Nothing Phone (1) review

22 July 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • 8N3
  • 22 Jul 2022

[deleted post]- No jack , no sd slot are con for other like reno 8 pro.. Not this one.
- pixel 5 bashed for SD765 (that can record 4K@60 and handle 4K screen, while 778/778+ cant), review bashes flagship SoCs as waste of power.
- gorilla 5 should be con here
- review of M53 calls D900 as underpowered chipset despite having near 90% of 778 performance.
- xiaomi 12 Lite con : "more powerful alternatives in this price rance", it was announced below $500 too.

    • L
    • LGs
    • Mrn
    • 22 Jul 2022

    Nothing
    phone (1)
    4500 mAh
    108h
    35:32h
    15:41h
    20:27h

    A52s
    113h
    35:20h
    12:38h
    19:29h all is low on A52s but 113h endurance, Nothing is better but only 108h? Why.

      Aside from the LED gimmicks on the backside, there's really nothing else to see here.

      Decent phone by all means, but nothing special.

        The software is cool. Not digging the body which I feel looks like iPhone, I would have appreciated if it looked like Samsung S21 Ultra or OnePlus 8 body with some curvatures on the screen & sides for comfortable holding. Maybe Nothing phone 2 will fulfill my wishes.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • XTc
          • 22 Jul 2022

          Have been using this phone for a week now, grt performance so far, camera quality is excellent, ordered at launch and got it the next day on flipkart,got the 8gb 256 gb version at around 32k inr, so it's cheaper here in india. And gets attention with people asking which phone is it. They shld have given adapter along though, And i am not able to order the official cover for the phone as it's always out of stock

            AnonD-1033007, 22 Jul 2022So this is my final opinion (i don't care if no one as... moreOne clarification about the camera - the phone received its final firmware late Wednesday and it improved on the photo quality significantly. This could be the reason for the YouTube camera reviews - they are based on the pre-production camera software. We repeated all of our tests and the samples you see in this review were shot with the retail 1.1.0 firmware.

              • D
              • AnonD-1033007
              • g8K
              • 22 Jul 2022

              AnonD-1033007, 22 Jul 2022I'm sorry but this is not a flagship, no one that know... moreOh nvm, i read it wrong. Sorry 🤣

                • s
                • stoon
                • fw8
                • 22 Jul 2022

                in your audio test, you said the speakers are very good and in your final verdict, the audio quality became horrible ...

                something is not ok in your mind !

                  • k
                  • kitty
                  • Mtf
                  • 22 Jul 2022

                  i can get 2 A52S for that money. it is around 230 euro teritory. and its from a known brand with good service and will get a lot of updates. same screen, same battery, almost same processor. and cameras are good also. and I dont even go into leds on the back, these reminds me of the era when sneakers used to light up and it was cool.

                    • D
                    • AnonD-1033007
                    • g8K
                    • 22 Jul 2022

                    So this is my final opinion (i don't care if no one asked, it's a comment section. Deal with it.)
                    1) After reading this entire review i have to admit i was a bit wrong about Nothing (1), i do like few things about it such as good vibration quality and loud speakers.

                    2) I absolutely don't like the price, yes it has few things that many don't have but it should have been at least 400€.

                    3) The transparent back is really cool but i hate those LED lights, i just see waste of money on that. The cases will be a problem here because they'll either be cuted out a lot or just transparent.

                    4) Software looks pretty good to me, i like clean version of android and would switch to Nothing if it didn't have such things i dislike.

                    5) Design is beautiful, equal size bezels are so nice to see. Also i like the boxy design but i don't like that it's quite similar to an iPhone 12.

                    6) I see that cameras are a bit praised but a lot youtube reviewers said it's nothing special, they're average by what i saw.

                    7) Display is very good, i like that it has 120hz because the rumors were saying it was going to be a 90hz display which would be a huge mess. Colors are great.

                    8) Overall thoughts: Okay, a bit expensive, has serious issues that has to be fixed as soon as possible, has a nice design but LED lights are a huge no for me, lovely clean software, a nice 120hz display and a potential good battery life. That's it.

                      • L
                      • Little Penguin
                      • Lpb
                      • 22 Jul 2022

                      Outstanding portraits?

                      Before using the 🔎 tool I can see the location of where blurred area cuts the body. Noticeable white outline around George, mainly arms and hair.

                      Same issue all other have. Same lame fake blur ..
                      No phone will ever do well as long it is software based.

                        • N
                        • Nobody
                        • L1m
                        • 22 Jul 2022

                        Nothing to comment on nothing phone.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • 8N3
                          • 22 Jul 2022

                          Just want to remind GSMArena that ToF is also used to assist AF system. Just like the Laser.
                          It is not for fake background blur only.

                            • D
                            • AnonD-1033007
                            • g8K
                            • 22 Jul 2022

                            I'm sorry but this is not a flagship, no one that knows a bit about phones will consider this as a flagship.

                              • L
                              • Little Penguin
                              • Lpb
                              • 22 Jul 2022

                              I knew main tech sites would give high score when it does not deserve. No midrange is worth more than 3.8 ..

                              They way media was drooling over it was an evidence. Same done to pixel 6 pro.

                              Reviews praise, while costumers bash and report 1000 issues ..

                              LOL