Poco X4 GT review

7 July 2022


Sort by:

Anonymous, 08 Jul 2022So this phone is not recommended because it has LCD IPS and... more"...I don't consider a phone media device as in watching movies/TV shows. I prefer watching content on bigger screen so I don't care about deep blacks on a phone..."

500 Million people in India think otherwise !

    Anonymous, 08 Jul 2022So this phone is not recommended because it has LCD IPS and... moreMy old phone is a Xiaomi Mi 5s (IPS LCD screen). I've never had a phone with AMOLED display and that made me think POCO X4 GT was a great option for its price. After buying it on pre-sale and seeing a lot reviews like this one I've started getting concerned about my choice. People saying AMOLED display is MUCH BETTER than IPS LCD, people complaining about not having enough brightness outdoors, etc. But now seeing your comment made me realize that it's all about preference. And the things you've mentioned about durability and not using a smartphone to watch that many content makes perfect sense to me. People don't actually need this "deeper black" thing.

    So the "only weakness" I can see in this phone is the lack of image stabilization when shooting a video at 4K30fps. Again this is not a big deal for me but would be nice to have this feature.

    With that in mind, now more than never I'm sure that buying this phone was a GREAT choice. Thank you for your comment, it was a great addition to this post.

      So you say the X4 GT has better camera performance than F4 ! That is curtains for F4 !

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • a0V
        • 08 Jul 2022

        Anonymous, 08 Jul 2022Not in Europe. We still have active 2G netoworks, let alone... moreIt does depend where you live.

        In my country which is also un Europe, 1 of the 3 carriers already killed 2G and 3G and went full VoLTE and 5G.

        Other 2 killed 3G and will kill 2G in the next 2 to 3 years, and they also fully support VoLTE since few years.

        I have to admit, there is in my opinion no reason to kill 2G, VoLTE may have more clear sound but that's about it.

        That doesn't mean we don't need it, but even now I see to many cons with the whole VoLTE switch, not to mention if you travel around the world like a friend of mine, VoLTE is a small curse where 2G just worked as long your phone did support the bands (he has a special phone meant to use in the US when he travels for work there, because his private one is not on the VoLTE list because it's a EU model, so no calls at all unless you're outside the city where 2G is still a thing in some places there)

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • nyH
          • 08 Jul 2022

          Anonymous, 07 Jul 2022Dear GSMArena, I really hope you update the 3G talk time... moreNot in Europe. We still have active 2G netoworks, let alone 3G. My country still hasn't announced 2G/3G shutdown and one of the operators still doesn't offer VoLTE.

            • Z
            • Zero
            • L8V
            • 08 Jul 2022

            Ted, 08 Jul 2022It's available on Amazon Italy and Spain sitesSorry if I am insistent, but those are the Global versions? I mean trully global ones and not the Chinese with GPlay since I want to use bank apps that does not work on iPhones (sadly Peru has a LOT of it) and I need a true Global version of it. If there is a global version, it might be the Poco X4 GT killer and of course it might put it lowering the prices of it.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • Kx7
              • 08 Jul 2022

              waiting some oled crazy worshiper on this lcd phone

                • D
                • Duderino
                • 0rZ
                • 08 Jul 2022

                I know one thing. I love my X4 GT display. Very similar to Mi 10T Pro display, BUT without PWM dimming. Perfect.

                  LSD Lab Monkey, 08 Jul 2022Just because YOU prefer OLEDs, doesn't mean the latter... moreI couldnt have said it better
                  Sadly its getting harder and harder to find decent LCD panels these days :/

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • LiP
                    • 08 Jul 2022

                    So this phone is not recommended because it has LCD IPS and not (AM)OLED display? That's ridiculous. I mean, GSMArena, when doing reviews, you need to have in mind that not everyone likes (AM)OLED. And for those people, this is literally perfect device. And they definitely, don't see that as a con.

                    This is refreshment we needed because almost all newly launched phones have (AM)OLED displays these days. I don't like AMOLED because it has short lifespan and when I buy phone, I keep it for at least 4 years before replacing it with new one. I'm not sure any (AM)OLED display can last that long without showing signs of burn-in and reduced brightness.

                    As much as IPS LCD is older technology, it's safe to say that it's still the king in some areas; starting with production costs which is way lower than (AM)OLED. It shows natural colors, doesn't suffer from PWM flickering (yes, some people get headaces), doesn't suffer from burn-in and lasts longer. Literally, the only pro of (AM)OLED displays is deep blacks which not what many people care about.

                    I don't consider a phone media device as in watching movies/TV shows. I prefer watching content on bigger screen so I don't care about deep blacks on a phone. I just want my phone to last as long as it can. IPS LCD produces enough deep blacks for me.

                    I think I'm gonna wait for an improved version of (AM)OLED that isn't THAT vulnerable to burn-in, as this is still the major issue.

                      • D
                      • Dana
                      • LaI
                      • 08 Jul 2022

                      LSD Lab Monkey, 08 Jul 2022Just because YOU prefer OLEDs, doesn't mean the latter... moreWell, OLED looks better, and PWM is not an issue for everyone precisely (less than that if u have brightness at 20% or more, so at night)

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • LiP
                        • 08 Jul 2022

                        LSD Lab Monkey, 08 Jul 2022Just because YOU prefer OLEDs, doesn't mean the latter... moreAnd burn-in issue, let's not forget that.

                          Crazy Weirdo, 07 Jul 2022I swear you're obsessed with LCD displays. Like gurl, ... moreJust because YOU prefer OLEDs, doesn't mean the latter is superior. They will be superior only when they sort out the PWN issue.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • KiN
                            • 08 Jul 2022

                            An0n, 07 Jul 2022Isn't Realme GT Neo 3 priced similarly? Same soc dimen... morein my country. realme neo3 GT cost higher, around $100 more than X4 GT. that make X4GT is a cheap version for geting 8100 performance though.

                              Is it me or the frequency response for this phone isn't appearing? Anyways, Xiaomi is cutting corners with this one but it does deliver the best performance per dollar. Realme GT Neo 3 is slightly better overall.

                                • T
                                • Ted
                                • m2A
                                • 08 Jul 2022

                                Zero, 07 Jul 2022Where to find it? Seems that both are true monsters and the... moreIt's available on Amazon Italy and Spain sites

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • pLi
                                  • 08 Jul 2022

                                  "Not that there's something inherently wrong with the LCD panel; it's just not on par with the majority of competing OLED-equipped solutions."

                                  This is double standards and contraction. At first you say there's nothing wrong with an LCD inherently, which is of course true. But right after that you say it's simply worse than OLED which is offered in other phones, without actually doing any comparison, which implies you think LCDs are inherently worse than OLEDs.

                                  Is this why you always list not having an OLED as a con?

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • pLi
                                    • 08 Jul 2022

                                    Poco x3 gt's good lcd is much better than cheap amoled of f4 pro. People don't understand this.

                                    Also, lcd is much more reliable overall. If you're into rooting, flashing etc where you'd be stuck in some boot logo or text for a while, amoled can get burned in. With lcd no such worry.

                                    I wish manufacturers tried to make lcd better instead of pushing amoled too much.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • pLi
                                      • 08 Jul 2022

                                      Why does gsmarena not list headphone jack as a pro? Its a clear anti-headphone jack agenda to not to praise its inclusion

                                        GSMA, can you please post the camera sensors in reviews? Specs aren't everything; knowing whether it's a Sony, Samsung or OmniVision sensor, and the variant, is useful.