vgM
              • 28 Jun 2022

              johnnybravo, 28 Jun 2022I still use Poco F1. I still remember when I bought it at l... moreSD 8 gen 1 and SD 888 is totally failure, the raw performance improvement is abysmal, not to mention heat development despite the smaller node. Xiaomi has no choice between releasing SD 870/865+, or wait for SD 8+ gen 1. For Poco f4?Price would fall too high.

                rizki1, 28 Jun 2022they can make it via software updates, most Realme with Dim... moreThey don't usually do that for the Redmi series in China at least. It is a method of distinguishing between their Xiaomi and Redmi line up in China anyway. The Redmi note pro series has even stopped offering eis at 4k30 in their Chinese models for the last 2 variants (the note 10 pro (China model) was the last one to have eis at 4k). Usually, if it's not there on release it won't be added via update. At least that's the way it's been for recent models. Don't know anything about Poco's policies though as they aren't present here in China.

                  Aierlan, 28 Jun 2022Definitely a solid offering. At least it supports 4k60fps ... morethey can make it via software updates, most Realme with Dimensity can record 4K/60fps I hope Xiaomi will give it too.

                    rizki1, 28 Jun 2022Very good... 4K/60fps, fast phone for the price, 1000 nits ... moreDefinitely a solid offering. At least it supports 4k60fps unlike some more expensive Xiaomi phones like the Redmi k50pro. Very strange that the Chinese model K40s with snapdragon 870 also supports 4k60fps but the Redmi k50 and K50pro with the more powerful processors don't. The 4k60fps on this model though doesn't support EIS so its not really usable unless using a gimbal.

                      • P
                      • PakHuySun
                      • nrN
                      • 28 Jun 2022

                      Nicer, 27 Jun 2022Poco f1 was the cheap phone with flagship chip. Niw this... moreSD 870 a midrange chip lol nice joke. This is more like sub flagship chip by today standards, mid range chips are something between SD 720G and SD 780

                        Very good... 4K/60fps, fast phone for the price, 1000 nits display, good photo, fast charging and OK battery endurance..

                        Just waiting people saying this bad, slow or buggy after they comparing with €1000 phone to this.

                          I still use Poco F1. I still remember when I bought it at launch almost 4 years ago. SD 845 was the flagship of 2018 and Poco F1 had it for under 300$(270$). Never have been a launch like that since then. SD 870 is two gen old. Could say F4 GT is a true successor.

                            Pumpino, 27 Jun 2022The camera on the F3 was considered its main weakness. It&#... moreBetter not rely on the camera review part of this website too much. They are very inconsistent and sometimes the final outcome doesn't really match the description. For example, in this review it says, 'So, the default (Auto Night Mode) photos are pretty good' and two paragraphs later when referring to the manual night mode it says, 'it offers the same great photo quality as the Auto Night Mode'. So which one is it. They are pretty good first and then they are great. There is a big difference between pretty good and great. I bought the Xiaomi 12 after this site said the camera performance was 'awesome' and the 'noise is non-existent even indoors'. This is very misleading. The photos I take in indoor situations with the Xiaomi 12 have a lot of noise in any shadowed area. In high contrast hdr scences outdoors the same is also true. Shadows are actually noisier than my Moto g100 (edge s) both indoors and outdoors in hdr photos. Xiaomi's pictures are a also lot darker overall than my previous phone with very high contrast and extremely high saturation, especially whenever there is greenery in the scene. Of course overall I think the Xiaomi 12 has a better main camera than the Moto g100 (it's significantly better in lowlight and video) but the description on Gsmarena is not very accurate. Probably the evualation of photos is quite subjective. Some reviewers at gsmarena seem to prefer oversaturated, more contrasty pics so cameras with this style tend to do better in the evaluations (at least some of the reviewers have stated this is there preference). Another problem for comparability of these reviews is we don't know which reviewer wrote the review. The biases of different reviewers may become clearer if we know who is writing the reviews. This would make them more transparent. Another issue is how gsmarena comes up with the overall score. Is it just chosen based on a subjective opinion based on their overall impression of the phone? There should be an article explaining how the scores are calculated and what weighting is given to each factor when determining the overall scores (maybe there was but if there was it is not linked on the reviews). Sites like DXO are criticised by many in the comments sections here but at least they have articles explaining how the scores are calculated and they offer scores for the different categories. Also dxomark's evaluation of the cameras for the phones I've had personally that were ranked seems far more reflective than gsmarena. I think you have to make your own judgement based on the samples provided and the photo comparison tool. Reviews here seem to be more and more subjective. Why not have a scoring system based on different categories with a score for the different categories contributing to an overall score? That would make comparability a lot easier for consumers and would make it easier for consumers to select phones based on their preferences.

                              Deanie, 28 Jun 2022My G6 is 5 years old and the camera, I agree, is better. Pe... moreI think the OmniVision sensor is to blame as the ISP in Snapdragon is actually very good. I wish this one had the Sony IMX766. 🤩 I wish manufacturers get rid of the wide angle sensor and keep just one high quality sensor.

                                Zuzuz, 28 Jun 2022While beautiful to see, curved screens come with some probl... morehe talks about curved back, not curved screens. F3 have a flat screen

                                  [deleted post]That's what I was wondering...

                                    Eric20, 27 Jun 2022Despite the presence of OIS, the photos from the main camer... moreMy G6 is 5 years old and the camera, I agree, is better. People who think F4 is in any way good are delusional. F3 was fine, I own one, but it never leaves the house due to sheer size...

                                      Pumpino, 27 Jun 2022The camera on the F3 was considered its main weakness. It&#... more11 Lite camera = really bad. My Pixel 3a wipes the floor with it

                                        Apologies - clearly the F3 and A52s are vastly better value for money, especially as the F3 is down to £200 in the UK, an almost joke price - at least £100 cheaper for minimal upgrades. That's huge