Poco F4 review

27 June 2022


Sort by:

  • T
  • THH
  • g8B
  • 28 Jun 2022

LoneOwl, 28 Jun 2022Pros of Poco F4 are Android 12 and NFC??? Really? Androi... morePoco F3 has NFC though

    Pros of Poco F4 are Android 12 and NFC???

    Really? Android 12 and Nfc?

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • d%8
      • 28 Jun 2022

      Can't wait to see the upcoming vivo T2. I bet it's going to be even better.

        Aierlan, 28 Jun 2022This sensor can do well. I suggest you choose the motorola... moreI see that. In that case, someone has to try Gcam or Open Camera and post the results.

          • P
          • Poco no more
          • 6kV
          • 28 Jun 2022

          I had f1, it was amazing phone. Moved to F3, this was the worst phone I ever used, I throw it away about 2 months after start using it. It's proximity sensor is not working, and you cannot manage to have a single call without hanging the call in the middle or moving to mute...
          Based on your feedback it looks like you never used F3, so how can we trust your review?!

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • DkT
            • 28 Jun 2022

            panonski, 28 Jun 2022Realme GT Neo 2 is better choice for the priceThe cost of it is too high.

              I have the F3 currently and had the F1 previously (currently residing in a drawer as my backup).

              The F1 launched with 4K@30 FPS - but then an update came out that bumped it up to 4K@60FPS.

              No idea why they didn't do the same with the F3 which has a stronger chipset including newer ISP. I guess they are trying to force it artificially into a specific midrange segment with a crowbar. It just feels a bit weird.

              Either way, installing Gcam or Open Camera on the F3 allows you to force 4K@60FPS, but it really should have come with it out of the box IMHO.

              That said, I honestly believe that I got better photo results from my F1 with its 12 MP camera than I do from my F3, but maybe that is just my personal taste.

              My F3 really struggles with leafy trees and animal fur for example (like on my dog). It just seems to smear/blur them into a sort of watercolour texture-less mess.

              My F1 had no such issues.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • Kg@
                • 28 Jun 2022

                Grey Wolf, 28 Jun 2022The resell value of Chinese phones is sh*t anyway. You loos... moreCan agree bought a 200 usd phone which after around 10 months to a year who's resale value went below 100 usd. Normally I don't care about how resalable a phone is since I tend to use a phone until my work needs a beefier phone or until the phone just breaks. But having a phone depreciate that much is absurd and heartbreaking. Plus with how new android phones are introduced like every month for absolutely no reason is an absolute waste.

                  Grey Wolf, 28 Jun 2022The resell value of Chinese phones is sh*t anyway. You loos... moreExactly my point. That's why I bought F3 rather than waiting for F4. Wait a week for unlocking the bootloader, install custom rom, and it's good for the next 3-4 years.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • 0%R
                    • 28 Jun 2022

                    panonski, 28 Jun 2022Realme GT Neo 2 is better choice for the priceIt's pretty much the same phone in every aspect.. If you get it cheaper maybe it's interesting, but as soon as the Poco F4 price drops I'd say it's more appealing just for being a Poco phone

                      Realme GT Neo 2 is better choice for the price

                        • G
                        • Grey Wolf
                        • p6g
                        • 28 Jun 2022

                        Andre , 28 Jun 2022That's not huge. It's an inferior more than year ... moreThe resell value of Chinese phones is sh*t anyway. You loose money for both models.
                        And normally the biggest percentage of money lost is in the first year. So, most likely the F4 will loose 50% of its value in 1 year. Being that the F3 is already 1 year old, it will not loose 50% of its value in the second year, but probably only 25%. So, technically if you buy the F3 now, you will loose only 25% of what F3 cost now.
                        I don't know if it makes sense what I said. But, bottom line, never buy newest Chinese phones. Unless you are planning to keep them for more than 2 years. But, usually people change Chinese phones more frequently (once per 1-2 years).

                          Andre , 28 Jun 2022That's not huge. It's an inferior more than year ... moreThere are some problem with your arguments:
                          1. F3 is not that much "inferior"... It is basically on par with F4, with a very few exceptions.
                          2. Yes it is only a "3 pounds a month" saving over two years. The problem is not everyone buy phone on contract or use installment spanned for 2 years. If you buy it with one time payment, you will have to pay all that in advance. As an example I bought a new F3 for €230 a few weeks ago, which is €120 cheaper than F4. €120 for 1 time payment is quite significant and it can make a difference between "within budget" or "out of budget" for some, especially if you think that the specs are very similar.
                          3. Not everyone sell their phone after 2 years. Some (including me) use it for maybe 4-5 years and just send it for recycling or maybe just keep it as backup phone. After 4-5 years, the price difference between used F3 and F4 would be even smaller (maybe 10-20€)

                            Eric20, 28 Jun 2022I think the OmniVision sensor is to blame as the ISP in Sna... moreThis sensor can do well. I suggest you choose the motorola g100 in the photo compare tool which also uses the same Omnivision OV64B and the snapdragon 870 too and compare the textures you mentioned above on the donkey and star you mentioned in your reply to me or anywhere else and you will see a massive difference. If you compare good light and lowlight the difference is very significant.

                              • Z
                              • Zuzuz
                              • mA{
                              • 28 Jun 2022

                              Anonymous, 28 Jun 2022Would have considered this phone if they didn't put in... moreFor what porpoise exactly? Just to bragg about the "newest" but with the same outcome?
                              "The newest" is for those that don't have nothing else in their lives but to "feel good" with an image.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • tZj
                                • 28 Jun 2022

                                Anonymous, 27 Jun 202286 celsius CPU temperature? This is beyond obscene. Can ... moreTo reach that, you need to use all 8 cores at 100% in a warm room for nearly 1 hour. Doubtful you will reach that even with heavy gaming.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • tZj
                                  • 28 Jun 2022

                                  Deanie, 28 Jun 2022Apologies - clearly the F3 and A52s are vastly better value... moreThat's interesting. I find my LG V35's main camera to be worse than my Poco F3's. The LG has better video stabilization and audio capture.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • tZj
                                    • 28 Jun 2022

                                    My nickname, 28 Jun 2022They barely mention how this phone is basically last year&#... moreNot sure where you are in, but the F4 8/256 is launched at exactly the same price as the F3 8/256 in ASEAN countries. The 6/128 crept up in price though, but by €43 not €150.

                                      Aierlan, 28 Jun 2022Better not rely on the camera review part of this website t... moreI guess most of us look at the photo comparison tool rather than the textual description, and the photos do look horrible.

                                      You can take a look yourself.
                                      Pay attention to the following.
                                      1. The concentric circle in the mirror on the 10 pound note.
                                      2. The green texture on the donkey
                                      3. The texture on the star's cloth.

                                      It is obvious the photo quality is poor.

                                        • A
                                        • Andre
                                        • fXs
                                        • 28 Jun 2022

                                        Deanie, 28 Jun 2022Apologies - clearly the F3 and A52s are vastly better value... moreThat's not huge. It's an inferior more than year old phone. So you gonna carry that for next two years and use it many hours a day with much lesser resale value after two years. Let's look at savings. Let's say after two years, you can sell the d4 by more than 30 pounds as opposed to f3. So 100 saving minus 38,youre saving 70 pounds over two years, or less than 3 pounds a month, for carrying an inferior older phone. That's half a beer a month. Unbelievable.